wazua Tue, Dec 3, 2024

4 Pages«<234
Introduction to Zimbabwe and the Zimbabwe Stock Exchange.
Cde Monomotapa
#61 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 6:19:36 AM

[quote=Nabwire]Wanakuja
http://www.businessdaily...8/-/9t2kqv/-/index.html[/quote]
Aliye na macho?
Cde Monomotapa
#62 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 7:20:30 AM

@msaliti it is easy to see where the Zambians are coming from with their tax proposal. See, a Western and consequently Eastern economic slowdown means a crash in Copper prices (like during the GFC in 08). Copper accounts for 80% forex income so we can appreciate the urgency & concern smile Thankfully Zim has just come out of a decade of recession so every (any) dollar counts. I am happy if Zim returns to full mining capacity from the bottom of the resources & precious metals mkts coz that way we'll ride the global economic recovery thus, increased prices y-o-y for an extended period of time smile #sustainble.devt#
Nabwire
#63 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 8:55:18 PM

I urge U strongly to take a keen interest in what makes the market (economic fundamentals) and less of the mkt itself OTW utaungua and U won't know why & how. I am monitoring at ur CPI, PPI, GDP, Non-farm, jobless claims, new & continuing, slow private investment (hence the avalanche in SSA and limited job growth in US) and I think there is major downside along the road. Ur politicians are just dicking around about implementing fiscal responsiblty, but I undrstand it will wait till after elections, then the pain ought to start. So i'll wait. Gosh! Even Bernanke admitted that US unemployment is a "national crisis" #OCCUPYWALLSTREET[/quote]

CPI figures are out every month, so unasema utaziangalia for the next 6 years Sad ? By the way the mayweather stocks are not really dependent on these figures. Walmart, McDonald's, Coke usually weather the storm unless an industry specific calamity hits them, so figures like CPI dont really matter unless you are a hedge fund manager handling billions and the slightest change affects your portofolio adversely. On jobless claims, they are not really an accurate figure because the gava does not count people who have given up hope and stopped looking for a job. On slow private investment, the truth is Americans will never give up on their country, they might hold onto cash until the volatility subsides, but they will always give priority to investing in their country. About the politicians and the budget, truth is the US will not default on its debt, those were just political games, it is afterall election season. Republicans want Obama to fail by any means, thus they play these games then at the last minute, they vote to extend afterall, this gives them political muscle. Though the US has defaulted in the past, and under Reagan the debt ceiling was raised numerous times. In summary, its all smoke and mirrors smile
Cde Monomotapa
#64 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 9:35:42 PM

That's because they also make money elsewhere especially emerging markets Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly infact add google, MS, apple to the list of MNCs. C'mon. Be objective.
Nabwire
#65 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 9:37:42 PM

Sawa you've been warned, utashangaa. Monday the earnings report start streaming in, October should be red!!
Nabwire
#66 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 9:39:42 PM

So how am I not being objective? Im just telling you that the market here does not work like the one there.
Cde Monomotapa
#67 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 9:44:19 PM

Nabwire wrote:
Sawa you've been warned, utashangaa. Monday the earnings report start streaming in, October should be red!!

Good. Look at the MNCs who do segment reporting and see what story their Western mkts tell.
Cde Monomotapa
#68 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 9:49:54 PM

Nabwire wrote:
So how am I not being objective? I'm just telling you that the market here does not work like the one there.

