wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Land brokers/middlemen to blame
ali
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 11:51:00 AM

I have noted with serious concern how land brokers/agents/dealers hike/inflate prices left right and ctr. Partly aided by buyers from 'blue collar' enviroment who buy whatever is offered. Take juja farm for example, 2yrs ago, an acre was in the range of 100k. Same place, same size today is an M or there abt. Kitengela 1km frm kitengela town, in 06, quarter was 125k, today, dnt even try. If u go directly to owner, u get a clean, bigger, better and cheaper deal. Bt nairobians kawaida, you buy at whatever you are told. There is land we bought in kamulu @ 300k/acre. Even b4 we completed paying...in 2 months, the same land was now 600k an acre...if we wanted to, we could sell, make 100% profit.
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
jamplu
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 2:38:01 PM

ali wrote:
I have noted with serious concern how land brokers/agents/dealers hike/inflate prices left right and ctr. Partly aided by buyers from 'blue collar' enviroment who buy whatever is offered. Take juja farm for example, 2yrs ago, an acre was in the range of 100k. Same place, same size today is an M or there abt. Kitengela 1km frm kitengela town, in 06, quarter was 125k, today, dnt even try. If u go directly to owner, u get a clean, bigger, better and cheaper deal. Bt nairobians kawaida, you buy at whatever you are told. There is land we bought in kamulu @ 300k/acre. Even b4 we completed paying...in 2 months, the same land was now 600k an acre...if we wanted to, we could sell, make 100% profit.

There are no signs that this will ever go away thats why i opted to go through some of the diligent saccos.
patcho
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 3:06:21 PM

very true @ali. infact we work so so hard in order to save and own some land but in the end the one who benefits most is the broker.I think the way our system is structured really favours these brokers.The other day,I was being shown some commercial plots(by a broker)in embakasi-pipeline area and in the process we came across this huge seven storey flat being constructed...and I couldn't belief it when I realised it belonged to this broker.He sold plots/land making huge/crazy commissions until he constructed a flat.... at that moment I realised he was one of those who were overpricing the plots in that area and due to his sweet talking nature he was able to convinve gullible potential buyers to buy at very high prices unknowingly..and guess what,I didn't buy the plots from him I later got a similar plot nearby at a far much lesser price...so the thing is one should do be prepared to do a lengthy research of land prices before purchasing.
african coloner
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 5:42:32 PM

patcho wrote:
very true @ali. infact we work so so hard in order to save and own some land but in the end the one who benefits most is the broker.I think the way our system is structured really favours these brokers.The other day,I was being shown some commercial plots(by a broker)in embakasi-pipeline area and in the process we came across this huge seven storey flat being constructed...and I couldn't belief it when I realised it belonged to this broker.He sold plots/land making huge/crazy commissions until he constructed a flat.... at that moment I realised he was one of those who were overpricing the plots in that area and due to his sweet talking nature he was able to convinve gullible potential buyers to buy at very high prices unknowingly..and guess what,I didn't buy the plots from him I later got a similar plot nearby at a far much lesser price...so the thing is one should do be prepared to do a lengthy research of land prices before purchasing.

what was the difference?
jamplu
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 6:03:20 PM

i know of a case where a broker was offering land at 3.8 and the owner wanted 3M flat.
Katibampya
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 6:29:14 PM

Don't hate the player, hate the game!!!
ali
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 7:15:36 PM

Its sad coz the brokers even go to the extent of removing the beacons so that owners dnt sell directly. Just 2 wks ago, in ruiru, brokers were selling land @ 1.2, half an acre. You may nt believe it bt the owner, an old woman just wanted 450k. I almst fainted when we met the lady . Too bad that some guy got it b4 me, bt glad that brokers lost it.
patcho
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 8:14:12 PM

african coloner wrote:
patcho wrote:

what was the difference?

Believe it or not the difference was a cool 600K.......ama what difference are you asking?
jamplu
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 9:06:55 PM

Katibampya wrote:

am sooo hating both... buyers do your research and try to understand the value of land the area you interested.
Pablo
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 10:01:51 PM

@Ali

The Problem is not brokers its much bigger tghan that.
I have been in Rwanda for some time now and note that if ypou need to buy or sell something it mostlikely needs to go thro an agent.
There are no classifieds in the papers to get the owners!!!!

Note that the price of land is still affordable mostly due to heavy taxation on idle land and leasehold systems where you lose your land if you dont develop it in a year.

Its just about our policies.
ali
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 11:14:06 PM

@ pablo....i see a potential danger in the way we are allowing brokers/ agents control the sector. I also blame the urbanites who just buy buy...please, as much as you can, do your research well, try get the owner where you can and use trusted referals. I noticed that guys even employ guys to mark proposed bypasses/highway and use such pretexts to hike prices...saying that such and such a road is being built and therefore, the land is prime
StatMeister
#12 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2011 8:21:43 AM

Katibampya wrote:

Eh? Eh? Eh? Eh?
Ghana vs. Uruguay? Sometimes we just gotta hate the player
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
#13 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2011 10:42:03 AM

ali wrote:
@ pablo....i see a potential danger in the way we are allowing brokers/ agents control the sector. I also blame the urbanites who just buy buy...please, as much as you can, do your research well, try get the owner where you can and use trusted referals. I noticed that guys even employ guys to mark proposed bypasses/highway and use such pretexts to hike prices...saying that such and such a road is being built and therefore, the land is prime

You are very right. People have to take time to go to the ground and do research. You have to make several trips and talk to differnt people not just the broker... infact, take a trip there without even notifying the broker at all.

Ask around at the shops around as you casually chat up the mama mboga or shopkeeper... you will get a feel of how things are. But if you sit and wait to buy land from the comfort of your chair, you are gonna pay for that comfort.... and it doesnt come cheap, you knot. Recently, i committed to a piece of land that i was about to pay double in the same area.... Got it at 1/2 the price i had been told by one broker!
Wamutonyi
#14 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2011 11:56:06 AM

@Wendz
You are spot on. Do not blame the brokers, they are also trying to get rich as quickly as possible. If you need land, you must be ready visit the site more than once on your own and also compare prices with land nearby. If you decide to sit in an office and make calls, you will definately pay for it. Do not be extremely cautious else you will never own land. A small fee/commission for the brokers should not make you decline to buy though, some do this for a living.
iKenya
#15 Posted : Saturday, September 24, 2011 8:45:46 AM

Katibampya wrote:

Pray Pray Pray
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
#16 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2011 11:54:23 AM

I HATE 40 BY 80.

ali
#17 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2011 8:11:41 PM

@dunkang..if u hate 40x80, wait till you see 40x60.
#18 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 8:55:58 AM

ali wrote:

WHAT! Yaani this kikuyus have decided to shave 20 feets!

Kenya is headed to the dogs! We used to laugh when we were told that in Japan, the only available space is the space ABOVE your roof.

incognito
#19 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 9:56:49 AM

ali wrote:

Kenya is headed to the dogs! We used to laugh when we were told that in Japan, the only available space is the space ABOVE your roof.

There are 50 by 60 and 50 by 50 in some estates in Mombasa..
Excelsior
#20 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 10:14:52 AM

ali wrote:

40x60 is a big mblot.
You can built a 3 bedroom mansion on it.have parking for 2 cars and plant 1 tree outside your dream home.I have seen good houses in a 40x60 here in Nairobi.What matters is who you design your house.

In that area a 40x60is going at btwn 450k-600k
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu