wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

wiring a house
tom_boy
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 05, 2010 9:34:47 PM

I am in the process of putting up a 4br maisonette and I have reached the point where I need to do the wiring. The quote from the QS was 200k to do the electrical installation for the whole house. Sasa, I have kwamad after doing the slab and I want to finish downstairs (2br, sitting cum dining, kitchen, study and 3 baths)and move in kwanza. The electirican has given me a qoute of 200k just to do the downstairs. The major cost is the wires where he says I will need 13 rolls of red, and 10 rolls each of green and black. Now, considering that a roll is 90 metres long and the house is 18m x 9.5m, and seeing the discrepancy with the QS quote for the whole house, I feel I may be getting ripped off. Please can anyone advise how I can go about estimating how much wire I will need?
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
pettmak
#2 Posted : Wednesday, August 18, 2010 5:00:53 PM

hullo! Get a second quote, though ground floors are generally more expensive. it should not go beyond 100k ,if you buy the materials
#3 Posted : Wednesday, August 18, 2010 5:17:46 PM

Eh!!...Get a second and possibly a third opinion and as pettmak says,100K is on the outside.
subaru
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 19, 2010 7:40:32 PM

get also an opinion from somebody who has done the same so as to average down 200k is on the higher side
mmarto
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 01, 2010 5:25:03 PM

make sure they lets you know brand of wires they're quoting. east africa cables are best
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
jimmy1
#6 Posted : Saturday, November 05, 2011 11:16:44 PM

who knows where i can buy genuine east african cables wires at a reasonable price?
GGK
#7 Posted : Sunday, November 06, 2011 11:26:12 AM

Am also at this stage. 200k looks way above my budget. Any thoughts?
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Pablo
#8 Posted : Sunday, November 06, 2011 2:56:20 PM

I went thro this.

There are two ways to do wiring one is called radial and another is called star. With the radial method each socket is supplied with power from two sides such that if the wires are destroyed from the right side you still have power from the left side.
As you can imagine this method consumes more cables by 80% or so. Star method powers each socket directly.

Ask ur fundi what he is using, if he has no clue what ure talking about fire him on the spot, he is a quack.

Me experience u dont need radial installation unless ur doing a factory.

For genuine cables never let the fundi take u to a kashop he knows in Nyamakima, youll be given fake cables with EA Cables packaging at the price of genuine wires.

Go to their racecourse rd distributorship opposite OTC huko downtown. The'll sell you even 1 roll. The only catch is they dont allow fundis to buy from them.
premio
#9 Posted : Sunday, November 06, 2011 3:48:27 PM

great man you are already there. Wud anyone give the true pictue i want to construct a 4 bedroomed massionnete in Katani near shangilia. i have 1.5m and the architect tells me i will manage to do the whole structure down and upstairs roof and the windows(without panes upstairs) and finish the lounge/dining kithchen and guestwing downstairs then move in and do the finishing upstairs pole pole. does its sound feasible. its of average size on a 50/100

-
#10 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 10:24:49 AM

premio wrote:
great man you are already there. Wud anyone give the true pictue i want to construct a 4 bedroomed massionnete in Katani near shangilia. i have 1.5m and the architect tells me i will manage to do the whole structure down and upstairs roof and the windows(without panes upstairs) and finish the lounge/dining kithchen and guestwing downstairs then move in and do the finishing upstairs pole pole. does its sound feasible. its of average size on a 50/100

-

it'll be difficult to answer your question without information on the soil type, type of finishes, total floor area otherwise 1.5million sounds rather low for a 4 bedroom house
TD
#11 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 10:59:48 AM

tom_boy wrote:
I am in the process of putting up a 4br maisonette and I have reached the point where I need to do the wiring. The quote from the QS was 200k to do the electrical installation for the whole house. Sasa, I have kwamad after doing the slab and I want to finish downstairs (2br, sitting cum dining, kitchen, study and 3 baths)and move in kwanza. The electirican has given me a qoute of 200k just to do the downstairs. The major cost is the wires where he says I will need 13 rolls of red, and 10 rolls each of green and black. Now, considering that a roll is 90 metres long and the house is 18m x 9.5m, and seeing the discrepancy with the QS quote for the whole house, I feel I may be getting ripped off. Please can anyone advise how I can go about estimating how much wire I will need?

200k may not be way too off. Did a 4 br house last year, and my wiring costed 218K. Have at least 2 sockets per bedroom (some rooms as many as 5:) )

My spend was split as follows:
+Wall pipings - 8865/-
+Ceiling pipings - 5615/-
+Wires - 80k (22 rolls of 1.5mm (RGB), 12 rolls of 2.5mm, 30m of 6mm, 48m of 10mm (16m of each set).
+Switches, sockets, circuit breakers etc - 20k
+Labour - 50k (all the work, from pipings to testing)

NB: East African cables have outlets in majors towns, and will happily sell you even one roll. By the time I was doing my wiring, a roll of 1.5mm was going for 1800/- but I understand now its about 2400/-

premio
#12 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 9:42:30 PM

Thanks Shak. Its katani and the soil is black cotton. THE DEPTH IS 1.4FT to reach neat ground. Sand is cheap there and cement i intend to get from Afco. house dimension is a follows
G/FLOOR
KITCHEN-3.3MX3.6M
LOUNGE-3.5X4.8M
DINING-3.15X2.5M
G/WING-3.2X3.25M
HALL-4.8X1.3M
CLOAKRM-2.1X1.4M

UPPER FLOOR
MASTER-3.5X6.3M
BEDROOM 1-3.3X3.6M
BEDROOM 2-3.2X3.4M
MASTER BATH-1.45X2.5M
SHARED BATH-2.1X1.4M
HALL-3.5MX1.4M.
I just want to finish g/floor and whole structure then rest pole pole. Upper floors wont touch for now. Finish is tiles in all areas except walls for lounge and sitting. How far do u think 1.5M can go.
premio
#13 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 9:45:27 PM

Roofing is the mabati resembling tiles
Kaka M
#14 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 12:00:22 PM

The link below will prove useful with regard to kunjenga.

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&m=131174