wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

34 Pages«<45678>»
Champions League - 2011/2012
#101 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 10:43:40 PM

@magigi, these chaps were two goals up and lost a chance of tripling the lead. Now they gonaa draw at home like manu. Oh God i miss liverpool on this platformm, i cant wait for next season.
#102 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 11:03:46 PM

@magigi, manchester city have acted quickly and suspended carlos tervez untill further notice.
#103 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 12:40:56 AM

Sober wrote:
@magigi, manchester city have acted quickly and suspended carlos tervez untill further notice.

@Sober
...The law is an arse. Mancini acted too quickly. by saying that he is finished with Tevez, he has breached the contract. Atake asipotake Tevez will play until when he is let to go...
#104 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 8:28:42 AM

@Sober, you say you can't wait for next season CL with so much certainty as if it is a given...Spurs are starting to come up strongly and you can never count arses out so Top 4 will not be that easy - I'm sure you know the Top 3 spots are reserved.

Anyway, watched the Valencia Chelsea game and just like I told the doubting Kingfisher, his team could have been 3 nil up by the half had Torres and Ramirez taken their chances, without discounting Diego Alves'prowess at goal. Chelsea dominated the first 20 and last 20 minutes and Valencia were awarded a dubious penalty for a handball I've seen go unpunished many times in the EPL. @Kingfisher, have more faith in your team - Valencia is no Barca.

Watched the full highlights of the Arsenal Olympiakos game and @Taz you have to admit you were not very convincing, especially at the back. The Greeks could have scored at least 3 goals in the first half (but they didn't - which is of course what matters) and Arsenal also had chances to increase their lead. You can be sure Adebayor and co. will not be so generous on Sunday.

Barca Barca Barca! Broke the scoring in consecutive CL matches record and Messi the alien from planet football became Barca's 2nd highest top scorer of all time! With 194 goals! I'm sure he'll make it 200 by next weekend. Only a world cup remains to put him at the hightable of footballing gods.

Ibra continues to show his great talent when he controlled a long ball with the skill of master and laid it off for the 2nd Milan goal - exquisite.

As for Tevez, highly doubful he'll continue playing for Man City - if it is proven he refused to play then he's in breach of contract @ Magigi - Mancini saying "he's finished" with Tevez is not breach of the same. Tune in to the next episode of Tordo el Tevez!
#105 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 9:25:23 AM

http://soccernet.espn.go...s-tevez-dispute?cc=3888

He's been suspended for 2 weeks as investigations and discussions continue. Thank God he left Man Utd!!!
#106 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 9:49:24 AM

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/id/962988/pfa%27s-gordon-taylor-urges-man-city-to-resolve-carlos-tevez-dispute?cc=3888

He's been suspended for 2 weeks as investigations and discussions continue. Thank God he left Man Utd!!!

A real pain the a@# in the dressing room!!
#107 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 11:37:34 AM

@ Smano...we had Song at centre back so i expected the defense to struggle. The good thing is that we rested players but still managed to bag all three points. Koscielny,Gibbs Gervinho, Walcott and Rvp will all be available for the Spurs match....its always a very entertaining match with alot of goals. I expect the same on Sunday. Our new boys are starting to settle down, soon we'll be back to top form. In other news, Wenger has cleared his CL touchline ban.
Burning Spear
#108 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 12:35:16 PM

Burning Spear wrote:
Todays prediction is ;

1st trial =Arsenal 1-0 Olympiacos
2nd trial =Arsenal 2-1 Olympiacos

my predictions right !
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#109 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 12:40:57 PM

Burning Spear wrote:
Todays prediction is ;

1st trial =Arsenal 1-0 Olympiacos
2nd trial =Arsenal 2-1 Olympiacos

my predictions right !

BS, wewe wachanga mambo kufail safe, make one prediction for every game!!!
Toxicity
#110 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 12:46:12 PM

"That’s three wins in a row now and while there’s certainly work still to do there’s no doubt we’re moving in something approaching the right direction. As many pointed out last night Sky’s coverage focused entirely on how shaky we were at the back while little was said about United shipping a 2 goal lead to go 3-2 down against the might Basel the night before. I guess there’s a certain cushion that being top of the league and reigning champions gives you, but still. We battled for it and we won it. That’s all that matters" arseblog

update president set president = speaker where president is null
#111 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 8:12:46 AM

Yesterday's was a hard fought win in Romani, I don't know if it's Man Utd who were out of sorts or it was a resilient Otelul but nevertheless, 3 points from 2 clear cut penalties. The red on Vidic was harsh though.Our game with Benfica at OT might decide who will win the group if neither of us drop points in the remaining matches.

