wazua Tue, Dec 3, 2024

Mindspeak on 24th September with Bob Collymore
#1 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 10:18:03 AM

I attended Mindspeak on Saturday 24th September where the guest Speaker was Bob Collymore.

I had never attended one of these despite having received several invitations, and I must say I was very impressed. All along I had the impression that it was a small club ( 15 people max), but the ball room at Intercont was FULL!! I was especially impressed by the high number of young people, a good portion of them ladies, which made me note the sessions as my next hunting ground for mipango…..

I was struck by the liberal use of technology. There was Bob on his ipad, Satchu was working his apple, the audience was busy away with their phones sending tweets that were being displayed on the screens – impressive. I was particularly impressed by the presenter from Shimba Technologies who showed us the real time price updates app of the stocks exchange from his nokia. This free app is available on ovi store and I have since unearthed my nokia (am an idiot convertee) and downloaded it, now waiting for the markets to open. Shimba if you are reading this please put the app on android. Even Jeff Koinange called in from wherever he was and the conversation was put over the public address system.

Bob spoke about many things, his life, Safaricom 2.0, the share price.

On his life, he let it out that he never went to college.

On Safaricom 2.0 he took us through what they are doing, new modes of communicating, possible increase of calling prices, falling prices of data and his worst nightmare, cable cuts. The classic line I took from the presentation is that broadband is a BASIC HUMAN RIGHT, and scom will work towards availing this MDG to Kenyans.

On the share price, he asked the audience not to look at the share price, but the share value. On this he mentioned Kenyans4Kenya, the work he is doing in Kibera with a retired nurse, the work they are doing with breast cancer, their contributions to the dairy industry and stuff they are doing for the disabled (after a very moving speech by a young stuttering man) which all enhance the share value, not necessarily the share price. He also mentioned that this value has been noticed as far as the UN where he had just come from the previous two days. I was particularly pleased when I noticed that ALL his staff who accompanied him were ladies – talk of taking the gender balance thing to a whole new level (the same can’t be said for that hotel chain in which I have considerable shareholding)

BTW, Edith Kimani is a petite as he looks on airsmile
ProverB
#2 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 10:26:47 AM

it was good..but felt like Bob was doing more of a P.R job of putting blame else where rather than why you should hold on to the share or buy if you don't have it.
I thought Aly Khan's plan for mindspeak was a forum better than the hogwash companies serve out in AGM's.
All in all...good coffee, awesom conversation and hook ups..left with a feeling Kenya is not as seek as media portrays it. smile
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
the deal
#3 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 10:33:42 AM

MindSpeak started well but it has now lost plot.
ProverB
#4 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 11:09:42 AM

the deal wrote:
MindSpeak started well but it has now lost plot.

if only wazua had an option of "LIKE" after a post! smile
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
QW25081985
#5 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 11:20:22 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
I attended Mindspeak on Saturday 24th September where the guest Speaker was Bob Collymore.

I had never attended one of these despite having received several invitations, and I must say I was very impressed. All along I had the impression that it was a small club ( 15 people max), but the ball room at Intercont was FULL!! I was especially impressed by the high number of young people, a good portion of them ladies, which made me note the sessions as my next hunting ground for mipango…..

I was struck by the liberal use of technology. There was Bob on his ipad, Satchu was working his apple, the audience was busy away with their phones sending tweets that were being displayed on the screens – impressive. I was particularly impressed by the presenter from Shimba Technologies who showed us the real time price updates app of the stocks exchange from his nokia. This free app is available on ovi store and I have since unearthed my nokia (am an idiot convertee) and downloaded it, now waiting for the markets to open. Shimba if you are reading this please put the app on android. Even Jeff Koinange called in from wherever he was and the conversation was put over the public address system.

Bob spoke about many things, his life, Safaricom 2.0, the share price.

On his life, he let it out that he never went to college.

On Safaricom 2.0 he took us through what they are doing, new modes of communicating, possible increase of calling prices, falling prices of data and his worst nightmare, cable cuts. The classic line I took from the presentation is that broadband is a BASIC HUMAN RIGHT, and scom will work towards availing this MDG to Kenyans.

