wazua Thu, Apr 16, 2026

wiring a house
TD
#11 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 10:59:48 AM

tom_boy wrote:
I am in the process of putting up a 4br maisonette and I have reached the point where I need to do the wiring. The quote from the QS was 200k to do the electrical installation for the whole house. Sasa, I have kwamad after doing the slab and I want to finish downstairs (2br, sitting cum dining, kitchen, study and 3 baths)and move in kwanza. The electirican has given me a qoute of 200k just to do the downstairs. The major cost is the wires where he says I will need 13 rolls of red, and 10 rolls each of green and black. Now, considering that a roll is 90 metres long and the house is 18m x 9.5m, and seeing the discrepancy with the QS quote for the whole house, I feel I may be getting ripped off. Please can anyone advise how I can go about estimating how much wire I will need?

200k may not be way too off. Did a 4 br house last year, and my wiring costed 218K. Have at least 2 sockets per bedroom (some rooms as many as 5:) )

My spend was split as follows:
+Wall pipings - 8865/-
+Ceiling pipings - 5615/-
+Wires - 80k (22 rolls of 1.5mm (RGB), 12 rolls of 2.5mm, 30m of 6mm, 48m of 10mm (16m of each set).
+Switches, sockets, circuit breakers etc - 20k
+Labour - 50k (all the work, from pipings to testing)

NB: East African cables have outlets in majors towns, and will happily sell you even one roll. By the time I was doing my wiring, a roll of 1.5mm was going for 1800/- but I understand now its about 2400/-

premio
#12 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 9:42:30 PM

Thanks Shak. Its katani and the soil is black cotton. THE DEPTH IS 1.4FT to reach neat ground. Sand is cheap there and cement i intend to get from Afco. house dimension is a follows
G/FLOOR
KITCHEN-3.3MX3.6M
LOUNGE-3.5X4.8M
DINING-3.15X2.5M
G/WING-3.2X3.25M
HALL-4.8X1.3M
CLOAKRM-2.1X1.4M

UPPER FLOOR
MASTER-3.5X6.3M
BEDROOM 1-3.3X3.6M
BEDROOM 2-3.2X3.4M
MASTER BATH-1.45X2.5M
SHARED BATH-2.1X1.4M
HALL-3.5MX1.4M.
I just want to finish g/floor and whole structure then rest pole pole. Upper floors wont touch for now. Finish is tiles in all areas except walls for lounge and sitting. How far do u think 1.5M can go.
premio
#13 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 9:45:27 PM

Roofing is the mabati resembling tiles
Kaka M
#14 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 12:00:22 PM

The link below will prove useful with regard to kunjenga.

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&m=131174