wazua Fri, May 9, 2025

13 Pages<12345>»
syokimau
TPK
#41 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 8:04:31 AM

This is very very sad... Sad and pole to our fellow hard working Kenyans who have lost their hard earned money..

I also think it is a complete failure by Kenya Airports Authority who should have clearly demarcated their land and put signposts to warn potential buyers. It is very irresponsible for them to be reactive to problems that could have been prevented. Any other Kenyan could have been in the same shoes as our brothers who am sure conducted a due diligence and had all approval papers (no one in their senses can put up such magnificent houses without proper checks. If KAA had put a caveat or anything on the said land to warn the buyers, this would not have happened.

At this rate, I do not want to imagine what is going to happen to estates around Wilson airport...
As long as you're going to be thinking anyway, think big
Cde Monomotapa
#42 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 8:05:38 AM

The world is cruel to the abhorence of process.
Lucid_Iam
#43 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 8:36:35 AM

This is unfortunately the cost of corruption. As long as we as Kenyans continue to give and take bribes, there will be very painful experiences now and in the future. Someone, somewhere probably in the ministry of lands, Mavoko county council pocketed a few thousands, probably millions but others are paying for it now through losing houses and land invested with hard earned cash and loans.

This is no different from the road accidents experienced daily by having traffic officers overlook some defect in motor vehicles on our roads. The challenge to everyone here is are you giving or taking bribes, and what is the cost of it?
#44 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 8:37:51 AM

Elder wrote:
vinii wrote:
....most of the affected Are young couples who appear to have saved or borrowed money to own a home for the very first time..I will not be surprised if someone commits suicide....I however pray that it does not happen.....

Makes you wonder if and how long it would take them (if) to put there lives back together. Well, only in Kenya.

@user, is your land affected?
no mine wasn't affected.but I have heart broken friends there.this failed
govt has really pakt them.
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
mkonomtupu
#45 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 8:51:06 AM

First, let's get it right that land was always KAA land, if you have a 1000 hectares of land and some smart land official allocates someone 10 hectares within your land and the new guy proceeds to build no need to negotiate demolish let them seek compensation from the government. It was quite clear this was KAA land if you ever bothered to trace back the mother title for those plots

Two, if you are on a flight path then you are putting everyone at risk, the amount JKIA generates is far much more than your 30m mansion, it's much easier to negotiate with you once you are out of the flight path.

Three, people you don't need to make property 95% of your portfolio. In fact property should not exceed 35% of your portfolio. That way you don't need to cry like you have lost everything in the world.

Four, please use lawyers in your property transactions and please don't be a cheap stake and start negotiating fees, pay full fees and ask the lawyer to do a complete due diligence.
#46 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 8:52:13 AM

SAD!!!
#47 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 8:58:04 AM

Some Roads Ministry official advised land buyers to check with his ministry before making any deal. A search at lands isnt sufficient according to him. But this one didnt involve any road. Meaning we have to check with KAA, KPA, KEFS and whichever other probable gvt agency? Why cant we have all info on a land parcel with lands? This reminds me of the demolitions at Central police stn. One gvt ministry didnt know what the other was planning with the land!
tuvok
#48 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 9:04:08 AM

I think from this painful experience, it would be nice if wazuans could start collecting maps of all potentially contentious land. Not sure if it is practical but at this rate, we cannot rely on GoK and associated bodies.
jamplu
#49 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 9:07:25 AM

There was a time around 2004 KAA had a caveat on the land and its unfortunate the sellers waited for things to cool off then resold the land.

What have seen with the land process in kenya don't even trust the lawyers majority of them won't even bother to get the history of the land.

There is some land around Mlolong/Sabaki that belongs to the government Numerical Systems or something* where exactly is their land??
GGK
#50 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 9:13:24 AM

Probably the best way to circumvent this is to exchange information as far as it is possible.

Lawyers are of little help as they just do a normal search which looks to be insufficient because lands office in part of the syndicate to fleece of Kenyans.
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
GGK
#51 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 9:18:33 AM

jamplu wrote:

There was a time around 2004 KAA had a caveat on the land and its unfortunate the sellers waited for things to cool off then resold the land.

What have seen with the land process in kenya don't even trust the lawyers majority of them won't even bother to get the history of the land.

There is some land around Mlolong/Sabaki that belongs to the government Numerical Systems or something* where exactly is their land??

Numerical Machining complex. Check the report on Athi River land issue that was released recently
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Sure
#52 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 9:26:17 AM

tuvok wrote:
I think from this painful experience, it would be nice if wazuans could start collecting maps of all potentially contentious land. Not sure if it is practical but at this rate, we cannot rely on GoK and associated bodies.

Where is Orengo? Or he is part of the problem?
Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom.
When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
Mtu Biz
#53 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 9:34:36 AM

This is very sad.

NKT!
Sola Scriptura

#54 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 9:48:27 AM

They should sue their lawyers. Any time I am purchasing a property, I leave to the lawyers to authenticate the titles and that there is nothing to stop the transaction to go through. LSK should comment on the negligence of it's membership. Secondly, Mavoko County Council should be dissolved. All the land has an owner but the council continues to defraud citizens by dishing out allotment letters of which no titles will ever be issued.
tony stark
#55 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 9:54:34 AM

OCCUPY ARDHI HOUSE!!!
There are so many people affected that they can take turns occupying Ardhi house.
#56 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 10:08:17 AM

Um Sayala wrote:
Very sad indeed. I watched the old man on TV mummer some incoherent words and i thot he'd get heart attack any time.
I u/stand that section of Syoki has had issues since 2004.poleni sana sana.

True; the issue of Syokimau KAA land being grabbed and sold has been going on for many years. My stand is that if I bought some land and there was doubts about its validity later, I wouldn't build anything on it... I would use it to get a loan to buy another plot elsewhere and build.

Some times in life, you cut your losses and move on.

It's a sad matter though.
#57 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 10:17:20 AM

Kabird wrote:
Folks who demarcated these parcels of land, those who sold, issued title and approval of construction should be jailed. Kenyan government you have once again betrayed your citizens

I agree. I think that the owners of those houses shouldn't waste their time suing KAA to stop the demolitions.

The best way would be to sue the individual officers in GoK and CCN who issued the titles and approved the construction... these guys are criminally negligent.

File criminal cases and civil cases for compensation as well. True the fellows cannot afford to compensate you, but, once the courts find in your favour, you can have them declared bankrupt and that way they will never be able hold public office until they sort you out...which is NEVER!
Maina_MNairobi
#58 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 10:17:52 AM

Hi..

Does anyone have a map (google maps maybe) of the affected area in Syokimau?

thanks
propertyzote
#59 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 10:19:10 AM

@mkonomtupu..@GGK hard to comprehend but you are right..Did some bit of achieve reading and found out that a seven day notice of eviction had been given out back in 15th September 2011 by KAA read for yourself. http://www.standardmedia...imatum%20to%20squatters Painful to see the demolitions owing that most of the owners are young investors..Pole Sana.
www.propertyzote.com the ultimate ‘one stop online shop’ of choice connecting more people with more properties at the click of a button
StatMeister
#60 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 10:26:04 AM

Maina_MNairobi wrote:
Hi..

Does anyone have a map (google maps maybe) of the affected area in Syokimau?

thanks

Welcome to Wazua, Applause Applause Applause Applause

lakini unasalimiana kwanza smile smile smile
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work