wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

5 Pages<1234>»
USIU vs STRATH MBA
#21 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 8:53:00 AM

Guys ...there are several people i know with MBAs from THE who still can't secure a good job and others from Strath who are employed as Cashiers in banks.

Nowadays employers are concentrating on the employee's inherent aptitudes related to the work.

life is too short to blend in
Jalofg
#22 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 8:55:00 AM

Is KEMU using 'THE' lecturers now that its strategically placed near the 'THE'

Jalofg
zamali
#23 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 9:03:00 AM

@ TAZ Good observations.

But do an MBA if you have the Cash,it is an important cap to put on for ceremonial reasons. There are many a manager out there without MBA,but are outstanding because of 'natural' management skills.

Still,I believe the comparison would have been better if we were pitting THE vs Strath MBA. I wish someone can compare them in terms of course content as opposed to other criteria.

Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
Spendthrift
#24 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 9:05:00 AM

In between the lines;

There's is nothing special about a university where every tom,dick and arrghhhh ....evry dick can get into so long as they have money.

Sadly,most of these fellows come from well to do families and they usually get recruited and will be driving a VW Golf V daily from Gigiri to Langata even before they graduate from the 'USA in Kasarani'. Many of them wouldn't qualify to enrol for Masters programmes in the real USA because the crap of GMAT and/or GRE would stress them to a haemorragic death.

However,there is also a good number of relatively bright guys (i.e they have the grades to get into the public universities) who go to this university because of the lifestyle it offers. Some of them consider themselves 'too refined' to fit into the hovels of our luneeversities and beings mamas boys or daddy's girl's,going out of the country is a No-No for them. I know of one Asian HR guy who was taking his MBA here and frankly he was better that the rest of the pack in that unit- maybe his attitude was his winning point.

The list of such universities is however growing and sadly JKUAT,UoN and Moi (courtesy of their numerous 5th floor campuses or conjuction with funny colleges) have joined this league because someguy spotting an earing,sagged jeans and D+ will go do a three month pre-uni in Ug,enrol at Busoga,Bugema or KIU for a 3 year degree and armed with it,she will be admitted for an MBA at THE and the likes. If they got money or visa free thailand,they can pass regardless of how daft they be. Thesis can be bought (or sub contracted) and voila you got a monkey flashing an MBA from THE. Woo unto you if this monkey gets to be your boss......everyday monkey business.

Do you say live and let live!

Everyday!
#25 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 10:50:00 AM

Jal,definitely....Taz,Mba frm THE n tarmacing? Thats the probo wid fellows going for Mba immediately afta undergrad,mba was neva meant for dat!...spendthrift,huyo wa kiu hawezi pita THE labda alinunua!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
haiyaa
#26 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 11:43:00 AM

hope this ranking helps

http://www.webometrics.i...ntinent.asp?cont=africa

God Is God. All the time.
Spendthrift
#27 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 12:02:00 PM

Haiyaa kumbe!

I seem to agree with the ranking in as far as Kenyan Universities are concerned. The place of Makerere seems to me misplaced. I cannot imagine this university being ranked better than Moi or KU- unless it's historical. Those Kenyans who have had experiences in these places there can attest to this. And Strathmore ought to be in top ten not 12th. Similarly,KU has now all it takes to climb progressively to top 20 in a few years,only NOT with the cosmetic Mu'walk' kind of management.

Surprising entries include university of Mogadishu and American Uni. in Kinshasa and Uni of Noukuachott.....Failed states ha?

That aside the list clearly provide a choice of about 7 good universities to attend within the country,

But if you want an easier time,you can choose Kassarani,Survey,or City Mortuary

Everyday!
Sasha
#28 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 12:16:00 PM

Surely ....

University of Khartoum is ranked higher than JKUAT, KU and USIU? What do they teach?

Curiously, many of my friends at USIU say that the content is good. Have a few bigshot friends (CEOs, MDs, COOs) many are USIU alumni and they vouch for the content. Still don't get why people are against USIU if it depends on individuals!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
#29 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 12:28:00 PM

Eti Mogadishu University ahead of JKUAT,give me a break!...most of the ranking is based on the university website and internet applications,strath even before it became a university was one of the first IT centres,remember IMIS? So l understand being ranked there!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#30 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 12:35:00 PM

Sasha,USIU is the easiest place to pass ua exams,so the MDs,CEOs and the bigshots just go there to add onto their qualifications and this is normally afta they gain those prestigious positions!

Spendthrift
#31 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 12:35:00 PM

@ Sasha,for starters,USIU is not ranked.

Then don't forget that Khartoum is actually in the 'rich' arab North and is a state university.

I think as a CEO with many things on my mind,I would rather go to a no frills (no brain racking projects,assignments e.t.c) university like USIU to suit their status and Honolulu kind of lifestyle. And to contradict myself a little,such a class laden with bigshots,may be good because people may bring in divergent perspectives in class discussions. But in general that doesnt make that University a place of choice.

