In town with a stinging headache
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/20/2008 Posts: 1,126 Location: Nairobi
You are in town and have no cash,either it has been stolen or you are flat broke. It is night time and is raining so your friends who work in town are not there. You need to go home and give cash to your family which is waiting for you at home with something. What do you do? 'The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitudes.” William James JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
say what!!!! hebu come slowly
tuweke amani for all the people
Rank: Member Joined: 11/9/2007 Posts: 420 Location: Nairobi
U pls call me a friend you can count on Opinion is free,truth is sacred. Opinion is free, truth is sacred.
I forgot to say the part that you also do not have a phone. 'The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitudes.” William James JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Try getting some tea from the nearest watchman - this could help against your headache. Spend the night with him and wait until your buddies come to work the following morning. All beginnings are difficult ..... ..... everything has an end,only a sausage has two. Taunet Neelel ..... New Beginning .....
Clearly,you use matatus to go home. Just go to the bus stop. you of course know one or two matatus that you use and probably they know you even if its just the face. talk to makanga,explain your dilemma and promise to bring for him the money the following day or same day if possible. they can sometimes be very helpful.
alternative 2
walk up to a stranger,tell him as it is,ask him to give you some 50 bob to get you home or to pay it to the makanga if he thinks you are soliciting money from anyone... there is just a way you can tell a genuine person in need and a con - they dont tend to have a long winding story... i know i have helped several this way.
Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
I dont get it - what is the point of this hypothetical post?
Mpenzi*.. the point... is how does one... sting his head....??? I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
@ m water Just creating a humbling scenario. I think it is self explanatory. @ sokomjinga That would mean that your family doesn’t get supper for the night if they are waiting for you to give them something. @ Wendy Those are good ones especially that one of a stranger. @ Mpenzi same as m water @ The Real Shaft A stinging headache is a figure of speech that explains the state of a headache. @ all I was once in the same exact scenario and I felt like it was one humbling affair. I had to walk to where I take my mats and wait for someone I know to lend me some bake. Since we were going in the same direction when we reached I reimbursed him. The worst thing was when I went up to this stranger to ask him if he could help me out in my situation. He looked at me like those disturbing chokoras and shook his head without saying a word. I think as much as we are being careful,it is good to help out strangers because no matter how rich and comfortable you are,you never know when it will be your turn to be in town with a stinging headache… Anyway like one of my friends says,a human being will always survive. 'The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitudes.” William James JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Rank: Member Joined: 10/17/2008 Posts: 338 Location: Kenya
@Wendz alternative 2 should remain just an alt 2...there was a day i was in deep s*** and i was supposed to report to work at 2,i had walked for quite sometime before i saw a guy witha badge from the same co. i workd for. i approached him and with all the humility i cd gather told him my predicament i even showed him my badge..the guy just stared at me very sloowly from head to toe with the kind of look that tells you..either you are crazy,was once crazy or you are headed there. i had to walk away and i did more than 15km to work. A little Blindness is necessary when you undertake Risk. Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
This 'stranger' situation has reminds me of a dude who used to waylay innocent wananchi at the Kenyatta-Community-Town Route sometime last year and narrate the same sad story over and over again of how his wife and kid were stuck in hospital..he hadnt eaten..his landlord had kicked him out..blahblah and he had this SAD face(like an abandoned puppy). and so many people fell for his story,line hook and sinker. And i think he made a tidy sum of cash,until enough guys spotted him using the same tired story in Town on different days! Of course,the only thing that would change in his story was his 'name'(he was Kamau today,kesho Omari..sijui Karubandika..etc) and where his wife was admitted and what his kid was suffering from! From that time on,I have a serious phobia for guys who stop me anywhere to 'borrow' busfare! Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't.. Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
After tarmacking for a yr and half after college back in 1999,I was in Mombasa and got this interview invitation in Thika. I had no money,my sis had been retrenched. I begged a few friends for fare,They all had this or that commitment. When i was giving up,a Tanzanian guy i had just known volunteered to pay bus fare to Nbi 400 bob,his friend gave me 200 bob 'for lunch'. Yes that how i met God's send angles. with only one way fare,I attended the interview and was recruited. There after as i was pondering what to do next in a foreign town,i met a guy we were in high school together; and as they say the rest is history. Believe in God to do the most unexpected thing
Don't sit and wait - look for the next opportunity
@leona ati Karubandika lol
@ Ji Yes that's true. Like for me after such a situation I see things differently. When someone is in problems and you help them out God blesses the heart. If your intent is to start following up how the person used the money you will never help anyone. I do agree that you should always try finding out if the person is telling the truth. But once you are convinced,give from the heart. God blesses a cheerful giver. Having really struggled with my finances at some point,I have been given busfare so many times with strangers. This made me humble down from the heart that I had when I had plenty. @ gogeta Yeah,this is a tough option and the first should always be to try getting friends or family nearby. But if all falls down,a few strangers will look at you funny but there is ALWAYS that one who will help. @ Leona For me even if I come to find out that among the many I help very often that one of them was a hoax,it won't change my thoughts on giving. The thing is you give from the heart and if that person is a hoax,the mistake is not on your side. The bad thing is still giving the same person in the same way,KNOWING that he is a con. @ Festom Very inspiring @ Mpenzi Yeah the name kinda reminds of that mchawi in Tausi. 'The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitudes.' William James JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
@ako this is what we call one in a 1 to power 6 (million) chances. Try westie opposite Bachus,crooked Q,especially early in the morning when going to work,there are choks there ukiona hao......wacha tu! im forced to cross the road and access the building via the other end..... .. Character refers to moral Excellence. It involves honesty,self-control,thoughtfulness of others,religious loyalty,moral ideals,conscience and ability to inhibit impulses. Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
@ak Its not that majority of us mind helping,money is never enough you know and there is nothing as bad as realising that you sacrificed your needs when somebody is conning you,trust me it leaves you with a bad taste in your mouth and a sense of satisafaction Some you win,Some you lose Some you win some you lose
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
...you have no money... so what money are you taking to your family? You are better off not going home...
...walk along Riverroad and get mugged. A good samaritan will spot you and take you to a clinic where you can get panadols for your headache... and wellwishers will organise an harambee to get you out of the hospital...
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
@Akpwally
'tunasaidia roho safi'. And we dare say there are no good people left!!! That was really touching...
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
@ akowally chokosh are just like any other kid it depends with the influence they are exposed to. my mum was nearly maimed by chokosh near the coast bus stage in the morning when they were trying to mug her . One chokosh who we were trying to rehabilitated some time back,stole from us and went back to the streets the last time I saw him was in NTV beaten senseless. Some chokosh are just there because of cicumstances given an alternative they would grab the opportunity others are just plain thugs. you can achive all things through Him(Jesus Christ) '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
what will happen .. when the 'chokosh' becomes a... police man....??? or a civil servant...??? or.... a politician....??? I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
In town with a stinging headache