If your mkts were driven by your objectivity then the Dow would be rising instead of falling and oil at over $200 inspite the over-educated but jobless, foreclosed & over-leveraged protestors camped outside Wallstreet for 3 weeks and just yesterday spread to Frisco & surrounded BofA.
Nabwire
#69 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 9:53:25 PM

Be real, those companies have been in the US for decades minting profit, they just recently expanded into Emerging markets, and yes with the West economy cooling off, the emerging markets have held them up. So are you saying without emerging markets, those companies may become obsolete? The problem is people are unfairly comapring the US during its tough times to emerging markets during their boom times, apples and oranges. And I thought we were talking about SSA which is a frontier not emerging market, wacha mzaha.
Cde Monomotapa
#70 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 9:55:33 PM

Nabwire wrote:
Be real, those companies have been in the US for decades minting profit, they just recently expanded into Emerging markets, and yes with the West economy cooling off, the emerging markets have held them up. So are you saying without emerging markets, those companies may become obsolete? The problem is people are unfairly comapring the US during its tough times to emerging markets during their boom times, apples and oranges. And I thought we were talking about SSA which is a frontier not emerging market, wacha mzaha.

Good. You've finally got it.
Nabwire
#71 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 9:55:42 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Nabwire wrote:
So how am I not being objective? I'm just telling you that the market here does not work like the one there.

If your mkts were driven by your objectivity then the Dow would be rising instead of falling and oil at over $200 inspite the over-educated but jobless, foreclosed & over-leveraged protestors camped outside Wallstreet for 3 weeks and just yesterday spread to Frisco & surrounded BofA.

Sielewi, please tell me what my objectivity is ? Coz it seems like words have been put in my mouth. I have always said that the markets are going to continue falling then will turn around when election season heats up
Nabwire
#72 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 9:57:17 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Nabwire wrote:

Now you are just playing games, what have I finally got? Thats the same point I made above
Cde Monomotapa
#73 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 10:03:45 PM

Nabwire wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Nabwire wrote:

Now you are just playing games, what have I finally got? Thats the same point I made above

U've explained to urself about economic cycles & earnings determing mkt valuations w/o me having to drag this any further. smile let's move on now.
Nabwire
#74 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 10:12:19 PM

U've explained to urself about economic cycles & earnings determing mkt valuations w/o me having to drag this any further. smile let's move on now.[/quote]

Silenced Sawa if you say so
Cde Monomotapa
#75 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 10:19:07 PM

Nabwire wrote:
U've explained to urself about economic cycles & earnings determing mkt valuations w/o me having to drag this any further. smile let's move on now.

Silenced Sawa if you say so[/quote]
smile i'm grown enough to know attempting to win a debate with a lady can be futile. Infact, i'll even apologize, "i'm sorry" haiya! Kazi Iendelee!
Nabwire
#76 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 10:29:14 PM

Accepted coz unajua hiyo debate ni mimi nimeshinda.
On a side note, people in Finance are being finished, you guys dont see us crossing over and attempting to write bylaws or form defense teams. Bana we pay alot to go to school, but the internet has made that irrelevant.
msaliti7
#77 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 11:03:21 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Nabwire wrote:

Silenced Sawa if you say so

smile i'm grown enough to know attempting to win a debate with a lady can be futile. Infact, i'll even apologize, "i'm sorry" haiya! Kazi Iendelee![/quote]

msaliti7
#78 Posted : Saturday, October 01, 2011 12:57:02 AM

Nabwire wrote:
On a side note, people in Finance are being finished, you guys dont see us crossing over and attempting to write bylaws or form defense teams. Bana we pay alot to go to school, but the internet has made that irrelevant.

http://www.economist.com...te/bl/promisingtheworld

that confirms your fearssmile as they say,an investment in knowledge pays the best returnApplause sad thing is that Bill Gates has made it possible for people to get Ivy league training on the internet for freeSad dont give up thoughsmile
Nabwire
#79 Posted : Saturday, October 01, 2011 11:46:00 PM

msaliti7 wrote:
Nabwire wrote:

http://www.economist.com...te/bl/promisingtheworld

that confirms your fearssmile as they say,an investment in knowledge pays the best returnApplause sad thing is that Bill Gates has made it possible for people to get Ivy league training on the internet for freeSad dont give up thoughsmile

Interesting, but there are certain things one wouldnt be able to learn on the internet, the bread and butter is still best taught in classrooms.