Market
Technical
When did Safcom launch video calls ?
Hi Wazuans,
I received my first video call from mama watoto this morning.The whole experience was surreal and too futuristic.
Now you can't say you are in a meeting coz she can see you and your surroundings.
But it can only work on high end 3G enabled phones.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Its been there for Postpaid for a while, some technical issue with complete subscriber launch, so it was launched chini ya maji ...but to hide from Mama when with the mboys and sipping Tusker, force your handset to only lock to 2G (I know Nokia can do this),..the video call attempt will not connect
Examples of 3G Nokia phones please, starting with the cheap. The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
6220, 6120i, E72, E75, N8 .... Generally, ukiona iko na front facing camera ..can make and receive video calls if the network supports the feature
quicksand wrote:6220, 6120i, E72, E75, N8 .... Generally, ukiona iko na front facing camera ..can make and receive video calls if the network supports the feature China's N95. Can this do? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Thanks @quicksand for the tip on locking to 2G.
@Impunity, I doubt any Chinese phone can support this.
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
FRM2011 wrote:Thanks @quicksand for the tip on locking to 2G.
@Impunity, I doubt any Chinese phone can support this. Hiyo siri ya kulock to 2g itajulikana haraka! Kwani you think ladies don't understand tech? GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:FRM2011 wrote:Thanks @quicksand for the tip on locking to 2G.
@Impunity, I doubt any Chinese phone can support this. Hiyo siri ya kulock to 2g itajulikana haraka! Kwani you think ladies don't understand tech? You can also call Customer Care and ask them to disable it on your line. So if she accuses you of trick one, you can show her the phone, on full 3G but no video connects and shrug 'Me I don't know whats wrong' ....if she still wants to chase you down the rabbit hole with the calling customer care thing then you have deeper trust issues Alternatively, throw away the high tech phone.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 9/14/2011 Posts: 23 Location: Kenya
FRM2011 wrote:Hi Wazuans,
I received my first video call from mama watoto this morning.The whole experience was surreal and too futuristic.
Now you can't say you are in a meeting coz she can see you and your surroundings.
But it can only work on high end 3G enabled phones. mapya haya God can be realized through all paths. All religions are true. The important thing is to reach the roof. You can reach it by stone stairs or by wooden stairs or by bamboo steps or by a rope. You can also climb up by a bamboo pole.
@quicksand. Thanks for all the info. I searched for 6220 for more than a yr in vain. I went for 6303(now archaic) 2yrs ago. Seriously shopping for 3G phone of reasonable price. The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/3/2010 Posts: 1,141 Location: Londokwe
does this work on 3g ideot phone 2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
FRM2011 wrote:But it can only work on high end 3G enabled phones. Does Nokia 2730 classic support this? It is 3G enabled. Ama si high end? "..one is only poor only if they choose to be.."-Dolly Partron
Mblue wrote:FRM2011 wrote:But it can only work on high end 3G enabled phones. Does Nokia 2730 classic support this? It is 3G enabled. Ama si high end? Haina camera ya mbele! The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Market
Technical
When did Safcom launch video calls ?