wazua Sat, Dec 6, 2025

Caning in schools
akowally
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 6:48:00 AM

I want to take us back to our school days....manze tulichapwa.... crazy when you remember some of the things you did to earn those strokes....I hear it still happens...schools in Nyanza even cane girls on their backsides.....I think it is absolutely wrong...you?

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Djinn
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 10:46:00 AM

@akowally - I too remember getting some lashes in the good old days when we were bad - it was justified and I think meted out fairly - the ratio of teachers to pupils was abt 1.25 or worst 1:30 - so stress levels were low and it was easy to give attention to kids without the need for caning to put people in line. Today,the metrics are totally different and the pace of live brutally fast and intense - I;d not advocate for it today - it gets to a point that the teachers are venting more than they are trying to instill discipline....

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
akowally
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 11:19:00 AM

Yeah,the caning nowadays is barbaric....like the caning on the backsides for girls,seriously....I guess they should.....

I think it should remain banned and banned kabisa

Djinn
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 11:35:00 AM

@akowally - the Childrens' Act forbids it - so it need not be banned as such - just the law upheld more and more clarity shed on it between parents and teachers...I think the gap lies in ignorance - a parent,will be told 'your kid broke a window' or 'your kid did not do his homework' - as reasons for caning....an ignorant parent will be like 'oh,ok - keep up the good work'. It will just be a matter of time before the caning becomes assault and then interpretation will be in the Penal Code...

I think the greatest failure is with parents who leave schooling and discipline between house helps and teachers - the 'parenting' they do is simply to buy food,books and pay fees - after all this 'costly effort' - they rest on their laurels and look forward to the day when they can brag about how they worked so hard to put their kids through school....

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
akowally
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 12:26:00 PM

@ Djinn

That is an awesome point.....parenting....parenting...parenting....I think I will write a book about it one of these days. Discipline should be for the parents...they should learn that kids learn more from what they see than what they are told to do..or even beaten up and forced to do ...... Christian (spiritual) values should start from home .... and ati some girls say that they just want to get a kid and dump their boyfriends.....they should look at what it does to the society

Ericks
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 1:57:00 PM

I'd not have forgiven myself if i missed this post,

well..... The modern world has its ups and downs there is no doubt about that,but it doesnt warrant for indispline at all.... caning is as modern as it was normal in the good old days,the only difference and thus the introduction of words like barbaric and assault as replacements is that parents have failed terribly.....

Back then,caning was a way of life be it the parents,the neighbours,big brothers and sisters,by the time it gets to the teacher he/she has only 10% of disciplining left to do. (by the way no one was seriously hurt a part from what we used to call hunyo wa ngunyo.... translated as kuparara as a result of caning) fast forward that to the current set up. parents treat their kids like dove eggs (toto woiye dont do that its bad) before u realize it,u r in the banking hall n ur kid shouts daddy ameshuta!!!!!!!!!! when u take that kid to school n the teacher canes him/her,he/she will come home running claiming she/he has been assaulted n is thus traumatized as if they even know the meaning of trauma.

Parents have failed .... you simply cant delegate the whole disciplining concept to teachers and expect them to discipline kids who are already spoilt rotten by the time they get to school...

Its just me
whatever choice you make in life make sure that you can live with it.
Jay R
#7 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 3:10:00 PM

The day that law/directive whatever it is will be adhered to wholesome is the day we'll have lost the plot. A kid has to fear something/someone for discipline to take root. Every other virtue/vice stems from discipline/indiscipline. I've seen and heard it all,spare the rod spoil the child. There is nothing more barbaric as watching your kid turn into a buffoon while you keep on yelling ' haki woooye,baba sasa ume-do? sinilikwambia?' The kid thinks he/she knows everything.

When i see my purple,you see it not.
when i see my purple, you see it not!
akowally
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 7:08:00 AM

@ Jay R

I understand your point of a kid fearing someone/something.....it does not have to be caning...We were all caned at some point in our lives and it made us turn out to be who we are....believe you me,those teachers of our day had a lot of discipline and respect while at it....I personally know someone very close who comes home with bruises and scars out of caning .....the thing is out of hand

I went to a high school where the rule was adhered to...it was a national school and has some of the most successful people in our country...very disciplined...not on the 'woiye baba....' but through clear and consistent punishments and lectures which even made some guys wish they were 'just' caned and that's all...also the school has a serious guidance and counselling programme which enables kids to learn to be self disciplined.....so trust me there are more effective ways....

#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 8:03:00 AM

The problem squarely lies on the parents. there is nothing as ugly as an indisciplined kid - and i say this knowing very well that i am a parent. children who do not respect their own parents because parents have allowed it to be so..... and hence,extends to disrespect even to the other members of society.

Discipline has never killed any child. discipline includes dialogue,warnings,punishments,rewards,etc caning may need to be included only when and if need. I have come to realise that if you actually take your time with your kids,teach them what is right and wrong (or at least what you believe is right or wrong......we all have different views),caning does not have to be there unless its something that is really bad. Sometimes we parents make it difficult for even the teachers or neighbours to help us discipline our kids.... with a slight 'disciplining' of an already rotten spoilt brat,the parents go to school breathing fire not even wanting to know what the kid had done in the first place. I know a case that happened in a school where a bully spoilt kid threw another kid in the pool and the kid did not even know how to swim..... the kid was given a few lashes(sp).... which serioulsy was something that wasnt really that bad and the parents almost carried cops when storming the school...... If that kid was yours,and was putting another child's life in danger,you would still be calling him 'woooiye daddie crap'???

If you truly love your child,discipline and if really,really need be,caning,shouldnt be very far off your reach.

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

akowally
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 10:52:00 AM

@ Wendz

Yeah...discipline should always be the key word...word of advice...the rod should be the last resort.....always use the rod wisely as a parent.....never use it when angry.....when you master other ways of discipline you will find yourself further and further from the physical rod but will have ample mental rods which will teach your kid more

Jay R
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 1:38:00 PM

@ akowally...... Your suggestion is doing away with caning all together. Mine is caning is,keep it within reach.It's a necessary evil. Not desirable,but necessary.

When i see my purple,you see it not.
when i see my purple, you see it not!
jaribu
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 1:48:00 PM

we were caned like hell in primo. it just exceeded the norm by far. that was the famous naivasha boys (if u must know) during the mr. mwiti,gicheru,mutembei and kamunya era. this kamunya guy went on to start his own expensive private school called gilgil hills academy and is now facing a criminal charges for trying to bribe some standard reporters as he tried to 'buy' the story of that student who died in his school. most teachers there were bizarrely sick in the head. they would beat you senselessly for slight provocation. they got jealous if you got dropped in a posh car. and would give you an extra stroke of cane if your ass was fatter.

wHo.. DaRes.. wIns!
jaribu
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 1:50:00 PM

caning in schools will ALWAYS be abused by teachers. if done right as in some countries,yes-it's good. the problem is it will never be done right in a banana republic like kenya...never! so just abolish the damn culture completely until teachers are more civilized.

wHo.. DaRes.. wIns!
Kamaa
#14 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2009 8:02:00 AM

'He who spareth the rod hateth his son: but he that loveth him correcteth him betimes' (Proverbs 13:24)

'Withhold not correction from a child: for if thou strike him with the rod,he shall not die. Thou shalt beat him with the rod,and deliver his soul from hell.' (Proverbs 23:13-14)

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend