Investor
Bonds
Please advice - choice on duration of TBill
Cde Monomotapa wrote:Weuwe...another of Wazua celebrity couples ;-) Comrade mwene mutapa .... hii ni nini/ hawa ni nani? or are you bloated on sadza?
Rank: Member Joined: 8/12/2010 Posts: 129 Location: nairobi
@lovely2010
Investments 202 tells us that investment in government securities during periods of inflation devalue the meaning of fixed income. The money earned then will be of much less value that it is today. so i am not too sure you really want to go there to earn interest income at these times.
lovely2010 wrote:Is it wise to buy treasury bills for 3 months, 6 months or 1 year?...I did the maths and I think one gains more when buying for three months but due to bank transfers you end up spending a lot. Also time wastage...If you buy for one year you waste less time and also you get bulk interest at once...Im I right? In case nobody has mentioned, CBK allows you to automatically rollover your principal+interest Sehemu ndio nyumba
Liquidity gone,and the 364 day T-bill up to 16.617%,a fair return to the risk averse who have taken cover in the money markets.
tony stark wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:Weuwe...another of Wazua celebrity couples ;-) Comrade mwene mutapa .... hii ni nini/ hawa ni nani? or are you bloated on sadza? si...lovely & ycsun  btw Sadza is a culture shock to Kenyans and the Ugali we know and vice-verca to the Zimbo. Sadza too soft, Ugali too hard!  ubuntu, ubuntu!
Rank: Member Joined: 3/10/2008 Posts: 301 Location: Abu Dhabi
Invest in 91-day as long as you expect interest rates to keep rising. Once you see a top, go for longer tenors - 182 or 364.
Rank: Member Joined: 10/25/2010 Posts: 519 Location: nairobi
91 @ 16.202...I am so liking this...
lovely2010 wrote:91 @ 16.202...I am so liking this... ... and there was an undersubscription. In the next auction, the interest rate is going up, again. I am so liking this too ....
Investor
Bonds
Please advice - choice on duration of TBill