108 Pages«<3839404142>»
EPL 2011-2012
Nobby
#781 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 11:59:28 AM

Burning Spear wrote:
Marty wrote:
What happened to Liverpool, draw at home to Swansea? Me thinks 4th spot will be a dog fight between Spurs and gunners..

After what i've seen in the last 4 or 5 matches i think Arsenal will finish higher than just 4th. Just take a look at the November fixtures involving the top teams, most of them face each other. Man City play Newcastle while Chelsea take on Liverpool....following weekend sees L'fools play Man City while Man Utd host Newcastle. I know you can never write off the likes of Norwich, Wigan and Fulham but i still think we have fairly easy matches coming up.

Come January we'll have a very strong team with Sagna and Wilshere (probably Diaby too)coming back from injury. Our backline seems to be ok especially with Vermaelen back to his best. I also expect Wenger to sign one more creative midfielder this January so the team will be strong enough in the second half of the season....thank God Cameroon didn't qualify for the AFCON 2012 because Song has really been one of our stand out players this season.

Arsenal will probably finish position three this season.Based on the last three matches ( comparing Arsenal and chelsea),gunners have proved solid perfomances unlike the blues. Spurs and Newcastle will finish fifth and 7th respectively.
Wilshere will be back in February,Diaby in December an probably sign a creative midfielder in January.This means Gervinho position will be well covered even when Park gets an English football pace.

It seems Wenger finally has the right ingredient, maturity was the asset that he identified as critical in his team's turnaround. The addition of experienced signings from the summer transfer window, added to the return of the likes of Thomas Vermaelen, has given Arsenal an older, and shrewder, spine. Against West Brom, the backbone of the team included Vermaelen (aged 25), Alex Song (24), Mikel Arteta (29) and Robin van Persie (28). what the gunners were lacking is the ability to hold on to a lead or to turn around a game at the dieing minutes which was part of their undoing last season which was evident in some results like at Newcastle 4-4, Spurs 3-2 & 3-3 draw, West Brom 3-2 lose and Liverpool 2-2 at Emirates where liverpool scored a disputed penalty to equalize in the 112th minute. The mix of young and old is working very well for the Prof.

You will all agree with me that we have not seen such slip ups after the Blackburn game where we lost better and is on the up. With the coming fixtures Arsenal will definitely climb places and the gap from the top will be largely reduced.I cannot say that we are back in contention but top three is now not a distance reality like it was 6 weeks ago with Liverpool and Chelsea struggling, Newcastle going to the usual position! Those who has written off the Gunners did so at their own peril.
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
#782 Posted : Monday, November 07, 2011 12:50:48 PM

One thing stands out this season for Arsenal and it's RVP with him hitting his form all we can do is pray that he doesn't get injured for the rest of the season.
Arsenal is slowing moving up the table and that is gud.
#783 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 1:43:07 PM

Finally Gunners fans admit that experience is vital in winning championships. Hii mambo ya watoto muwache!!!!!!! Watoto need to be mixed with older people for the combo to operate effectively.
#784 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 1:46:17 PM

Experience is vital for any team
#785 Posted : Tuesday, November 08, 2011 9:30:48 PM

Liverpool may be dissapointing me but i hope consistensy shall set in and we go back to where we belong. I still have a strong feeling that this season shall be different and top four is still viable.
#786 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2011 9:36:56 AM

No football this weekend, depressing!!!Sad

Only friendly I'll watch will be Spain vs England, just to see how wider the gap has grown in terms of quality...oh, and Harambee vs Seychelles (is it?)
#787 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2011 2:12:01 PM

Sober wrote:
............I still have a strong feeling that this season shall be different and top four is still viable.

At whose expense?
safariant
#788 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2011 2:47:28 PM

is the Harambee Stars game showing on any channel? Should be around 6pm
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#789 Posted : Friday, November 11, 2011 4:22:29 PM

Follow michezo africa on twitter for live updates, still 0:0
kangi
#790 Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2011 12:06:05 PM

The EPL is back this weekend and with no injuries reported for players in top teams after the international fixtures.