If you have to go to private uni,perhaps Strathmore or Catholic Uni are the places to be. Daystar from a distance .............just maybe and only during the Day. In Strath and Catho students actually fail if they play around. Catholic church educationists have a keen eye on quality and you will see this in the way Kianda,St. Mary's,PBs,Strathmore and many more schools where this church has a heavy hand are run.

What I wonder is why Strathmore has to charge so highly yet the Opus Dei prelature has always been able to get funding for almost every other project from sources such as the EU and Italian government. In fact the set up of the Madaraka campus was financed by the EU (EC then),with the Italian government throwing in the fittings. And if I'm not wrong,the Spanish government (read the Opus Dei link) has also thrown in quite some over the years.

Everyday!
Sasha
#32 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 12:56:00 PM

@McReggae/Spendthrift

I get the point now! I guess I should shelve the application papers I was planning to hand in soon! Was planning to do SM and I thought USIU was second to Strath!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
Spendthrift
#33 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 12:57:00 PM

About this ranking

The original aim of the Ranking was to promote Web publication,not to rank institutions. Supporting Open Access initiatives,electronic access to scientific publications and to other academic material are our primary targets. However web indicators are very useful for ranking purposes too as they are not based on number of visits or page design but global performance and visibility of the universities.

As other rankings focused only on a few relevant aspects,specially research results,web indicators based ranking reflects better the whole picture,as many other activities of professors and researchers are showed by their web presence.

The Web covers not only only formal (e-journals,repositories) but also informal scholarly communication. Web publication is cheaper,maintaining the high standards of quality of peer review processes. It could also reach much larger potential audiences,offering access to scientific knowledge to researchers and institutions located in developing countries and also to third parties (economic,industrial,political or cultural stakeholders) in their own community.

The Webometrics ranking has a larger coverage than other similar rankings (see table below). The ranking is not only focused on research results but also in other indicators which may reflect better the global quality of the scholar and research institutions worldwide.

We intend to motivate both institutions and scholars to have a web presence that reflect accurately their activities. If the web performance of an institution is below the expected position according to their academic excellence,university authorities should reconsider their web policy,promoting substantial increases of the volume and quality of their electronic publications.

Candidate students should use additional criteria if they are trying to choose university. webometrics Ranking correlates well with quality of education provided and academic prestige,but other non-academic variables need to be taken into account.

So with the sub standard web content,numerous spelling mistakes on our public university websites and the fact that 80% of the time,you need fibre optic connectivity to get through to their website coupled with No response to online enquiries,our six public lunee bins still made it to the top 100....pheeewwww!

Everyday!
#34 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 1:09:00 PM

Good you agree hio ni mambo ya intaneti,also USIU has been dymystified! Strath is the best in terms of discipline,content is debatable since lecturers r shared across da board!

the sage
#35 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 2:35:00 PM

Some of you guys are apparently very bitter,it is the same world over. It is who and what you know. Make the right contacts and develop the skills that can fullyt exploit those conatcts. Doesn't really matter if it's Strath,USIU or THE.

At the end of the day,what matters is did you go through school or did it go through you.
Spendthrift
#36 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 2:49:00 PM

@ Sage

What you say is very true about making contacts and working on oneself to maximise the contacts. In fact I nurtured two younger siblings of mine through this philosophy and went ahead to introduce them to some useful contacts in their area of study when they just got into THE and man,their classmates,especially for the one who went to THE think he cames from a leafy background - only the truth is the extreme opposite.

I would like you to explain the Bitterness part.

If I got a monkey for a boss and I end up doing all the thinking,concept re-engineering,damage control e.t.c while he or she takes all the big money and credit,surely that's bad,but like you said,it's the world over.

Explain 'bitter' avec la sagesse

Everyday!
#37 Posted : Wednesday, July 22, 2009 4:30:00 PM

Networking is key world,dats a FACT,lakini hii bitterness imetoka wapi jameni!

#38 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2009 7:15:00 AM

Forget ranking,forget popularity,forget 'difficulty' of exams...if it is learning you want,think out of the box.....for example,do they have am MBA programme at Egerton? If not,what's the closest thing they offer?

Your biggest cost there will be attending the lectures at their business school in Kisii!!!!!

As I said,think outside the box!

BTW: Ever heard of Leicester? They run a correspondence MBA right here in Kenya. One graduate of the course told me that he never thought learning could be so easy and interesting....

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
missydear
#39 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2009 7:23:00 AM

Whether you bought it or you coughed it it will still dawn on you that you are not capable and this will show anyway.

I still beleive in THE either way those who don't are just making excuses as usual as they did not make it to THE. Take it or leave it

'To establish true self-esteem we must concentrate on our successes and
forget about the failures and the negatives in our lives.
#40 Posted : Thursday, July 23, 2009 8:14:00 AM

BTW; Why has Egerton been the star performer at the Celtel/Zain Africa Challenge? Note that they are not very popular with school leavers (applicants) thus their entry grades are not the highest.....Perhaps there is something they are doing right....

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)