SME
People
Graduate Salaries in Kenya : A Review
new investor wrote:Wazuans your comments are hilarious
Are you saying I should not live in a house ( Nisilipe rent)
Not eat food( To eliminate the food bill)
And I forgot to indicate I have two small children....the minimum governmet wage for househelp is 7586....
So if I paid her first, I would not even feed my family.
Are some people not meant to live??? And when I married a rich man they call me a gold digger!!! Naming the low paying companies will not shame them and neither will it help other people in your shoes. I have a copy of the 2009 salary survey. If you are interested, I can send you a copy so that you can authoritatively state whether your skill is underpaid for.
let me say this to purely piss off the graduates..
In a month you salary should be less than what your CEO spends on servicing his car (it helps him win business)... its also less than the rent he pays for his mistress..
You are like furniture.. if you break.. he can get another piece...
When the company acquires new furniture some of the old furniture may have to go..
Some types of furniture are special like a safe.. that can be in the company for years..
If the CEO buys a new desk.. his desk may be given to a senior staffer.. may be difficult to throw it out..
The board room table.. its there when big decisions are being made but it does not speak nor contribute to anything.. people will write on it.. spill tea and samosa crumbs... and go and leave you there..
The money belongs to the shareholders and there are key staff who ensure the money keeps coming in.. so until you start significantly contributing to the money coming in... by winning big accounts that make difference on the company balance sheet... shut up and do your routine tasks without f***ing up.. if the company looses business you are toast..
Most bosses were in your position.. know you are a self seeker who is there waiting until the next big offer comes then you can move 'to greener pastures' .. that you applied for a green card ages ago... you are waiting for your masters scholarship..
Take your MBA classes.. do what ever.. until you win business for the company.. take note not keep.. you are like the furniture
Here is you 25,000 (note i added the 5,000 because of inflation) shut up or leave
Rank: Member Joined: 9/29/2010 Posts: 216 Location: Kenia
mozenrat wrote:I apologize if I caused offence.. This is what I should have said."I find it laughable that a "whole graduate" has sired two kids while earning 26K..and then has the audacity to complain about it.." Having children is your choice not your employer's, so any related expenses are purely your problem.. I certainly chose not to have any kids until I could give them the quality of life I desire.. if you desired for them to live in Ngara in a 9K hau, thats your decision. @Sihingwa, I know what I earn, what I aimed for and what I got.. I don't have to prove anything to you. ... but you did not say...and then go ahead to laugh at someone earning 26K. It was your attitude I was against, I did not want to see your payslip!
Rank: Member Joined: 5/6/2011 Posts: 391 Location: Nairobi
@accelriskconsult ..Please send me a copy at jzbatts@ymail.com.Thanks a bunch "You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/3/2010 Posts: 1,141 Location: Londokwe
accelriskconsult wrote:new investor wrote:Wazuans your comments are hilarious
And I forgot to indicate I have two small children....the minimum governmet wage for househelp is 7586....
Are some people not meant to live??? And when I married a rich man they call me a gold digger!!! Naming the low paying companies will not shame them and neither will it help other people in your shoes. I have a copy of the 2009 salary survey. If you are interested, I can send you a copy so that you can authoritatively state whether your skill is underpaid for. tuma kwa wazuauser@gmail.com2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
'user' wrote:accelriskconsult wrote:new investor wrote:Wazuans your comments are hilarious
Are some people not meant to live??? And when I married a rich man they call me a gold digger!!! Naming the low paying companies will not shame them and neither will it help other people in your shoes. I have a copy of the 2009 salary survey. If you are interested, I can send you a copy so that you can authoritatively state whether your skill is underpaid for. tuma kwa wazuauser@gmail.com please tumakwa; < salim.rasna@yahoo.com> Give Away FREE Reports and Affiliate Tools. Earn commissions from sales of Our Do-It-Yourself List Building Resources. http://www.leadgeneratingtools.com
The kind of IMPUNITY shown here is what am referring to. Companies specifically stating they WANT graduates, with a few diplomas and certificates on top and proceeding to pay less than what I am paying my MPESA attendant. Check this: http://www.careerpointke...bs-salary-ksh-20000.htmlGive Away FREE Reports and Affiliate Tools. Earn commissions from sales of Our Do-It-Yourself List Building Resources. http://www.leadgeneratingtools.com
@accelriskconsult Please send me on kanyimwaitu@gmail.com. Many thanks. Lord, thank you!
new investor wrote:if I had to pay rent in Ngara ( close to town) It would be a minimum of 9k for a single room...
Fare to and from Ngara (off peak) is 50/= daily making around 1k
Daily food budget (280 *30)= 8400 2pkts Milk 70 1/2 kg Meat 180 Cabage/spinach 20 Tomatoes 10
Lunch 100 ( Minimum in town)= 2500 Shopping = 5k Electricity and water bills = 1k
TOTAL MONTHLY REQUIREMENT = 26,900
HELB loan?
