wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

gardening containers
danas10
#1 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 12:28:01 PM

Any ideas on the best container to grow vegetables in on a small scale kwa backyard and where to get it in nairobi Sad
#2 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 12:57:23 PM

i have seen kale being grown in sisal sacks (gunia)..i good idea if space is an issue... would also be interested to get more info/lessons in this area..
#3 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 1:26:57 PM

danas10 wrote:
Any ideas on the best container to grow vegetables in on a small scale kwa backyard and where to get it in nairobi Sad

I

I am sure you meant flower/veg boxes.If that be the case,this are available from many a hardware stores.Roto Tanks Kenya does manufacture them locally.

@Vinii,
Space need not be an issue.I have seen a dude doing Nduma next to his fence.The trick is simple.Dig a trench about 2 feet deep by 2 feet wide along the length of your backyard.Cover the trench with a polytherene paper including the closed ends.Tuck the paper,on the sides in a smaller trench and cover with soil.Fill the trench with good top soil mixed with chicken droppings or manure.Water the trench and introduce Nduma plants spaced at about 18 to 24 inches of one another.Feed the trench continously with kitchen waste water and watch your Ndumas flourish....Six months down the line,go and kiss your grocer good-bye.....hope this helps.
danas10
#4 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 1:41:59 PM

@Njung'e thanks...plastic or mabati ones, which are best? ama there are no mabati ones Sad

@Vinii..will tell how it goes, hope i will soon post photos of my container vegetables
#5 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 1:50:53 PM

@Danas,
MS buckets don't last....Plastic will do and will last many crops especially if not moved every now and then.
danas10
#6 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 2:02:33 PM

@Danas,
MS buckets don't last....Plastic will do and will last many crops especially if not moved every now and then.

Ok, thanks njung'e (i keep checking ur id to see where the apostrophe is smile ) now abt the soil...i am placing it outside where there is enough light. should i be keen on using red soil? is it bought? where in nairobi? sorry for the many questions but i want to start eating my own vegetables Sad
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2011 12:03:20 PM

Sorry Danas.....been on the road.Red soil it is but unfortunately,i am not a Nairobian and may not know where to get it in Nairobi.
danas10
#8 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 9:21:19 AM

got the red soil. thanks for the info. now am seeing small shoots...some look like weeds but i can tell some are vege's. especially where i placed the seeds. this is very exciting!!!!! Applause Applause Applause @ myself.
danas10
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 11:36:01 AM

After a nice harvest of dhania's i decided to plant maize but it is stunted. this photo was taken yesterday, 3 months after planting. Has anyone tried maize in a container and did it grow tall? It is already producing the soft things for fertilization Sad Sad Sad
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 1:38:55 PM

danas10 wrote:
After a nice harvest of dhania's i decided to plant maize but it is stunted. this photo was taken yesterday, 3 months after planting. Has anyone tried maize in a container and did it grow tall? It is already producing the soft things for fertilization Sad Sad Sad

sasa hiyo mahindi moja itatosha nini...??

u shud plant those katumani varieties that are short.. otherwise the long ones haiwesmek kwa container..
danas10
#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 2:40:46 PM

chemos wrote:

u shud plant those katumani varieties that are short.. otherwise the long ones haiwesmek kwa container..

ni tatu smile na kila stalk ikitoa mbili, then i'll have 6...but why cant it grow tall? hata katumani is not this shortSad Sad Sad
#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 2:56:42 PM

danas10 wrote:
chemos wrote:

ni tatu smile na kila stalk ikitoa mbili, then i'll have 6...but why cant it grow tall? hata katumani is not this shortSad Sad Sad

Where did you source the maize seeds? And why don't you do tomatoes instead?

danas10
#13 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 3:13:16 PM

@jaggernaut, i soaked some kawaida dry maize in water for a few days to ensure germination (as advised by someone) Sad Sad Sad maybe i should have bought seeds. what seeds are those for the tomatoes? i will try it after the maize is harvested. the other half has beans and so far, they look good.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2012 10:04:14 PM

danas10 wrote:
@jaggernaut, i soaked some kawaida dry maize in water for a few days to ensure germination (as advised by someone) Sad Sad Sad maybe i should have bought seeds. what seeds are those for the tomatoes? i will try it after the maize is harvested. the other half has beans and so far, they look good.

..For tomatoes try Cal J they dont grow that big,nakumatt and tuskys are stocking some from a South African firm try those...
wairegi
#15 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2012 8:19:50 AM

..Big ups dasa10. i like you passion. But maize is a big no for contatiners, mostly probably they isn't enough lighting( shadows and hence less hours of lights per pay, poor seed as you have highlighted, you needed to change the soil and add manure or some fertizers after first harvest.
shygal
#16 Posted : Friday, October 19, 2012 9:12:36 AM

danas10 wrote:

aren't u taking this container gardening thing a lil bit to far mister?
Apricot
#17 Posted : Sunday, October 21, 2012 4:42:10 AM

shygal wrote:
danas10 wrote:

No he is not taking it too far. Container gardening works and you can harvest a lot of vegetables and fruits if you take good care of them. I harvested plenty of cherry tomatoes, big juicy tomatoes, roma tomatoes, basil, chili pepper from my container garden. If someone can tell me how to post a picture here, I can post my container garden showing my plants. Maize maybe not be a good idea for containers. I suspect that the container size restricts the amount of nutrient available to make the corn grow into a large healthy size.
First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
danas10
#18 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 10:38:55 AM

Apricot wrote:
shygal wrote:

No he is not taking it too far. Container gardening works and you can harvest a lot of vegetables and fruits if you take good care of them. I harvested plenty of cherry tomatoes, big juicy tomatoes, roma tomatoes, basil, chili pepper from my container garden. If someone can tell me how to post a picture here, I can post my container garden showing my plants. Maize maybe not be a good idea for containers. I suspect that the container size restricts the amount of nutrient available to make the corn grow into a large healthy size.

@shygal, the maize was out of curiosity. I have done dhanias, parsley, and spinach and have no complains. I want to try tomatoes after i chop off the maize now that i have realised they dont do well in containers.

@ apricot..i would love to see your garden. upload your pics at http://hostmypicture.com then copy image location and paste it in the insert image icon here in wazua (icon with 2 hills and the sun) smile if you search "how to upload picture in wazua) you may get better instructions on how to post pics here.
#19 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 3:32:50 PM

danas10 wrote:

YOU USED POOR QUALITY SEEDS, SHAME ON YOU.
Shame on you

Always Use Certified Seeds From Kenya Seeds, Similar To Those Boiled And Eaten By Some Akamba Family And You Know What Happened To Them.

#20 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 3:42:54 PM

danas10 wrote:
chemos wrote:

Yours is a mini-katumani.