wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

Article Writers
#21 Posted : Thursday, October 20, 2011 12:56:41 PM

mchuuzi wrote:
@Mpenzi you are right it follows the same concept why u do unpaid internship you write for 50 bob and learn what this online writing jobs are all about and you begin getting the jobs yourself.A seasoned writer just needs 2 hours a day to write 10 articles making it 500 a day make that in 30 days gets u a clean 15,000ksh.

2hrs to write 10 articles of 500 words each? Come on! That's 5,000 words in 120minutes...40words per minute.

Are we talking about COPY TYPING or ARTICLE WRITING?

Even when asked to copy type, that is read a hand written document and type it, most people cannot finish the 5,000 words in 2hrs!

Go tell that to the rabbits; not wazuans
mchuuzi
#22 Posted : Thursday, October 20, 2011 4:42:06 PM

mukiha wrote:
mchuuzi wrote:
@Mpenzi you are right it follows the same concept why u do unpaid internship you write for 50 bob and learn what this online writing jobs are all about and you begin getting the jobs yourself.A seasoned writer just needs 2 hours a day to write 10 articles making it 500 a day make that in 30 days gets u a clean 15,000ksh.

2hrs to write 10 articles of 500 words each? Come on! That's 5,000 words in 120minutes...40words per minute.

Are we talking about COPY TYPING or ARTICLE WRITING?

Even when asked to copy type, that is read a hand written document and type it, most people cannot finish the 5,000 words in 2hrs!

Go tell that to the rabbits; not wazuans

Stop being emotional and stupid do i sound like a rabbit to go talk to rabbits the last i checked am logged in to wazua and not into your house anyway if you cant write 10 articles in 2 hours that is you speak for yourself note the key words are can and seasoned writer.
#23 Posted : Friday, October 21, 2011 10:48:41 AM

May be I am too slow....

It takes me an average of 5hrs to research, compose, write and self-edit a 500-word article. And after that i feel so mentally drained that I cannot do anything else for the rest of the day.

How much do I get paid for it? Well without revealing too much, let's just say it is more than 100-times of what is being offered here...
#24 Posted : Friday, October 21, 2011 10:51:19 AM

BTW: During the days before the internet, the same article would take me about three days.

As I said; may be I am too slow in writing...and considering that I have been doing this for well over 20 years [about 2 articles every week], perhaps I am also too slow in becoming "seasoned".
majimaji
#25 Posted : Friday, October 21, 2011 12:34:04 PM

@ Mukiha, tell us more. In this world there are those who will exploit u if you have little knowledge of your worth.
akowally
#26 Posted : Friday, October 21, 2011 12:55:13 PM

@Mukiha

Sadly I agree that you are slow. Although it actually depends on what article you are doing as mentioned earlier. Academic papers will pay more but I've already stated in wazua that I can't do those. This is simple article writing where we do articles for SEO (Search Engine Optimization). These ones can even be done in 7 minutes depending on your typing speed.

Check this out Mukiha

http://www.box.net/shared/ox07hkcrjitxsnzb8es5

For my writers who are in this forum, this guide is not to tell you that this is the best way to write articles. I personally don't start all articles as the writer here has stated i.e. if/then approach...want to read this article. Everything else is fine.

Personally I do 80 words per minute typing and can do an article in like 20 minutes or less.

As for price, everyone is free to air their own opinion.

Mukiha you can tell us what you do to be paid over Sh.500 per article, perhaps we'll all move there!
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#27 Posted : Friday, October 21, 2011 1:12:56 PM

@akowally;
I am not talking about academic articles... those take me several months to research, compose and write; and when I do them I don't get paid anything.

I am talking about writing for the general reader and for 500 words, I don't get less than KSh5,000 per article...[not the 500 you are thinking about]...
#28 Posted : Friday, October 21, 2011 1:13:31 PM

I write,but i can't write for 50bob....

well yeah i know this is this thread is meant for those who want to write for 50bobsmile but i just had to comment

#29 Posted : Friday, October 21, 2011 1:18:46 PM

@ mukiha could you please give me your email address?,would like to get your opinion wewe ukiwa writer and me the aspiring writer......
#30 Posted : Friday, October 21, 2011 1:26:00 PM

famooz wrote:
@ mukiha could you please give me your email address?,would like to get your opinion wewe ukiwa writer and me the aspiring writer......

info[at]HumanBrainForSale[dot]com
akowally
#31 Posted : Friday, October 21, 2011 1:31:57 PM

mukiha wrote:
@akowally;
I am not talking about academic articles... those take me several months to research, compose and write; and when I do them I don't get paid anything.

I am talking about writing for the general reader and for 500 words, I don't get less than KSh5,000 per article...[not the 500 you are thinking about]...

Ohhh, sorry for my math. Sh.5000 per article. Please share with us where you get that. I wouldn't mind getting Sh. 5000 in 20 minutes.

Thanks
#32 Posted : Friday, October 21, 2011 1:34:47 PM

akowally wrote:
mukiha wrote:
@akowally;

Ohhh, sorry for my math. Sh.5000 per article. Please share with us where you get that. I wouldn't mind getting Sh. 5000 in 20 minutes.

