wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

When did Safcom launch video calls ?
#1 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 10:55:36 AM

Hi Wazuans,

I received my first video call from mama watoto this morning.The whole experience was surreal and too futuristic.

Now you can't say you are in a meeting coz she can see you and your surroundings.

But it can only work on high end 3G enabled phones.
#2 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 12:34:49 PM

Its been there for Postpaid for a while, some technical issue with complete subscriber launch, so it was launched chini ya maji ...but to hide from Mama when with the mboys and sipping Tusker, force your handset to only lock to 2G (I know Nokia can do this),..the video call attempt will not connect smile
jerry
#3 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 3:53:03 PM

Examples of 3G Nokia phones please, starting with the cheap.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#4 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 4:09:38 PM

6220, 6120i, E72, E75, N8 ....
Generally, ukiona iko na front facing camera ..can make and receive video calls if the network supports the feature
#5 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 4:40:20 PM

quicksand wrote:
6220, 6120i, E72, E75, N8 ....
Generally, ukiona iko na front facing camera ..can make and receive video calls if the network supports the feature

China's N95.

Can this do?

#6 Posted : Friday, October 14, 2011 6:26:10 PM

Thanks @quicksand for the tip on locking to 2G.

@Impunity, I doubt any Chinese phone can support this.
#7 Posted : Saturday, October 15, 2011 11:51:10 AM

Hiyo siri ya kulock to 2g itajulikana haraka! Kwani you think ladies don't understand tech?
#8 Posted : Saturday, October 15, 2011 12:46:06 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Hiyo siri ya kulock to 2g itajulikana haraka! Kwani you think ladies don't understand tech?

You can also call Customer Care and ask them to disable it on your line. So if she accuses you of trick one, you can show her the phone, on full 3G but no video connects and shrug 'Me I don't know whats wrong' ....if she still wants to chase you down the rabbit hole with the calling customer care thing then you have deeper trust issues smile

Alternatively, throw away the high tech phone.
jesski
#9 Posted : Sunday, October 16, 2011 8:36:48 AM

Hi Wazuans,

I received my first video call from mama watoto this morning.The whole experience was surreal and too futuristic.

Now you can't say you are in a meeting coz she can see you and your surroundings.

mapya haya

God can be realized through all paths. All religions are true. The important thing is to reach the roof. You can reach it by stone stairs or by wooden stairs or by bamboo steps or by a rope. You can also climb up by a bamboo pole.
jerry
#10 Posted : Sunday, October 16, 2011 12:51:04 PM

@quicksand. Thanks for all the info. I searched for 6220 for more than a yr in vain. I went for 6303(now archaic) 2yrs ago. Seriously shopping for 3G phone of reasonable price.
#11 Posted : Sunday, October 16, 2011 2:10:10 PM

does this work on 3g ideot phone
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Mblue
#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 9:38:49 PM

Does Nokia 2730 classic support this? It is 3G enabled. Ama si high end?smile
"..one is only poor only if they choose to be.."-Dolly Partron
jerry
#13 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 10:33:14 PM

Mblue wrote:

Does Nokia 2730 classic support this? It is 3G enabled. Ama si high end?smile

Haina camera ya mbele!