wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

5 Pages<1234>»
Carling Cup
#21 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2011 6:42:15 PM

Why is Chelsea drawn against Fulham and not a walkover team like Man U and Arsenal?
#22 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2011 11:34:06 PM

Why is Chelsea drawn against Fulham and not a walkover team like Man U and Arsenal?

I thought there is a class for new soccer fans to learn one or two things about these cup compes....Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#23 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2011 11:50:14 PM

Chelsea pushed to ET by Fulham at the bridge.....
#24 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 12:20:33 AM

It's chelsea - fulham penalties as barca trails valencia 2-1.....so so loving this!!!!

Lampard penalty blocked...wow!!!
#25 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 12:28:12 AM

chelsea wins the penalty shoot out......did they have to struggle like this!!!

Barca still trailing, gotta sleep now!!!
#26 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 12:30:51 AM

Chelsea wameponea chupi chupi...they win on penalties 4 - 3
#27 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 7:58:08 AM

chelsea wins the penalty shoot out......did they have to struggle like this!!!

Barca still trailing, gotta sleep now!!!

FT Valencia 2-2 Barcelona
Racing 0-0 R. Madrid
That still gives the Catalan giants some breathing space
#28 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 8:49:10 AM

Enyewe L'fools are a desperate lot yaani they fielded a full strength squad (mpaka Gerrard) away to Brighton & Hove. Hapa hakuna mambo ya sijui depth those were first team players. It seems Daglish has realised this is the only Cup which they can win.

I think Barca would be very pleased with a draw away to Valencia, nothing wrong with their performance just some pathetic defense. They really need to sign defenders because Pique and Puyol are a bit injury prone. I just don't see how Real Madrid will beat Barca this season.

In other news, Cesc breaks record for a new Barca player by scoring in his fourth consecutive match.
#29 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 8:53:30 AM

TAZ,
What about Chelsea that had most of the top dawgs lined up against Fulham at the bridge????
#30 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 8:54:45 AM

Hahaha...the Kop fielded an almost full strength team???

I need to review my EPL standings for May 2012

#31 Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 2:32:26 PM

http://soccernet.espn.go...ar-and-tear-is-?cc=3888

I guess this was inevitable. Man City's team B and A are almost equal in strentgth so unless Arsenal's youngsters come up with some major goods, City should be in the semis.@Taz, how do you fancy your chances?

As for the game at the Bridge, AVB is expecting to start fringe players but I doubt whether the kop will field the same lineup they did on Sunday, even if a Carling cup semi is at stake. So for me that match could go either way depending on the teams fielded.

Hopefully we'll crash Crystal Palace tomorrow
#32 Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 2:56:57 PM

@ Smano...I think this cup would be a distraction for us if we were to proceed to the semis. We need to concentrate on the League and maybe FA Cup. However, i'm sure Wenger will continue using our fringe players so i don't expect to see RVP, Arteta, Song, TV5, Walcott, Gervinho in this match. Atleast i'll get a chance to see Park, Frimpong, Coquelin, Chamberlain, Miquel in action....this is one tournament our young players really look forward to.

Man City played on Sunday so i doubt Mancini will use any of the players who featured in that game. Leo ni watu kama Zabaleta, De Jong, Kolo Toure, Savic, Hagreaves, Johnson....experienced but not lethal. I think any team that faces Man City without Yaya Toure and Silva should fancy their chances.
#33 Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 3:04:01 PM

It might just be a case of enthusiastic energy and desire to please vs experience...we'll see who comes out on top.

@Nobby naona ukichungulia, fungua roho yako...
Nobby
#34 Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 3:27:04 PM

It might just be a case of enthusiastic energy and desire to please vs experience...we'll see who comes out on top.

Well, Carling Cup has always been a place to reveal our future stars.Cese scored his first goal at 16 in a similar setting.This means it has never been our focus and therefore Wenger will not field the regular players but will give a chance to the fringe players. I expect to see Ben, Diaby, Scillaci, Fabianski, Ashavin, Chamak, Coquilin, Frimpomg, Miguiel, and afew more reseves. This squad, may not be the first team but will have a point to prove.The City second string team will however be very strong and also have a point to prove... lets see how it goes!
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
#35 Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 3:34:26 PM

Nobby wrote:

Well, Carling Cup has always been a place to reveal our future stars.Cese scored his first goal at 16 in a similar setting.This means it has never been our focus and therefore Wenger will not field the regular players but will give a chance to the fringe players. I expect to see Ben, Diaby, Scillaci, Fabianski, Ashavin, Chamak, Coquilin, Frimpomg, Miguiel, and afew more reseves. This squad, may not be the first team but will have a point to prove.The City second string team will however be very strong and also have a point to prove... lets see how it goes!

Fringe player???...your most expensive signing, I thought only Berbatov was in problems!!!!
#36 Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 3:39:25 PM

@ Mc Reggae....I think Wenger and majority of Arsenal fans prefer Gervinho to Arshavin, this guy is so lazy and i hope we sell him in January. He was one of the reasons we couldn't break Fulham over the weekend. I've seen some strong reports linking Podolski to Arsenal, this guy is so similar to RVP...hope we sign him.
Nobby
#37 Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 4:06:39 PM

Nobby wrote:

Fringe player???...your most expensive signing, I thought only Berbatov was in problems!!!!

Yes, Ashavin has only started one League game this year, against Fulham. His work rate is not very good compared with the rest of the team. However when in good form he is very lethal. For now he will continue to be used from the bench till he proves himself.Carling cup is a good place for him to redeem himself.
Nobby
#38 Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 5:18:17 PM

Nobby wrote:

Yes, Ashavin has only started one League game this year, against Fulham. His work rate is not very good compared with the rest of the team. However when in good form he is very lethal. For now he will continue to be used from the bench till he proves himself.Carling cup is a good place for him to redeem himself.

This is the likely line up....

Fabianski

Yennaris, Miquel, Squillaci, Daniel Boateng

Frimpong, Bennayun, Coquilin,

Chamberline, Park Ju Young, Ashavin

Subs to include Al Munia, , Ozyakup, Rosisky, Diaby Chamak,Koscienly,Djourou.
Nobby
#39 Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 5:33:59 PM

Nobby wrote:

This is the likely line up....

Fabianski

Yennaris, Miquel, Squillaci, Daniel Boateng

Frimpong, Bennayun, Coquilin,

Chamberline, Park Ju Young, Ashavin

Subs to include Al Munia, , Ozyakup, Rosisky, Diaby Chamak,Koscienly,Djourou.

Manchester City may start Eden Dzeko, Kolo Toure, Pablo Zabaleta, keeper Costel Pantilimon, Nigel de Jong, Andy Johnson, Owen Hargreaves, Nasri, and some Reserves.
Rollins
#40 Posted : Tuesday, November 29, 2011 5:55:38 PM

@Nobby

'Manchester City may start Eden Dzeko, Kolo Toure, Pablo Zabaleta, keeper Costel Pantilimon, Nigel de Jong, Andy Johnson, Owen Hargreaves, Nasri, and some Reserves.

Eeeh! what a talented 'academy'?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Even a BrOKeN clock is right twice a day