On the share price, he asked the audience not to look at the share price, but the share value. On this he mentioned Kenyans4Kenya, the work he is doing in Kibera with a retired nurse, the work they are doing with breast cancer, their contributions to the dairy industry and stuff they are doing for the disabled (after a very moving speech by a young stuttering man) which all enhance the share value, not necessarily the share price. He also mentioned that this value has been noticed as far as the UN where he had just come from the previous two days. I was particularly pleased when I noticed that ALL his staff who accompanied him were ladies – talk of taking the gender balance thing to a whole new level (the same can’t be said for that hotel chain in which I have considerable shareholding)

cannt wait for cheap data ...
#6 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 11:31:22 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
I attended Mindspeak

a good portion of them ladies, which made me note the sessions as my next hunting ground for mipango…..

staff who accompanied him were ladies – talk of taking the gender balance thing to a whole new level (the same can’t be said for that hotel chain in which I have considerable shareholding)

Are you sure that you didnt miss alot that was being discussed there

2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
emmndi
#7 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 12:28:31 PM

#8 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 1:40:27 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

She... She is all she... Laughing out loudly Drool Drool Drool
#9 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 1:55:23 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

She... She is all she... Laughing out loudly Drool Drool Drool

Wow, and I always thought 'tongue-tied' was just an English cliche!!!
#10 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 2:13:45 PM

Hmmmn elder @Gordon Gekko, OH YE OF GREED IS GOOD...your observations disappoint, but @proverB @the deal @emmndi on track.
I have said before that Michael Joseph's Safaricom was an army, but Bob Collymore's a social movement.

- How has charity increased EPS or y-o-y growth?
- How does a softness for women create high performing teams?
- Before the speeches at UN have Safaricom mitigated forex losses?

I say results results results, and the fluffy stuff can follow. It would be wise to glance at Carol Musyoka's article Tame publicity-hungry chief

hisah
#11 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 4:15:03 PM

muganda wrote:
Hmmmn elder @Gordon Gekko, OH YE OF GREED IS GOOD...your observations disappoint, but @proverB @the deal @emmndi on track.
I have said before that Michael Joseph's Safaricom was an army, but Bob Collymore's a social movement.

- How has charity increased EPS or y-o-y growth?
- How does a softness for women create high performing teams?
- Before the speeches at UN have Safaricom mitigated forex losses?

I say results results results, and the fluffy stuff can follow. It would be wise to glance at Carol Musyoka's article Tame publicity-hungry chief

I agree, publicity CEOs serve nobody unless they work for PR or media firms. Mpesa is my favourite trading counter due to the liquidity volume churn, but long term is a no since the CEO nor the CFO own the firms shares. If the share burns, they won't feel the pinch that shareholders are feeling.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 12:09:56 PM

yep was there too and @gg ac is true...there were so many fake wengs in attendance too-Q&A

Safcom came in as a creative disrupter and killed the cash cow that was fixed lines and hence telkom. It rode on innovation to come up with per second PR that put kencell on its kness. It came up with mpesa that has held us hostage even when yu is virtually free

My worry is that this is the first time the company has decided to up its prices against the common feeling of the users who are reeling from price hikes all over

It also shows a company at the end of its thinking capacity.RAISE PRICES!!! i doubt if the shareholder will benefit

The death of innovativeness at safcom will be its undoing.. this week FB launched m-kodi for landlords..such innovations used to come from the green giant
We dont even have an android api for mpesa, mpesa statements and all the ceo aka'bob'seems to care about is twirrin ...soon he will feature in jimmy gaits video doin furi furi dance(true story)
Ustadh Ongige
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 4:46:34 PM

digitek1 wrote:
...soon he will feature in jimmy gaits video doin furi furi dance(true story)

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause Applause
Look unto me, and be ye saved, all the ends of the earth: for I am God, and there is none else.
Isaiah 45:22