The highlight fixture for the weekend is Chelsea hosting Liverpool on Sunday, with the gunners having an early kick off away to Norwich, Man Utd away to Swansea while Man City play host to a Newcastle side that looks set to pave way and drop to a familiar position in the league after their next 2 games feature an away trip to Old Trafford and later hosting Chelsea- trying times indeed for the toons.
Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
#791 Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2011 2:47:34 PM

I think this is the period of reckoning for Man City. If they hack it, then they are good to go. In the next one month: Newcastle (H,EPL), Napoli (A,UCL), Liverpool (A,EPL), Arsenal (A,Carling), Norwich (H,EPL), Bayern (H,UCL), Chelsea (A,EPL), Arsenal (H,EPL). That is, between November 19th and Dec 18th.
#792 Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2011 3:20:54 PM

Manchester United have signed a five year old boy.....hata kama niku compete with Arsenal on young talent this is going too far. Yaani you had an eye on him akiwa na diapers.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/...ity-fan-115875-23564250/
#793 Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2011 3:31:39 PM

[quote=TAZ]Manchester United have signed a five year old boy.....hata kama niku compete with Arsenal on young talent this is going too far. Yaani you had an eye on him akiwa na diapers.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/...ty-fan-115875-23564250/[/quote]

What about the ones who ate into the clubs academy???
#794 Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2011 3:50:51 PM

[quote=TAZ]Manchester United have signed a five year old boy.....hata kama niku compete with Arsenal on young talent this is going too far. Yaani you had an eye on him akiwa na diapers.

Give me one player who was signed up by a major club at 5 yrs old.....btw the kid is a Man City fan so clearly Man Utd scouts were desperate to get his signature or thumbprint. How do you even send scouts to watch a 5 yr old kid....
#795 Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2011 4:22:28 PM

Give me one player who was signed up by a major club at 5 yrs old.....btw the kid is a Man City fan so clearly Man Utd scouts were desperate to get his signature or thumbprint. How do you even send scouts to watch a 5 yr old kid....

Your link aint working @TAZ,

Sorry...
...but we can't find the page:
http://www.mirror.co.uk/...ty-fan-115875-23564250/[

#796 Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2011 4:29:42 PM

#797 Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2011 4:48:43 PM

[quote=TAZ]Ebu try this ones

http://www.thesun.co.uk/...evil-is-a-City-fan.html

http://www.sportsmole.co...five-year-old_8135.html

http://www.skysportfootb...akistani-family-of-god/[/quote]

.....can't see where the lad has actually been signed, they are simply allowing the youngster to enjoy his sport at the united development centre, and he is traning with 6 year olds at same place, pang'ang'a utaacha!!!!
#798 Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2011 4:49:59 PM

I'm getting worried by how boring my weekends are without football!

Danni Wellbeck injured his thigh before the Sweden game so at least Berba is 3rd now on the pecking order on the strikers list - I really hope Cleverley resumes and avoids being injured by wankers like Kevin davies again - Man Utd have been a totally different (read weak in midfield) side without him, as evidenced by the goal drought (Rooney still stuck at 9) and poor showings in all competitions.

Unfortunately the guys we're targeting to fill that gap (one from Dinamo Zagreb touted as the next Luka Modric and the other from PSV whose also wanted by many teams including Barca)can't come in January so I hope we can get someone to fill the void

I hope City drop points to Newcastle Sad
#799 Posted : Wednesday, November 16, 2011 10:36:32 PM

@Mc Reggae....They can only officially sign the kid when he's 9 yrs so right now they are just calling it "training". I hope you've read that your scouts started monitoring him when he was 3.... too bad the kid is a city fan mpaka his parents had to promise him that they'll take him there when he's older ndio he accepts to train with Mansita.
#800 Posted : Thursday, November 17, 2011 8:49:27 AM

Cleverly and Young are back!!!!!