wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Total motorshow
Djinn
#21 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 1:48:02 PM

@bwenyenye - you will notice I indicated departure at 0700 and arrival at 0715 - three minutes to accelerate and decelerate as needed...
#22 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 1:52:36 PM

@Djinn, sijui kama ni mimi ndiyo nimevuta sigara kubwa.
700am to 715am is 15 minutes (quarter hour). If you are travelling at 431 km/h, you will have done 431/4 = 107 km, just before Nakuru....smile
Djinn
#23 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 2:05:19 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
700am to 715am is 15 minutes (quarter hour). If you are travelling at 431 km/h, you will have done 431/4 = 107 km, just before Nakuru....smile

True Applause No wonder my Std six kid does not allow me to help him with his homework anymore d'oh!

You are CORRECT. Refueling would be near nakuru, after naivasha.

I hereby stand corrected!
Pierce
#24 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 2:37:56 PM

Djinn wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
Pierce wrote:
kiriita wrote:
Next time they should bring machines like Veyron,Ferari,Bugati etc.

@Impunity, I thought the Veyron is a Bugatti model?

A Veyron is a Bugatti.

Veyron=Bugatti=Bijuti???Sad

smile Bijuti Laughing out loudly

Veyron is a model from Bugatti. Bugatti Veyron Supersport is currently the world's fastest production car (431.07 km/h). It retails at US$ 2.4 million - Kshs 228 million and its reported that the actual production costs are abt 5 times - so basically they sell at a loss just to put the cars out there and show innovation leadership.

At max speed (431kph), the Veyron will empty its tank in 12 minutes. To put that in perspective - assuming we have suitable roads and traffic conditions to allow that speed, if you left Nairobi at 7am, you'd refuel somewhere near Busia at around 7.15am.

Kwani Busia iko Naivasha....
Drew
#25 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 3:36:05 PM

the thing was boring apart from the jaguar xJ. the soccer games were better n concours is way better
#26 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 6:36:02 PM

Djinn wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

True Applause No wonder my Std six kid does not allow me to help him with his homework anymore d'oh!

You are CORRECT. Refueling would be near nakuru, after naivasha.

I hereby stand corrected!

I was getting jittery given that an a/c takes 30 minutes to take off and land in Kisumu and flying at over 700km/h!
Lol.

#27 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 7:26:53 PM

Djinn wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
Pierce wrote:
kiriita wrote:
Next time they should bring machines like Veyron,Ferari,Bugati etc.

@Impunity, I thought the Veyron is a Bugatti model?

A Veyron is a Bugatti.

Veyron=Bugatti=Bijuti???Sad

smile Bijuti Laughing out loudly

Veyron is a model from Bugatti. Bugatti Veyron Supersport is currently the world's fastest production car (431.07 km/h). It retails at US$ 2.4 million - Kshs 228 million and its reported that the actual production costs are abt 5 times - so basically they sell at a loss just to put the cars out there and show innovation leadership.

At max speed (431kph), the Veyron will empty its tank in 12 minutes. To put that in perspective - assuming we have suitable roads and traffic conditions to allow that speed, if you left Nairobi at 7am, you'd refuel somewhere near Busia at around 7.15am.

Wacha rongo wewe... From Nairobi to Busia in 15 mins. Go tell that to Sinai people!!!...From Nairobi to Entebbe is around 507 km and it takes KQ 50 minutes....Wacha rongo
tuvok
#28 Posted : Monday, September 12, 2011 8:44:59 PM

Went for the show on Friday.

ix35 (formerly Tuscon) by Hyundai was especially interesting, and the staff there were very friendly, allowing one to sit and 'feel'.

When you consider, that the comparative MY2011 Subaru Forester had a price tag of 5.25M vs prices ~ 4M for a fully loaded MY2011 Tuscon... it is no wonder that as at 2009 Hyundai was the world's fastest growing car manufacturer.

However, whichever way I looked at it, not sure I'd be in a hurry to buy a show room car. Insurance kwanza!