wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

108 Pages«<2122232425>»
EPL 2011-2012
#441 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2011 10:50:37 AM

@ Mwenza...So how does the table look now, while you are at it please also check how many teams have scored more goals than Arsenal. Ati now you know why Stoke are ahead of Arseanl, what a way to console yourself.

Thought you said you will look at the table in dec.
#442 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2011 4:45:23 PM

Well we were humbled but still a draw away to Stoke is not too bad - amazing the difference there is with no Wayne Rooney - hope he'll be back soon.
#443 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2011 5:27:48 PM

mwenza wrote:
@ Mwenza...So how does the table look now, while you are at it please also check how many teams have scored more goals than Arsenal. Ati now you know why Stoke are ahead of Arseanl, what a way to console yourself.

Thought you said you will look at the table in dec.

In terms of goal difference
#444 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2011 5:34:56 PM

mwenza wrote:

I don't know how many teams have scored more goals than asenane but what I do know is that the Mercurial Wayne Mark Rooney at 9 goals has scored as many as what the entire asenane club have scored. How can one striker score as many goals as another club's entire tally?

You do realise that only Man Utd, Chelsea and Man City have scored more goals than Arsenal
#445 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2011 8:23:37 PM

mwenza wrote:

I don't know how many teams have scored more goals than asenane but what I do know is that the Mercurial Wayne Mark Rooney at 9 goals has scored as many as what the entire asenane club have scored. How can one striker score as many goals as another club's entire tally?

You do realise that only Man Utd, Chelsea and Man City have scored more goals than Arsenal

I also realise that, other than Bolton, asenane have the poorest goal difference thus far.
#446 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 7:33:33 AM

I was thoroughly impressed by De Gea yesterday...man of the match. I think once we have our full defence on form we'll be formidable both away and at the fortress that is OT
#447 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 7:46:48 AM

@Taz,how did you rate the performance of your team in the 3 nil win over Bolton?
#448 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 9:28:11 AM

@ Smano....The performance was not typical Arsenal but then again Bolton are a physical side, they don't give you the space/time to pass the ball around. Like i said on Friday, they don't have players who can threaten Arsenal's defense. Mertesacker and Koscielny didn't have much to do. I'm not complaining though, it was a very good result and we improved on the goal difference. At this point i would rather focus on the results than performance....we need the points.

I'm almost certain that Wenger will get a top attacking midfielder in January (probably Hazard) and bring in another Centre back. All we need to do is to make sure all the other top teams are within striking distance before then. Next weekend we play Spurs away, this will be a big match. Last season we got a point there but this time we will need to be at our best to come away with anything.
#449 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 10:32:28 AM

That will be a real test against a resurgent Spurs...I still think you're not out of the woods yet, especially when playing against the top teams. For now the points matter more than the quality of play.

Back to CL football
#450 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 4:58:45 PM

http://www.goal.com/en-g...n-van-persies-exit-next

Maoni tu...
#451 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 5:29:07 PM

http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2896/premier-league/2011/09/27/2684748/arsenal-must-be-prepared-for-robin-van-persies-exit-next

Maoni tu...

RVP's contract talks don't worry me that much we still have a very long way to go. Unlike Nasri, at almost 30 yrs old i doubt he'll be tempted to leave. At that age i don't think there's a team which will be willing to pay 30m plus for his services. His pay at the club was negotiated in 2009 and he took it so clearly his loyal;ty to the club can't be questioned.

I know the media would want everyone to believe that all our top players want to leave but if you look at Cesc's situation it was a matter of when will he leave, i don't think trophies and money would have convinced him otherwise. As for Nasri he's still very young plus the deal was too good for both player and club. Why would Man City, Barca or Real want to sign RVP at 30 when they have so many good CF? Anyway i'm sure by 2013 we'll have a new centre forward ourselves, RVP is getting old he has served us well though.

Yaani the author of the article has already concluded that RVP will not sign a new contract....we have so many top players (including Cahill, Gerrard) heading towards the end of their contracts na bado hawajasema kitu, i like how RVP & Wenger responded to the questions. Arsenal isn't broke like other EPL teams, RVP earns 70k at the moment compared to Cesc's 110k when he left so i don't think the board would have a problem giving the club captain an improved deal.

The only player i want out of Arsenal is Arshavin, i hope the club doesn't renew his contract. One thing that excites me going into the January transfer window is that for once we don't have any player who wants to leave, that should give us time to focus on new signings.
Burning Spear
#452 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 5:48:59 PM

http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2896/premier-league/2011/09/27/2684748/arsenal-must-be-prepared-for-robin-van-persies-exit-next

Maoni tu...

RVP's contract talks don't worry me that much we still have a very long way to go. Unlike Nasri, at almost 30 yrs old i doubt he'll be tempted to leave. At that age i don't think there's a team which will be willing to pay 30m plus for his services. His pay at the club was negotiated in 2009 and he took it so clearly his loyal;ty to the club can't be questioned.