"..one is only poor only if they choose to be.."-Dolly Partron
Are some people not meant to live??? And when I married a rich man they call me a gold digger!!! Naming the low paying companies will not shame them and neither will it help other people in your shoes. I have a copy of the 2009 salary survey. If you are interested, I can send you a copy so that you can authoritatively state whether your skill is underpaid for. kenyamerchant@live.com Send me the survey . Am interested. Excelsior
incognito wrote:accelriskconsult wrote:new investor wrote:Wazuans your comments are hilarious
Are some people not meant to live??? And when I married a rich man they call me a gold digger!!! Naming the low paying companies will not shame them and neither will it help other people in your shoes. I have a copy of the 2009 salary survey. If you are interested, I can send you a copy so that you can authoritatively state whether your skill is underpaid for. kenyamerchant@live.com Send me the survey . Am interested. me too.. ratenmozen at gmail dot com
Are some people not meant to live??? And when I married a rich man they call me a gold digger!!! Naming the low paying companies will not shame them and neither will it help other people in your shoes. I have a copy of the 2009 salary survey. If you are interested, I can send you a copy so that you can authoritatively state whether your skill is underpaid for. @acclerconsult please send me aat hunderwear(at)gmail(dot)com
sihingwa wrote: ...but you did not say...and then go ahead to laugh at someone earning 26K. It was your attitude I was against, I did not want to see your payslip![/color]
What are you saying wewe?... have you not asked me to post my payslip here... [quote=sihingwa] @ Mozenrat Post payslip yako ama weka link to confirm 400k p.m...and what are saying I did not post... My problem is with that person who sets himself up with additional expenses and expects the employer to automatically pay for those expenses "just becoz he is a graduate". I also happen to have worked for employers who consider their employees to be a cost that he'll only pay for if they're essential. I have proved myself to be essential to their operations and have been paid for it.
@acclerconsult please send me aat emasaa(at)yahoo(dot)com Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
Send me a copy of the survey to pope-2009@live.com.thanks
@accelriskconsult, kindly email me a copy at mdma08@gmail.com
jaggernaut wrote:From the discussion going on here, it appears that the govt is one of the best employers. I didn't know that the private sector could pay a graduate 15k, since from what I hear fresh graduates working for GoK get at least 20k for house allowance in Nairobi. Add that to an entry basic pay of about 30k and 6k transport, 4k medical, and govt pension, and the freshman working for GOK gets about 60k. And the graduate will still get at least 500bob each day as 'chai' to hasten the movement of files, signing of cheques etc, in the govt offices. And it's a job guaranteed for life! Am I mistaken or Gava doesn't issue cheques anymore? I thought they EFT/RTGS exclusively
Rank: New-farer Joined: 12/1/2009 Posts: 16 Location: Nairobi
newinvestor, thanks for enlightening Kenyans.
In capitalism 101: Labour is the primary expense. If you pay graduates 15K, you will get what is worth 15,000.
If Kenya wants to develop into a middle or even high income country, it must protect its work force and make sure that they are properly remunerated for their labor. This is the only way that their creativity can be harnessed.
It is a shame that most of the offenders are multinationals who pay Kenyans less than the minimum daily wage in their countries of origin.
There is an organisation in Gigiri where most of the Kenyan employees are shuttled from far flung fringes of the city (Kitengela, Kiserian, Pipeline etc) , yet in these buses there is not single expartriate. I have always wondered how many of these employees would not like to live in Gigiri's environs so that they can walk or cycle to work or better still drive to work???
We need to understand that economic discrimination against the working class is the 21st century barbed wire that is used to segregate individuals. If the rights of Kenyans as enshrined in the new constitution are to be upheld then institutions need to be forced to duly compensate their employees.
dukawalla wrote:
It is a shame that most of the offenders are multinationals who pay Kenyans less than the minimum daily wage in their countries of origin.
There is an organisation in Gigiri where most of the Kenyan employees are shuttled from far flung fringes of the city (Kitengela, Kiserian, Pipeline etc) , yet in these buses there is not single expartriate. I have always wondered how many of these employees would not like to live in Gigiri's environs so that they can walk or cycle to work or better still drive to work???
You have raised a very important point. I understand that in these organisations, there are huge differences in pay for workers who are recruited locally and those hired internationally despite them having similar qualifications and doing similar jobs. The expatriate staff also get free accommodation in the leafy suburbs in addition to those 4x4 fuel guzzling monsters. Why pay a mzungu who has a degree from University of London differently from a Kenyan who has a similar degree from the same University of London...or UoN and both are doing the same job?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2010 Posts: 906 Location: Nairobi
Multinationals are built primarily to import money to their home country, simple.
SME
People
Graduate Salaries in Kenya : A Review