Gor Mahia - fans or hooligans?
Djinn
#1 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 7:28:31 PM

This is my maiden thread under "Sports" FYI. I care not whether Arsenal will be aired on Cartoon Network Laughing out loudly or whether Rooney now has a hairline that does not look like Winam Gulf. I am agnostic when it comes to the Premier League, the f*** up (FA CUP), etc

Anyway, around 1600-1700hrs on Saturday 20th August, between Nakuru and Naivasha (en route back from the western side of Uganda abt 940km from Nairobi) we witnessed very poor behavior by Gor Fans driving back to Nairobi.

Motoring out of Nakuru along the dual carriage way, a minibus filled with gor fans overtook us and at that moment, these retards start blowing their f***ING vuvuzelas causing me to swerve....very funny. I watched as they did the same thing successively to other motorists up ahead...timing the moment they overtake to blast the God forsaken instrument! On a scale of 1-10 in terms of childish behavior - this scored a whole 10.

I'd not want to be tribal, but a derogatory word from central province, relating to one's perceived maturity owing to the lack of a certain surgical procedure, sprang to mind...

Further down the road, once the dual carriage way had ended, driving around 90kph, and with a string of cars ahead waiting to overtake a truck, a queue started building up. Through my side view mirror I noticed this car start to overtake with a passenger seated on the rear window ledge, leaning out with a bottle of Vodka. They started overtaking and noticed a truck coming ahead and did what wankers are inclined to do - cut in abruptly without warning. At this point I noticed other passengers in the back were all drunk, some waving their bottles out of the window victoriously and intimidating other motorists. These cut in happened almost every kilometre as the inebriated gor fans (in green and white outfits if I may clarify) made a mad dash back to the city.

Car after car passed - high speeds, occupants in white and green clothing, overtaking VERY dangerously, causing abrupt braking in the queue, very loud, etc.

I wish no one any harm but at that moment, knowing how they were endangering other road users - including my entire family - i wished the car with a passenger seated with his body outside, would roll and help stop some of the madness.

This carried on all the way back. Intoxicated fans and drivers wreaking havoc on the way - I suppose it is very "manly" behavior to take risks on the road - perhaps it adds an inch or two to the middle appendage?

At Kikopey a truck had rolled over after flattening what looked like a Corolla L Touring....not sure if that was related to the inconsiderate driving we saw earlier.

Along the way (Kinungi, Uplands, etc) some cars would pull over so that intoxicated fans could take a leak...all in the Gor colours. Which only meant the same drunk drivers and their passengers would subject us to another round on insane and dangerous driving.

Even after darkness fell, some wanker came speeding to overtake and, seeing that he could not make it, cut in abruptly in front of us and almost rear ended a Merc (124 Series - probably 380 SE) which too had Gor fans - how do I know and it was dark? Well, in this same Merc at Limuru, before the flyover, at the police check - an occupant in the co driver's seat attempted to step out to take a leak - thinking the slow moving traffic was a traffic jam when it was really a police check - he hastily made his way back in after seeing the reflective police check sign...

At the dual carriageway I gratefully pulled into the slow (sane) lane (but not before a heavily cabbage laden canter had a major blow out in front of me) and let all the insanity rush forth.

I'm willing to wager there were some incidents along the road for those fans that elected to stay late in Nakuru.

I recall as a First Aider, in Kisumu town where I grew up, we'd be entitled to free entry to all football matches as long as we were in uniform. We'd sit right near the pitch outside the line along which the lines man officiates - the best seats in the house. But alas, even then as kids, we knew we had to skip the Gor matches....ironically that is when people needed first aid the most...

If you are a Gor fan - this is NOTHING to be proud of. If you really care about Gor as a club, do something about the image of the fans. Its refreshing to see local support for local clubs, but let the passion not kill or endanger other poeple.

FAIL
#2 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 8:23:50 PM

And that's why the ever mighty brewers of Rui-ruaka will be champions in KPL 2011!

