wazua Wed, Dec 31, 2025

opinion poll:elections in aug or dec 2012
#21 Posted : Tuesday, November 01, 2011 10:30:07 PM

YesuWangu wrote:

Making the visiting seasons come twice a year will be a major boost to such economies.

Hapaaaanaa!!....What of us who go forth and back with our furniture?smile ...Mcreggae tutatoboa kweli?Laughing out loudly

...Ongeza fridge juu yake!
#22 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2011 6:26:50 AM

Jaina wrote:
Decemeber is the better option.

Govt financial year Ends on 30th Jun. The Parliament will not have adequate time to discuss and allocate the Budgetary estimates to the relevant ministries if Elections are held in August. Moreover, moderities on Allocation of the 15% to the counties will need time to sort out. As such its NOT practical to have the Elections in AUG'12 from Finance/Budgetary point of view.

Huge resources and great civic education will be required to mobilize the mother of all Elections. The Cost itself has not been estimated as of now because we dont have the boundaries review finalized.

My Prediction is Next Elections will be one Big mess-up. Riddled with alot of confusion. But Somebody will get rich in the process.

@Jaina: this Mutula Kilonzo argument about budgetary cycles doesn't hold much water. Kwan what would we do if this coalition broke down in January? Would we have to wait until December to hold the general elections?

Give us another reason.

For me; early December. We do elections and go for holidays. New year comes and we swear-in the new pigs...
#23 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2011 7:09:20 AM

YesuWangu wrote:

Making the visiting seasons come twice a year will be a major boost to such economies.

Hapaaaanaa!!....What of us who go forth and back with our furniture?smile ...Mcreggae tutatoboa kweli?Laughing out loudly

#24 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2011 9:43:10 AM

YesuWangu wrote:

guka, hii takuwa sida!!!

.....now the new poll boss Isaak says they are able and ready to hold the erections in August, a new spanner in the works!!!
#25 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2011 10:10:21 AM

seems Dec proponents are having the day so far here.same polls on ktn last night and aug proponents had their day. nimechanganyikiwa.ama some wazuans lack the spine to air their honest opinions for fear of reprisals
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#26 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2011 10:22:35 AM

Isaack Hassan just told the Mpigs what they wanted to hear - that they can have their salaries upto Dec next year. And he got their approval Pap!
otienosmall
#27 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2011 10:46:35 AM

Dec. is more convenient
#28 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2011 12:06:19 PM

[quote=McReggae
.....now the new poll boss Isaak says they are able and ready to hold the erections in August, a new spanner in the works!!![/quote]

If you read this article,Isaak is for December.

http://www.capitalfm.co....rts-a-dec-2012-election/
bendi3
#29 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2011 2:39:30 PM

August,if the new constitution was indeed a rebirth of kenya.
The early worm, is the one caught by the early bird.........
#30 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2011 3:17:27 PM

Early Dec!
#31 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2011 3:55:51 PM

I personally prefer Dec

#32 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2011 4:02:11 PM

mukiha wrote:
Jaina wrote:
Decemeber is the better option.

Govt financial year Ends on 30th Jun. The Parliament will not have adequate time to discuss and allocate the Budgetary estimates to the relevant ministries if Elections are held in August. Moreover, moderities on Allocation of the 15% to the counties will need time to sort out. As such its NOT practical to have the Elections in AUG'12 from Finance/Budgetary point of view.

Huge resources and great civic education will be required to mobilize the mother of all Elections. The Cost itself has not been estimated as of now because we dont have the boundaries review finalized.

My Prediction is Next Elections will be one Big mess-up. Riddled with alot of confusion. But Somebody will get rich in the process.

@Jaina: this Mutula Kilonzo argument about budgetary cycles doesn't hold much water. Kwan what would we do if this coalition broke down in January? Would we have to wait until December to hold the general elections?

Give us another reason.

For me; early December. We do elections and go for holidays. New year comes and we swear-in the new pigs...

Is there possibility for this one to be done in December for the simple reason that some technocrats cannot up the gears? Ati budgetary cycle! Next they might say they cannot change the budgetary cycle because the rainy season ends around there.

Then the subsequent ones go as planned in August?
Jaina
#33 Posted : Wednesday, November 02, 2011 4:19:56 PM

@ Yesuwangu
The Tail cannot wag the Dog. Budget cycle cannot be changed to suit an election.

Lets be practical and stop being overly ignorant.
If Elections are held in August, the parliament must be dissolved at leat 60days B4. Meaning at least by june 30th, the parliament should be desolved. There would be no parliament to pass the budget.

Parliament will have its way regardless of what Mutunga's supreme court decides. An ammendment will have to be done to take the date to DEC.