Thanks

In the national press
akowally
#33 Posted : Friday, October 21, 2011 1:44:01 PM

mukiha wrote:
akowally wrote:
mukiha wrote:
@akowally;

Thanks

In the national press

That was going to be my next venture. Anyway on the income part. Let's say my team and I do 100 articles a day, maybe you can calculate those 50 bobs...Anyway, how many articles can you do in a month for the national press. Is the income at the end going to beat the one for article writing?
Mr.Wambui
#34 Posted : Friday, October 21, 2011 4:22:17 PM

I'd rather stick to MYAMS pap!
All you can do is all you can do; but all you can do is enough!
mchuuzi
#35 Posted : Sunday, October 23, 2011 2:42:38 PM

mukiha wrote:
May be I am too slow....

It takes me an average of 5hrs to research, compose, write and self-edit a 500-word article. And after that i feel so mentally drained that I cannot do anything else for the rest of the day.

How much do I get paid for it? Well without revealing too much, let's just say it is more than 100-times of what is being offered here...

Yes Mukiha I agree you are slow however it takes more time to write a newspaper article am hoping you do a better job than the cut and paste jobs done by the buisness daily from the net.Your kind of writing is what is taught at the university for journalism classes when i graduated one requirement was a typing speed of 50 words a minute.The net has made things much easier you do your research in about 30 minutes - 1hour and you have material for several artclies even the newspapaer ones.
Now the kind of articles which are being discussed are not the kind that should take more than 20 minutes to research and write its what you get from sites like elance and the rest.
For academic articles 24 working hours is what you need to write a basic paper.
#36 Posted : Sunday, October 23, 2011 3:55:38 PM

aemathenge at yahoo dot com

So. I have written the article as ordered. What is the procedure for payment?

Mpesa?

How do I determine that the article I submitted is worth paying for or not?
#37 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 8:26:39 AM

Just for clarification, exactly what is the meaning of "Academic Paper" in this thread?

In my understanding, and academic paper is the kind you would present to a refereed academic journal [say, The East African Medical Journal], or to a conference of practitioners in a particular profession [say, the Institution of Surveyors of Kenya] etc.

Surely, there is now way you are going to do your research, analyse the findings, compose and write the paper all within 24 hours.

Or are am I missing something?
#38 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 8:28:53 AM

...and by the way; such Academic Papers are NOT paid for.
#39 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 9:08:30 AM

Yaani, kitu kama hii:

INFORMED CONSENT FOR CLINICAL TRIALS: A REVIEW
V.M. LEMA, M. Mbondo, E.M. KAMAU

Abstract

Objective: To identify and highlight challenges related to informed consent processfor clinical trials in sub-Saharan Africa.

Data sources
: Published original research findings and reviews in the English literature,together with anecdotal information from our current professional experiences withclinical trials.

Design: Review of peer-reviewed articles.

Data extraction
: Online searches were done and requests for reprints from correspondingauthors and institutional subscription.

Data synthesis
: Information categorised accordingly.

Results: Informed consent for clinical trials conducted in sub-Saharan Africa (SSA) isnot always “truly informed” or “truly voluntary”. Guidelines for obtaining informedconsent are often difficult to implement because of low literacy levels, socio-economicand cultural factors. The local ethics committees, whose role is critical in informedconsent, are weak, ill-equipped or non-existent in some countries. Many participantsmay have incomplete understanding of the various aspects of the clinical trials due tolanguage barriers, the way information is disclosed or terms used for informed consentdocuments. In some settings, clinical trials are the only access to health care servicesfor the local population. Further, participants may enroll with perceived notion ofcure of their conditions, for monetary or material benefits.

Conclusions: There is need for national guidelines on clinical research including ethicsreview, compensation of subjects, requirements for research investigators, facilitiesand ethics committees as well as budgetary allocation. These guidelines must not onlyaddress specific and unique local circumstances but also meet minimum internationalclinical research standards. Local bioethics and research capacity should be developedand strengthened with research sponsors contributing towards this. Local research isneeded on the validity and reliability of informed consent for clinical trials and factorsinfluencing that in different socio-cultural settings in SSA.
#40 Posted : Monday, October 24, 2011 11:36:18 AM

I have had a discussion on this with @Akowally via email and he has suggested that I share....

Akowally: Please answer the last question on income at the end of the month from writing on the post.

Mukiha: Freelance reporters get about 5bob per word used. Columnists get more, a lot more... 5k to 10k for 500-word columns and 10k to 20k for 1,000-words.

If you can get a 500-word weekly column, you can expect to get AT LEAST 20k per month... if you are very good, i.e., your articles can increase the paper’s circulation, then you can get more...40k, 50k per month from a 500-word weekly column.

Akowally: Thanks a lot for the info. You can also share it on the wazua post just so that guys can get more variety. I earn a couple times what you are talking about here sometimes and sometimes exactly that amount. I still do not mind getting some extra income. Where does someone start? Please give me more tips on how I can start and how I can grow to the guy getting 50k per month from a 500 word weekly column. In short kindly help me with ideas on the whole application process.

Mukiha: This is a good starting point: http://www.writersbureau.com/

More Specifically: http://www.writersbureau...s/freelance-journalism/

It is not a normal college that simply churns out graduates. Here you only get your certificate if you show proof that you have earned all your fees by selling the articles that you will have written during the course.

Perhaps all colleges should operate that way...

Akowally: Thanks for the info. I'll check it out. I'm concerned more on how to write for the papers esp. the 50k bit. Currently as explained on wazua I already earn over 50k through article writing. On good months it borders to 100k. Therefore what next after the certificate?

Mukiha: Nothing comes after the certificate! You just continue writing for your own income... Actually, most of the students that I know haven’t bothered with the certificate!

Freelance writing is not about what certificates you hold – it is about how well you write.