I know the media would want everyone to believe that all our top players want to leave but if you look at Cesc's situation it was a matter of when will he leave, i don't think trophies and money would have convinced him otherwise. As for Nasri he's still very young plus the deal was too good for both player and club. Why would Man City, Barca or Real want to sign RVP at 30 when they have so many good CF? Anyway i'm sure by 2013 we'll have a new centre forward ourselves, RVP is getting old he has served us well.

The only player i want out of Arsenal is Arshavin, i hope the club doesn't renew his contract. One thing that excites me going into the January transfer window is that for once we don't have any player who wants to leave, that should give us time to focus on new signings.

u are right there.
The issue of RvP shouldn't be a bother to Arsenal at the moment.The guy is focused and with the January transfer window beckoning,I believe things will be better.From wenger's reactions especially where he admitted that footbal financial crisis is catching up with European footbal and failure of Emirates to sell all the tickets last Saturday (probably due to unhappy fans)< I believe that Arsenal will make quality signings in january.

Arsenal is bouncing back to top four position and this shouldnt be a question.We may have had a bad start but we are gaining confidence again.

Archavin,Diaby,Almunia are reasons I have nightmares every time we have a game.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#453 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 8:34:14 AM

Everton vs Liverpool - 1:2 (Everton are struggling this season)
Blackburn vs Man City - 0:2 (City are tired after their mid week struggle but Blackburn are chicken shit relegation contenders)
Man Utd vs Norwich - 3:0 (Mid week wake up call - Wellbeck and Chicharito are back)
Bolton vs Chelsea - 1:3 (Drogba will want to make sure Torres doesn't play again while Bolton are useless this season)

Pick of the wkend: Spurs vs Arsenal - 3:2 (Problems at the back for Spurs but should pip their North London nemesis)

#454 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 10:44:36 AM

http://soccernet.espn.go...stolen-doughnut?cc=3888 Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

My Predictions;

Everton Vs L'fools - 2:2
Blackburn Vs Man City - 1:2
Man Utd Vs Norwich - 3:1
Bolton Vs Chelsea - 1:2

Spurs Vs Arsenal - i'll not give my prediction for this match because its always been a tricky affair, they have Adebayor now but then again they lost a really good player in Crouch who used to cause problems for us at the back.
conos
#455 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 2:23:40 PM

d'oh! new arsenal slogand'oh!

"Winning is a habit to others,fortunately,losing is our habit"
ukiona choo kwa ndoto usiingie, ni mtego!
Burning Spear
#456 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 2:43:07 PM

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story/_/id/963828/manchester-united's-david-de-gea-warned-over-stolen-doughnut?cc=3888 Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

My Predictions;

Everton Vs L'fools - 2:2
Blackburn Vs Man City - 1:2
Man Utd Vs Norwich - 3:1
Bolton Vs Chelsea - 1:2

Spurs Vs Arsenal - i'll not give my prediction for this match because its always been a tricky affair, they have Adebayor now but then again they lost a really good player in Crouch who used to cause problems for us at the back.

the only threat in spurs is Bale,Modric and somehow Adebayor.

If you look at the previous games the spurs have played,you realise that immediately you score one goal against them,they move to defense and thats where they get defeated.

Well,at Arsenal,we still have a good squad to cause problems at white lane.Our last game on wednesday was very promising;having to see a defender scoring unlike in the past where we expected the striker to do everything.If a team moves to defense,it looses coz there isnt midfield to supply the ball forward.

Man U used to play the game of everyone forward and won so many matches.Barcelona is a midfield team though u will see Dani alves and co. moving forward to cause problems at the opponent doorstep.

If we play like Wednesday against olympiakos or Borrussia,we may win 2-1.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Toxicity
#457 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 2:53:34 PM

Everton vs Liverpool- 1:1
Blackburn vs mancity-2:1
ManUtd vs norwich- 3:0
Bolton vs Chelsea -0:2
hotspurs vs Arsenal -1:2(though i admit it may go the other way or even end in a high scoring draw)

update president set president = speaker where president is null
#458 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:02:38 PM

My not so always correct gypsy soothsayer friend tells me that the predictions for the matches this weekend will be as follows

Everton v Liverpool 1-3
Manchester United v Norwich City 4-1 Pray
Blackburn Rovers v Manchester City 0-3
Bolton Wanderers v Chelsea 2-1
Tottenham Hotspur v Arsenal 2-2 (Adebayor with 2)

#459 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:37:46 PM

Everton vs Liverpool - 2:2
Blackburn vs Man City - 2:1
Man Utd vs Norwich - 4:1
Bolton vs Chelsea - 1:2
Spurs vs Arsenal - 4:2
Karisblue
#460 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 4:20:34 PM

Everton vs Liverpool - 1:2
Blackburn vs Man City - 1:3
Man Utd vs Norwich - 4:0
Bolton vs Chelsea - 1:3
Spurs vs Arsenal - 3:2