wazua Wed, Dec 31, 2025

Grenade attack Nairobi -al shabaab
#21 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 9:41:43 AM

"Reuters footage showed blood and beer bottles splattered on the ground of Mwaura's bar, which is frequented by blue-collar labourers attracted by its cheap beer and spirits."

http://af.reuters.com/ar...p;virtualBrandChannel=0
#22 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 9:43:54 AM

jasonhill wrote:
tony stark wrote:
the deal wrote:
Psychological Warfare...we are all scared like rained on cats aint weLaughing out loudly

14 injured and hospitalized ...... I wouldn't term that pyschological that is very physical warfare.
I also wouldn't think it is a laughing matter!

@Tony Stark

Actually, though it is physical, it is definitely more psychological, as is usually the case with such cowardly terrorist acts. Though they technically can only hurt people in a relatively small area and in relatively small numbers, the psychological effect is what terrorists such as Al-Shebab are counting on- the fear, the intimidation, the willingness to defend the country, and this is why people must not give in, be afraid, or give up.

The people of Kenya will not succumb to fear or psychological intimidation. The enemy will not win.

Best,

Hill

@Injere, I beg to differ. We must refrain from looking at security from a business perspective but must look at business from a security angle. Look at Lamu, now peaking up after the initial down turn. We must not be cowed, @Jason very right we must be prepared to go the whole hog of it cost notwithstanding we cannot lose this one for sure. If we give in an inch, you know what they'll take a yard and more.

KADUSI
#23 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 9:46:44 AM

God is with us
wajuguna
#24 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 9:48:33 AM

The target and time of attack, if it was from the al shabab could be a pointer to their getting rudderless. These attacks might however happen again in the short run but so long as the group is suppressed at their strongholds in Somalia, their entry into Kenya cut to nil, and their sympathisers from within smoked out, then their end is nigh.
#25 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 9:48:49 AM

callaspade wrote:
.....no retreat,no surrender,they have just validated a massive swoop in Nairobi and other towns.

I totally concur....One cowardly attack by a hopeless PIG should not cow anybody.Our sovereignty and our freedom is God given.Anybody who denies as the same is our enemy.We are ready to die for this virtues as did our fathers and grandfathers....If need be,we are ready to pay the price with our blood.....Let the government move without farther ado.Condone all areas invested by this mendes and let's sort them out once and for all....NOW!
Injere
#26 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 9:55:16 AM

@Rahatupu - I agree. We should however know where to stop and cut our losses. The enemy has nothing to lose; the same cannot be said of us! They are in it for fame and blagging rights for all they care! We have an economy to run and a future to protect. My take is, let's push back as much as necessary, we are the only ones who have a dog to protect in this fight!
minima
#27 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 9:57:41 AM

Sober wrote:
ati a guy walked in some minutes past 3pm and hurled a grenade into the mwaura's pub. Why would he do it at a time when they are sure that casualties are few! Just wondering...

Could it be somebody taking advantage of the situation around to sort out some business rivalry?
Yes! Jesus loves me
nwamaina
#28 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 9:59:18 AM

Avoid crowded places when and if you can....this is a war and we will be targeted by the enemy but God Bless Kenya!!
#29 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 10:26:15 AM

minima wrote:
Sober wrote:
ati a guy walked in some minutes past 3pm and hurled a grenade into the mwaura's pub. Why would he do it at a time when they are sure that casualties are few! Just wondering...

Could it be somebody taking advantage of the situation around to sort out some business rivalry?

This is most likely. I dont think a terrorist group would go to a downtown bar at 3am to make a point. They would target the masses in broad daylight. That notwithstanding, security is becoming an issue.
#30 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 10:41:30 AM

Im not scared personally, bt I fear for those who may panic. This is war, and all Kenyans must brace themselves for more possibly deadly hits. This, as the shebab stronghold and structure is obliterated. Its only for a while. We survived the deadly PEV, and we will surely survive a few cowardly explosions. Go Kenya Go.
#31 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 10:43:31 AM

Me thinks someone is out to ensure that there is an excuse to harass some people out of the city and country. They now have a reason and our support to do it as mercilessly as they want. They had my vote already though.
#32 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 10:52:47 AM

minima wrote:
Sober wrote:

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Food for thought!

#33 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 11:03:36 AM

Injere wrote:
@Rahatupu - I agree. We should however know where to stop and cut our losses. The enemy has nothing to lose; the same cannot be said of us! They are in it for fame and blagging rights for all they care! We have an economy to run and a future to protect. My take is, let's push back as much as necessary, we are the only ones who have a dog to protect in this fight!

Bragging! ...and let the dog be protected!
Zakumi
#34 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 11:05:37 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
Me thinks someone is out to ensure that there is an excuse to harass some people out of the city and country. They now have a reason and our support to do it as mercilessly as they want. They had my vote already though.

This theory right here could be true....but what are the eye witnesses saying?? Have they gotten the physical description of the culprit?

Sigh* its a hard time being a Somali in this country of yours.
The Strong Do What They Want,The Weak Do What They Must!
#35 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 11:17:33 AM

how far do individual rights go? after encountering a carload of bui bui claden people with a somali who can barely speak any swahili or english in a taxi asking for directions to the UN I have to say these bui bui's and hijabs don't inspire any confidence during these times...
fantony
#36 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 11:20:31 AM

the kebabs can do more than throw a puny grenade into a pub..

hii ni kazi ya GwOKo.

this is my warning to kenyans.. just like there WMDs in iraq... puny GwOKo will have to have something to justify its presence in Somalia...

i do not even swallow the bit about 3 tourists being kidnapped..

that lady, the french one was a resident/local more than a tourist..

now an ineffective intelligence that was unable to feed adequate info to avoid machetes in 2007/8

how would they fare against a more secretive organization..

the media of course is playing with the state on this campaign to spread fear..

#37 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 11:22:36 AM

bwenyenye wrote:

Sadly this is where we are headed.
#38 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 11:25:01 AM

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...aspx?g=posts&t=14078
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#39 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 11:56:33 AM

how far do individual rights go? after encountering a carload of bui bui claden people with a somali who can barely speak any swahili or english in a taxi asking for directions to the UN I have to say these bui bui's and hijabs don't inspire any confidence during these times...

LOL! No confidence at all. Yesterday I took a ride in a minibus to Karen. Seated next to me was a 'buibui', and I couldnt tell whether it was a he or a she. I kept imagining Im about to be dispatched to meet Muammar. Safari ikawa ndefu bwana..
#40 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 12:00:48 PM

LOL! No confidence at all. Yesterday I took a ride in a minibus to Karen. Seated next to me was a 'buibui', and I couldnt tell whether it was a he or a she. Safari ikawa ndefu bwana..

I think the gament should ban those things for now.
I met one in town this morning covered to the mouth,I almost scampered for safety.

2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu