A vicious cycle

1.Cost of lending up
2.Inflation up
3.Businesses may close -reduced tax revenue
4.Unemployment up
5.industrial strikes to for wage increases
6.Shilling to lose further

Impact on other variables

The traditional effects on an increase of interest rates are, among others, the following:
1. a fall in stock exchange and in the value of other assets (as houses);
2. a fall in profitability of firms;
3. a fall in private investment;
4. a fall in consumption credit;
5. an inflow of foreign capital for buying bonds;
6. an upward pressure on exchange rate;
7. a larger public expenditure to pay for a previously cumulated public debt, whose burden might lead to reduction in other chapters in public expenditure;
8. a narrower disposable income for households having a large debt taken at variable rates;
9. a larger disposable income for households that have lent to others at variable rates (e.g. they own government bonds with variable rates);
10. a redistribution of income from debtors to lenders (in the part of debt that has variable rates).

http://www.economicswebi...g/glossary/interest.htm

2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
kizee1
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 3:51:37 PM

well done user, we are in deep trouble as an economy
mkonomtupu
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:03:33 PM

I can only see recession and loan defaults...guess December is a good time to lay off some workers
Mainat
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:03:50 PM

Decrease crowding out effect. Banks were starting to get lazy on govt paper earnings. Perhaps they might start lending some more.
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:08:20 PM

Mainat wrote:
Decrease crowding out effect. Banks were starting to get lazy on govt paper earnings. Perhaps they might start lending some more.

Infact the vice versa is likely .They will put more into the risk free government bonds as the government will be paying more interest.
How will banks lend more yet defaults are likely ?
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
kizee1
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:12:52 PM

'user' wrote:
Mainat wrote:

Infact the vice versa is likely .They will put more into the risk free government bonds as the government will be paying more interest.
How will banks lend more yet defaults are likely ?

next year is an election year so im sure the alchemists are hard at work
#8 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:18:18 PM

@user, I agree with your first set of 1-6.

Bank lending rates will up, resulting in default rates upping, cost of business will rise as firms pass on the extra finanxcing ost to consumers, reduced profitability - affecting profitability and overall tax collection. Redundancies thus likely. And at the far end of the spectrum, socio-political unrest as people cant afford food.
Iko shida kubwa sana kweney siku za usoni.

Is this the price we have to pay to shore up the shilling vis-a-vis the greenback?
Mainat
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:18:41 PM

Maybe so, maybe not. In theory, by raising CBR so that its close to what GoK is paying on govt paper,it makes govt paper less attractive vs avis lending to common mwananchi. But I get your pt about more defaults...
Sehemu ndio nyumba
kizee1
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:30:50 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
@user, I agree with your first set of 1-6.

Bank lending rates will up, resulting in default rates upping, cost of business will rise as firms pass on the extra finanxcing ost to consumers, reduced profitability - affecting profitability and overall tax collection. Redundancies thus likely. And at the far end of the spectrum, socio-political unrest as people cant afford food.
Iko shida kubwa sana kweney siku za usoni.

Is this the price we have to pay to shore up the shilling vis-a-vis the greenback?

guess so, the economy will crush and demand for imports will drop, alternatively...rates may rise high enough to attract some portfolio flows, then again Uganda is at 25% on onite
12 Pages123>»