wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

7 Pages123>»
Best car on fuel consumption
doh
#1 Posted : Saturday, August 30, 2008 11:00:00 PM

I compared the stats on BMW and Toyaota websites. Latest BMs are the best. Lets hear from the horses mouth although you aint a horse. Whats your take. Weka Km per litre consumption of your car tuone.

info is money
cindano
#2 Posted : Saturday, August 30, 2008 11:47:00 PM

A bicycle...

No addiction to organic fossil fuel...

The Dutch PM used to cycle to work...

Kila kitu kiasi...kula,kunywa,kucheza na hata ujinga...
#3 Posted : Sunday, August 31, 2008 6:12:00 AM

Best car....? ...Me.!!.....a couple of tuskers on Furahiday and i walk to and from work the entire week.....Works out to kindu 50Km/l........Litre of Tusker that is.....

On a serious note,look out for Vision200....

http://www.monitor.co.ug...s_build_car_70461.shtml
young
#4 Posted : Sunday, August 31, 2008 3:54:00 PM

The Korean vehicles (though not popular due to our addiction to expensive Japanese Toyota etc)

Hyndai Accent 1.3 litrs

Kia R!0 1.3 Lires

Also cheap for a new car Less than Ksh 700K. Maintenance expenses for first 3 years or 1st 100,000 Km ie 80,000 miles almost zero except servicing expenses. Pocket friendly.

AFRICAN INVESTOR
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
PONDI
#5 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2008 5:04:00 AM

@cindano...riding a bike frequently has ruined many a happy marriage....ask boda boda operators. things down there have ceased to 'defy' gravity after they spent afew hours atop their bikes. i think just go for a toyota hybrid prius. i have seen afew around. i think they do around 30km/L..in the states it is the most sought after car currently...
sheep
#6 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2008 5:59:00 AM

toyota vitz 1.0L vvti is king.shame about the interiors and ride quality.your ego takes a beating and you loose your girlfriend and further promotions at work.....I know from experience

graze in the fields you know!
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
PONDI
#7 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2008 6:03:00 AM

@ sheep... kweli you followed the 'herd'....pole sana you made me laugh tho!!
funnyguy
#8 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2008 6:26:00 AM

@sheep. . .LOL! For real?!

Do you fear death?
#9 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2008 12:51:00 PM

LOL @ Sheep.

You arent alone. This was a sick joke but a friend of mine said he wouldnt buy it even in the next life!! His exact words 'thats child abuse if not raping the car'!!! The guy is built tough so it would be ridiculous to see him even accepting a ride in it - even if its a girlfriends car anyway!!!

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Imohlizer
#10 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2008 1:43:00 PM

If you have never driven the VITZ or owned one..you will hate it,I personally hated the thought of it until the day I 'accidentally' bought one....

I drove a subaru impreza when fuel was about 72-74 range as a custom i fuel full tank but it would last me a 'week' that is monday to friday if i needed to run errands over the weekend that would be another kshs 1500 given that weekends you move alot more that weekdays....not to mention that during the week the journey would be home office office home.

Somethin happened last year...I sold the Sub,and because the car I anticipated to buy had a 'hitch' and i was desperate for a car...i ended up buying a...you said it ...VITZ from a friend.

Now here is the moral....

that time last year fuel was around 78 as a custom again full tank,this is in the range of 36 litres the car a manual consumes like 16.6 on average in this Nairobi traffic I do like 565KM's on the lower side with a full tank.

Whats more now fuel is about 106-108 thereabout full tank for me is about Kshs3500,3600 for the same two weeks,i get to drive around as i wish,mmmh i feel no pinch.

Its even cheaper logistically than a dude that uses a citi hopa...

Lakini I have taken a lot of tongue lashing from guys...but like a hard cookie,i have not cracked...i don't intend to leave this car..Besides i call it a WASP or DUDU if you like.

Granted i miss the thrill a sub offers,but again who really cares,rush from the airport to stay at nyayo stadium for 2 hrs in the traffic spend 500 while the guy in a wasp has barely sniffed any fuel.

On the other side,can anyone with A BMW 318 or 320i give a reveiw,especiall fuel and spares?

If you have to support yourself,you had bloody well better
find yourself some way that is going to be interesting.
#11 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2008 2:07:00 PM

You guys are trying to scare me........EH???....Forget.....It's a vitz i need....two to be precise.....It doesn't matter even if it means cutting a hole at the top to give my head space.......i must save money.......The 4.5litre animal gets caged and will only come out when am going shags....2.6 litre vintage i sell..( Wapi Karasinga iko taka 260Z?),and i can trade the wagon for two vitz'es.....She gets one too...or to hell....and the Arab can start drinking their oil....!!!
albertross
#12 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2008 4:33:00 PM

@ All,I have a Toyota G-Touring,it does 16km/litre and that is satisfactory.
Even at 102shs a litre,yes 102 people,that is what I buy my fuel at.
With my 50 litre tank a full tank will cost me round about 5k,and I average 60km a day so that would be 50*16= 800km,around 10 days,give or take.

