wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Whats the true size of an eighth of an acre?
ali
#1 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 6:13:00 AM

Morning wazuans..got a small question. Whats the true size of an eighth of an acre? I have seen 40x80 being sold as an eighth, 50x100 also called an eighth. Have also seen an acre being subdivided into a whopping 16 times to make 40x80 eighths, 16 of them. I'm left quering what exactly an eighth is, not unless the name has aquired a meaning independent of the measurements associated with it.
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
Mainat
#2 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 8:22:48 AM

A quarter is 100 by 100 and eighth is half of that i.e. 50 by 100
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#3 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 8:39:36 AM

1 acre = 43 560 square feet; Now do the math for yourself. In case you have forgotten, the area of a rectangle is simply the length times the width.

Now take your calc and start punching the numbers...
action!
#4 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 8:58:20 AM

1 Acre is also equal to 4046.8 Square meters. Thus an eigth...
fanya hesabu.
Tommy
#5 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 9:02:53 AM

An eighth is 50*100. however some brokers use the 40*80 to sell commercial land.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
incognito
#6 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 9:35:43 AM

1 acre ..... 200ft*200ft ... 100decimals... 4047sqm
1/2 acre ... 100ft*200ft .. 50decimals.... 2024sqm
1/4 acre ... 100ft*100ft ... 25decimals.... 1011sqm
1/8 acre ... 50ft*100ft ... 12.5decimals... 506sqm
1/16acre ... 50ft*50ft .... 6.25decimals... 253sqm

Ali write this on a card and carry it with you... :)
Excelsior
emmndi
#7 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 12:48:40 PM

SAC Cohen
#8 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 1:08:44 PM

what if the plot is not a rectangle?...
#9 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 3:33:37 PM

SAC Cohen wrote:
what if the plot is not a rectangle?...

Then use you form 2 math.... divide the plot into triangles and rectangles and the do the math...

Halafu mtu mwengina akasema kua hesabu ni useless...
Mainat
#10 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 3:43:49 PM

SAchoen the key thing is that the land measurement quoted on the title deed and confirmed by the surveyor comes to 4047sqm, 2024sqm et al
Sehemu ndio nyumba
ali
#11 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 4:48:14 PM

Good teachers we have here. Then how does an acre make 16 eighths?
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
Ceinz
#12 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 7:22:18 PM

ali wrote:

Those r 16ths.Laughing out loudly
“small step for man”
earthvoice
#13 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 11:37:49 PM

ali wrote:
... Then how does an acre make 16 eighths?

Think + d'oh! = Shame on you
"All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 8:49:35 AM

ali wrote:

1/2 = a half
1/3 = a third
1/4 = a quarter = a half of a half
1/5 = a fifth
1/6 = a sixth
1/7 = a seventh
1/8 = an eighth = a half of a quarter
1/9 = a ninth
1/10 = a tenth
1/15 = a fifteenth
1/16 = a sixteenth = a half of an eighth
Kweli hesabu ni ngumu...

BTW: these are fractions of ANYTHING - not just plots of land!!
GGK
#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 10:35:18 AM

If things worked perfectly, demarcated land should be in rectangle portions whose one side is twice the length of the other.

A 1/4 of acre of should be 10,890 ft² which in theory should be 74' x 148'

An 1/8 of an acre should be 5445 ft² or 52' x 104'

Such figures are difficult for Wanjiku and thus the wide use of 50x100 for a quarter.
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 3:41:36 PM

GGK wrote:
If things worked perfectly, demarcated land should be in rectangle portions whose one side is twice the length of the other.

A 1/4 of acre of should be 10,890 ft² which in theory should be 74' x 148'

An 1/8 of an acre should be 5445 ft² or 52' x 104'

Such figures are difficult for Wanjiku and thus the wide use of 50x100 for a quarter.

Actually, in Kenya all land is surveyed in metric units - metres and hectares. We did away with feet and acres a loooooooooooooooooong time ago. But land brokers have adamantly refused to move on.

I still remember the days when mabatis were measured in feet. They were 6ft, 7ft, 8ft, 9ft and 10ft long. For several years fundis had a rough time re-doing the roof measurements in order to be consistent with the "new" 2m, 2.5m and 3m standards....

Same problems had be witnessed earlier when weights changed from pounds to kilograms...and liquid volumes from pints to litres - to this day there are people who still call the half-litre packet of milk a "pint"...... wewe; wacha tu!