wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

the kes hits 83-are cbk concerned about inflation?
kachambi
#41 Posted : Wednesday, August 31, 2011 10:07:34 PM

the kes is in at 93. this is very high and stocks are loosing value. should we all be buying into the shares?
hisah
#42 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2011 6:03:31 AM

hisah wrote:
kizee1 wrote:
zar is a beast man..hit 7.5 juzi now at 7.1! thing about ZAR is that yield hunters were caught offguard, now looks like the damage is over? ama where do you see it?

@8.20 before the next storm is over! I'll be picking it @6.6 - 6.8 levels. I expect the JSE to nosedive in Q4.

Picked some long USDZAR @6.98 to test momentum up to 7.40 - though didn't update this on the fx thread. Wish I had picked a larger chunk, but was waiting for 6.8 - I think this won't be breached anytime soon. If the dollar squeeze comes around as expected, I expect the 8.20 target to be exceeded. The recent SA econ data was slack & playing as per my expectations, though the market was as usual, surprised smile
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
the deal
#43 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2011 8:55:40 AM

Nobody has confidence in Gov Ndung'u at the moment http://mobile.bloomberg....gory=%2Fnews%2Fafrica%2F
Cde Monomotapa
#44 Posted : Tuesday, September 13, 2011 9:12:11 AM

While the SAME guy feeds us useless personal opinion polls on the Governors looks; the discount rate is @9.25% meaning the interbank is much lower. That's effective policy.
hisah
#45 Posted : Wednesday, September 14, 2011 4:23:30 PM

@Kizee1 - And now the lame stream media starts to notice about the rand...

http://www.bloomberg.com...-dims-rate-cut-hope.html
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#46 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 5:04:32 AM

[quote=hisah]@Kizee1 - And now the lame stream media starts to notice about the rand...

http://www.bloomberg.com...dims-rate-cut-hope.html[/quote]

USDZAR touches 7.48, now @7.45. Bullish from here. My target was 7.40 short term, but well exceeded. I still expect the 8.0 handle to be broken. Alykhan's target is 7.90.

@kizee1 - I hope you took positions when I hinted about the rand rotation... smile
kizee1
#47 Posted : Thursday, September 15, 2011 9:30:26 AM

hisah

kes keepin me busy lol
hisah
#48 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2011 11:07:15 PM

hisah wrote:
[quote=hisah]@Kizee1 - And now the lame stream media starts to notice about the rand...

http://www.bloomberg.com...dims-rate-cut-hope.html[/quote]

USDZAR touches 7.48, now @7.45. Bullish from here. My target was 7.40 short term, but well exceeded. I still expect the 8.0 handle to be broken. Alykhan's target is 7.90.

@kizee1 - I hope you took positions when I hinted about the rand rotation... smile

USDZAR breaks above 8.00 handle. 8.20 coming up.

@Kizee1 - I wish you had picked this up & ride this rand rotation smile Q4 2011 to Q3 2012 will be funkie for SA econ as the world cup stimulus runs out... Cheat economics always comes round to bite when least expected. Study Sydney 2000, Athens 2004 & Beijing 2008 olympics and find out what 2014 will unleash after London 2012 olympics smile
Cde Monomotapa
#49 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2011 11:22:12 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly the SA world cup was one classic investment hype hoax! Led to an over-flux investment in hotel rooms and post world cup, no significant repeat biz was recorded. Now a stronger ZAR has made it an expensive tourist destination Sad Even our pan-african Mpango Wa Kando/Lodgo racket terminated all its leases (2) and pulled out of SA. www.africansuninvestor.com
Nabwire
#50 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2011 11:28:30 PM

Please fafanua in swa, uko na mpango wa kando? Ama uko na lodge? Ni gani?
Cde Monomotapa
#51 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2011 11:33:04 PM

Nabwire wrote:
Please fafanua in swa, uko na mpango wa kando? Ama uko na lodge? Ni gani?

I'm a part owner of Africansun which is a hotel group which sells 4 and 5 star bed nights to all and sundry, including MWKs hence I term it as a high cost lodgo. To us it is just business smile
Nabwire
#52 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2011 11:39:44 PM

Wow, hiyo ni maendeleo!
Cde Monomotapa
#53 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2011 11:52:48 PM

Nabwire wrote:
Wow, hiyo ni maendeleo!

Btw when ur prezzo Obama came to Africa he slept at Holiday Inn, Accra Ghana which Africansun gladly manages smile Its the highest yielding property in the portfolio. So tulimangia taxes zako smile
the deal
#54 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2011 11:55:16 PM

@Cde and @Nabwire you guys need to differentiate between long term investing and getting married to a stock...@Cde you new the 2010 WC was a once of event so stop complaining...
Nabwire
#55 Posted : Wednesday, September 21, 2011 11:57:47 PM

hahaha CDE dream on, gava hunilipa pesa, siwalipangi, kwani huelewi hizi pesa tunazipata, hatuzipatiani??? Na saa hii Obama anataka kutuongezea....good times!! Lakini hiyo hoteli, how can I get in? Pole to the starter of this post, I know am derailing.
Cde Monomotapa
#56 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 12:07:45 AM

the deal wrote:
@Cde and @Nabwire you guys need to differentiate between long term investing and getting married to a stock...@Cde you new the 2010 WC was a once of event so stop complaining...

Frankly, I fell for that line that the WC was a good enough promo for return bizna going forward. I was happy that Afsun spent some money sprucing up the property in Sandton and the other in JNB but it turned out bad and so i'm glad those leases were terminated.
Cde Monomotapa
#57 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 12:13:12 AM

Nabwire wrote:
hahaha CDE dream on, gava hunilipa pesa, siwalipangi, kwani huelewi hizi pesa tunazipata, hatuzipatiani??? Na saa hii Obama anataka kutuongezea....good times!! Lakini hiyo hoteli, how can I get in? Pole to the starter of this post, I know am derailing.

IRS pap!! Africansun is listed on the Zimbabwe Stock Exchange so the shares are available thereon. U can check out their hotels portfolio on www.africansunhotels.com and investor relations page on www.africansuninvestor.com (I too apologise for the deviation)
Nabwire
#58 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 12:16:57 AM

Najaribu kusoma annual report but wapi?? Whats with the really small print. So are you a shareholder or a part owner? What are your numbers? Net profit/loss, EPS, PE, ROI, sioni at all??
Nabwire
#59 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 12:24:44 AM

OK I give up, you guys make it really hard to read your reports, wsup? Crown plaza Monomotapa, sasa najua where kukutafuta
Cde Monomotapa
#60 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 12:29:50 AM

Nabwire wrote:
Najaribu kusoma annual report but wapi?? Whats with the really small print. So are you a shareholder or a part owner? What are your numbers? Net profit/loss, EPS, PE, ROI, sioni at all??

A part owner = share-holder. (i'm a long-term investor and not a speculator).

In summary, the group is coming out of losses and will spring back to profitability with the clipping of the SA biznas.

To me, as all my holdings in Zim, Afsun is a recovery/turn-around play i.e from losses to profits so as to "guarantee" me a return.

The hotels portfolio has resort and city hotels and my primary reason for buying into Afsun is for the city hotels as I expect a boom in business-travel into Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA) and Afsun is the best company I have access to right now as it holds licenses to manage/operate Crowne Plaza, Best Western and Holiday Inn brands i.e renowned Intercontinental hotels brands which will attract high-value clients.

The group's focus is to diversify away from Zim which currently contributes the bulk of revenue by focusing expansion into West Africa (Ghana & Nigeria) and in Botswana.