Thinking is free...............so THINK!!
Kasheshi
#13 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2008 5:44:00 PM

If the vitz is such a good car,why do i see so many of them being sold at throw away prices even when relatively new? I've heard it has issues with regard to spare parts. Anyone in the know?

R
WorreniPafeti
#14 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2008 5:59:00 PM

Toyota prius ka hybrid ni shida tu. Battery is under guaranteed for 100,000 km. After that your on your own. Seeing that we mostly import second hand motis,chief guess what happens to your battery gaurantee. A prius battery caosts in the range of 5000$. The change of fluids and servicing is crazy. I had thot of one but I have decided to stick to Hoppa and ELDORET EXPRESS!!! Cars have a price and a cost. Think about both with these new tech cars

pus ni Eldoret Pekee! Watcha zenu
Shiznit...
#15 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2008 6:46:00 PM

well to answer ur question a prius will giv u mo km per litre ..the flip side is even in states,dubai n some european countries the waiting list is somewhere like 10 months....they selling fast than they can make em....well this car aint made for africa the ride quality,our roads,n combination of stuff will be headache... stick with the old european makekes....vw golf tdi will giv u some admirable kms per litre and needless to say will pass the galfriend look...

Every morning a Lion n Gazelle wakes up..The Lion knows it must outrun the slowest gazelle or starve to death,a gazelle knows it must outrun the lion or it will be killed...when the morning comes doesnt matter whether you r a Lion o gazelle you better be running...
gkchege
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2008 5:26:00 AM

One said a car has a Price and a cost. Very true. Be advised - take into consideration both and beware! Can we merge the two and see...

1 - Corolla NZE - Cost about 800-850K,1.5l,15-18km / litre,service - 3,000-5000kms,average cost per service interval - 7,000/- Parts could be fake!

2 - Opel Astra Wagon/VW/Audi - Cost about 650k,1.8l,12-14km/litre,service - 6,000-10,000kms,avg cost per service - 7,000 - Genuine parts from Vauxhall UK.

Comparing the two,if you own the Germans,you get all the very best of European tech. Extra high reliability,fair purchase price. Start buying fuel with the 200k difference - the 2-3km difference doesn't need to come out of your pocket!!

Guys,go German,the Jap cars are just in too much demand - it is this factor that is raising their price so ridiculously!!
PONDI
#17 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2008 6:10:00 AM

@gkchege. you forgot the biggest consideration of all when comparing the 2 cars...re-sale value. the NZE may cost 850k now but in 2 years you will still get 700k for it easily. the opel/vw may cost 650k,but in 2 years,you will be lucky to get 300k....havent you ever noticed how many guys who own german/european cars tend to hold on to their cars till they just become scrap. its because they cant sell them at reasonable rates ... so better remain with it,maybe the kids can use it in years to come...look around at those pensioners that live near you. see the kind of car shells sitting ontop of those 6 by 9 stones... mercs,audi,renault etc etc...have you ever seen a toyota??
sheep
#18 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2008 6:11:00 AM

yeah,I bought the pink one!(pale red if you ask me).luckily i managed to charm a female collegue to buy it managing to salvage the little manhood left after becoming the object of much pun...(girlie boy)!!

graze in the fields you know!
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
gkchege
#19 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2008 6:26:00 AM

this re-sale is an over-stretched lie. Again,just because it is Toyo,it fetches more. But in truth,can one compare a 9yr old toyo being sold at 700k and a 7yr old VW/Opel @650K?

Perception definitely favors the cars ppls consider cheap - toyo mainly,so on that one point,the germans are beaten 12-2!!

What is the average life of the two vehichles though? Why not keep the German? It can run proper for much longer! Kununua magari every 2 years is not the solution.

Am sure even you @pondi agree that a toyo AE100 selling for over 350K is an overkill!! Why do we agree to live with this? The same way we are paying more per minute on safcom than Zain. The choice is there,but we are like merino sheep - a flocking instcinct is in-built. This really limits our ability to make our own choices.
#20 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2008 7:09:00 AM

@ Njung'e - take your Nissan 260Z (or is it 240Z?) to the Classic Car Sale at the Concourse d'Elegance. Contact Lucy at the secretariate - tel 020-222-9793.

@All - your driving style is a big factor in the car's fuel consumption. One driver can get 20km/L from a Vitz while another will struggle to milk out 15km/L from the same (not similar,but the SAME KBD122 C!!!!!) car.

@WarreniPafeti & Shiznit - Hybrid cars are only good for city running. On the highway,they are out-done by properly tuned diesel cars (which are much cheaper to buy and service and have a much longer lifetime)

By the way,the Alfa Romeo Owners Club (organisers of the Concourse d'Elegance) does an 'Economy Run' to find out whom amongs them have the most fuel efficient Alfa. They drive from the Caltex on Waiyaki Way (opposite kwa-Njugugan) to the Caltex at Naivasha.

Last year,the winner averaged 35km/L in a 2,000cc Alfa. That's the same as a Tuk-Tuk!!!