Aguerro sneaked in a goal in the last 10 seconds to send Mancini jumping up and down like a small girl - they really needed those points and now have a chance of sneaking in 2nd but still lots of work to do.

It's hard to imagine that Lyon had been the bogie team for Real in previous CL season after the way they were dispatched off last night.

Today Arsenal have got a tough fixture away to Marseille - should be the highlight of the night
#112 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 8:20:39 AM

That match in Romania kept me on the edge, smano.....your comments on Smalling last night???
Asenane Vs Marseille will be an interesting one given the asenane recent form and and the french connection, Chelsea and barca have on paper easy home games!!!
#113 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 9:55:49 AM

That was an extremely drab performance by Man United. How does a game against a team like Otelul Galati [For some facts on the team, see my next post] get drawn out like that?? I was disappointed but as @smano says, 3 points is 3 points. I'm sure Dr. SAF had a long talk with the lads.

The red card on Vidic was extremely harsh especially considering that a potentially leg breaking foul on Nani went unpunished a few minutes earlier! Not even a yellow card!!! In the Vidic tackle, there was absolutely no malice. Both players were going for the ball. I hope it is appealed. The yellow card on Carrick was also very harsh.
#114 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 10:03:16 AM

A few facts on Otelul Galati

The average salary of players at the team is £44,000/= - per YEAR!!! Chicharito makes £75,000/= and Rooney approximately £250,000 - per WEEK!!!

Galati's most expensive player - their record signing of all time - is their centre back Milan Perendija. He cost the team a 'whooping' £85,000. Rooney's weekly salary can buy 3 such players.

This is one team Arsene Wenger would love to manage!!!
#115 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 10:05:20 AM

I hear ManU-re won by penalties!! were they deserved ama ref alipata mpesa?
#116 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 10:06:12 AM

....your comments on Smalling last night???

The future is here!!!
#117 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 10:12:16 AM

I hear ManU-re won by penalties!! were they deserved ama ref alipata mpesa?

Very deserved. The first should actually have resulted in a red card. Last man, clear goal scoring opportunity, deliberate hand ball. In the second, the defender couldn't handle Rooney. After being given a brief dancing lesson, he decide to clip the striker.

But haters will always be haters. They will always think and/or say whatever they want.
#118 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 10:17:54 AM

Real madrid is on fire and that combination of CR and Marcelo is just too deadly
#119 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 11:43:26 AM

Smalling and Jones are natural centre backs @Mcreggae - they're natural replacements for Rio and Vidic. Smalling's performance was very solid and mature for his age, actually he was the one cleaning up anfew of Vidic's blunders.

I'm very concerned about our midfield, or lack of it. We have no attaking flair without Cleverley since Anderson blows hot and cold and Carrick and Fletcher are decidedly defensive - we still need an attacking midfielder.

I don't know why Fergie cannot play Rooney in that role in some games, he clearly plays better in the hole since he can score from outside the box or provide to the wings and open up play!Wellbeck and Chicharito can be paired up and Berbatov be brought in when Wellbeck tires and then Rooney plays slightly behind them.

I remember when Wenger moved Thierry from the wing to being a central striker....many, including Henry, thought he was nuts! Turns out that Henry could play that position perfectly. I think it's time Rooney was explored as an attacking midfielder, he has the vision, industry and skill required for the role. Otherwise am quite worried about a Nasri-Silva-Yaya midfield paired up against an Anderson-Fletcher mid...we're at OT and I would prefer some good football as we hopefully prove that there's still only one team in Manchester but right now am not so sure judging by the last few games.

Flop of the match = Valencia
#120 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2011 4:55:33 PM

As I mentioned in the EPL thread earlier, Man United are breaking so many records that many of them go unnoticed.

Rooney broke one yesterday. By scoring his 25th and 26th Champions league goals, he became the highest scoring Englishman in the Champions League history.

The previous record of 24 goals was a tie between him and..... .... .... you guessed it. Must be another Man United player. Paul Scholes!!!