Djinn
#3 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 3:38:34 PM

and the story continues

http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/xijusp/-/index.html

AND

http://www.nation.co.ke/...804/1234462/-/wpndq6/-/

I'm not surprised that any Gor fans on Wazua have NOT commented - feeling a lot of shame I think? Well, you should...
#4 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 3:49:41 PM

@Djinn,
Despite all the foolish and regretable actions by some of the fans, there are still true K'ogallo fans out there!!!
#5 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 3:57:51 PM

I think there are Gor fans and Gor hooligans. I think the latter exceed the former!
#6 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 4:32:51 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
I think there are Gor fans and Gor hooligans. I think the latter exceed the former!

True.There are more hooligans than fans in that team.

#7 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 4:35:24 PM

bwenyenye wrote:

True.There are more hooligans than fans in that team.

I think otherwise, the looligans are lesser, their actions are more pronounced!!!
#8 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2011 3:21:18 PM

@Djinn,

Obviously unacceptable behaviour, but calling on real Gor fans to do something is a joke. There is nothing like real Gor fans or Gor hooligans, what you witnessed were individuals breaking the law and its a pity our police force has no interest in maintaining public order.

#9 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2011 4:47:33 PM

100% HOOLIGANS!
mchawi
#10 Posted : Sunday, September 18, 2011 4:59:08 PM

Hooligans!
Djinn
#11 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 7:44:08 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
@Djinn,

Obviously unacceptable behaviour, but calling on real Gor fans to do something is a joke. There is nothing like real Gor fans or Gor hooligans, what you witnessed were individuals breaking the law and its a pity our police force has no interest in maintaining public order.

@Obi Wan - I think differently. One would think that perhaps its the BOTP type that would be exhibiting bad behavior - but the people I saw driving from Nakuru were working class people and perhaps a notch higher than the rest if they can afford to drive out of town for a non-final or crucial match.

Those saying that the hooligans are not Gor fans...well, if they are dressed in the green and white outfits...what is one to think? Perhaps the club should come up with its own "compliance" marshals" or sthg like that to reign in the wayward fans.
#12 Posted : Monday, September 19, 2011 2:29:55 PM

Djinn wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
@Djinn,

@Obi Wan - I think differently. One would think that perhaps its the BOTP type that would be exhibiting bad behavior - but the people I saw driving from Nakuru were working class people and perhaps a notch higher than the rest if they can afford to drive out of town for a non-final or crucial match.

Those saying that the hooligans are not Gor fans...well, if they are dressed in the green and white outfits...what is one to think? Perhaps the club should come up with its own "compliance" marshals" or sthg like that to reign in the wayward fans.

Sorry, I think I didn't come out clearly, I agree with you that something needs done ASAP about their behaviour. However, asking other Gor fans to do something is really not fair, they were breaking public laws in their individual capacities, its a bit diffcult for Gor to monitor each fan from Nakuru to Nairobi let alone do anything about their behaviour. Therefore it is the police who needs to deal with them.
Mblue
#13 Posted : Saturday, September 24, 2011 10:48:25 PM

The coach is having a hard time. Apparently he has been attacked after the KCB draw.
"..one is only poor only if they choose to be.."-Dolly Partron
#14 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2011 9:49:10 AM

These morons blockd haile selasie rd into town yesterday doing sorts of bullcrap,dandiain mats nd private cars.ABK
#15 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2011 11:40:37 AM

carygoh wrote:
These morons blockd haile selasie rd into town yesterday doing sorts of bullcrap,dandiain mats nd private cars.ABK

...Yeah...the retards were at it again...and they are not few...I am worried!
#16 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2011 1:10:57 PM

carygoh wrote:

...Yeah...the retards were at it again...and they are not few...I am worried!

.....jinga kabisa !! Saw them in matatus breaking all manner of traffic rules... And you call that a lifestyle NKT