Market
Review
Best car on fuel consumption
@bwenyenye...aii but do you say.... are you the mombasa 'bwenyenye' who owns that 55 year old Billy-goat in mombasa that was in the news recently?
come slowly....
Learn something new every day - @Kanda,thank you for the new word - Proselytizer
You will be okay if you do your homework before just going with the flow.
@Hezz,when I grow up (heheheheheh),I want to drive that. I wonder why they dont do an auto version of these...the 130bhp engine - estate,all black,with RS4 grills and the 19' rims....
Bidii yangu
@all,none of you guys is taking into account our poor quality of our fuel,whether diesel or petrol. Comparing a diesel car's performance stats with what you'll find in the UK is a bit naive,considering that our juice is very low grade. Even the much touted V-Power is kawaida unleaded petrol in the UK. Check the octane rating....
@PONDI just to state but the least ...wewe wach porojo ndugu yangu.. why do you want to blow my cover! Billy goat ilifanya nini? I think we need a paradigm shift in Kenya.. why can't our engineers make a solar vehicle or mass manufacture electric ones..The country would retain so much Foreign currency and pay kina Pondi and jammo who own KPLC and KENGEN.. i'm I asking too much of our engineers? Accountants are trying to Kenaynise IAS and IFRS,Doctors are slowly begining to accept herbs do actually work if administered well,Artists are doing kenyan music,others are painting matatus like there is no tomorrow. what are engineers doing in this country to make anytihing Kenyan? well after the Nyayo Pioneer Mishap.. the thing stalled when it was being flagged off hehehe ... magical Kenya I Think Therefore I Am
Anybody who can tell me something about Honda Civic
Gravity; Its not just the law,its reality.
Wewe @rant.
Here is the reality illustrated in an example - I own an opel astra 1.8 ecotec. I use kawaida fuel that u r trying to trash. The service interval from manufacturer with current mileage is 9,000KM. when new - 12,000KM. But I know we have a problem in the country,so do the serice sooner inspite of using high grade oils etc. Actually the biggest problem I see here is not fuel,but our dusty environment. Most pple even now are driving 'severely starved engines' - starved of air,by choked air filers. That is the biggest issue as far as I am concerned. When I blow air into the filter and the air box,I usually see a huge difference in both consumption and acceleration. I service sooner to avoid regrets,but still use highest possible grade of oil - it's stil cheap anyway - not synthetic though.
I know we dont have high octane fuels,super-low sulphur diesel etc,but we can still make do with what we have without much of a problem. a fleet of about 60 landcruisers and many nissan minibuses from a famous company in town are still running despite 300,000 plus kms on the diesel engines....usiogope mafuta sana,but always 'kunywa' at a proper station where quality is not in doubt.
Bidii yangu
@sigi..my dad used to tell me when i was a little boy that you lose an argument the moment you start throwing insults. Learn. And grow. Up.
Bro/sis,post is edited.
I dont ever mean to insult anyone. Please accept my apology offered in humility. I believe in this - as much as it is within my ability,to live in peace with all and to do unto others only what I would want reciprocated.
Kindly also note that I am not arguing,just expressing opinions which may differ with another person's - and that is healthy in a forum such as this. Let everyone know the pros and also the cons.
Bidii yangu
@myks;
Civic hatchback/saloon (2002-4 model) is a neat car. I get 16.5k/l with careful driving and 15k/l when I push it.
I was looking for the car that's next to a hybrid on efficiency and that's not a european diesel.It's got a weird auto- CVT transmission,takes some getting used to. It gets the job done. Fast when you want is and sips when you don't. And no,I hold no Honda stock.
Do some research on the Prius though. Some nutcases called hypermilers get the equivalent of 60-80mpg,that's kinda like over 20k/l! You probably get 18k/l with sensible driving on a prius.
Google 'hypermiler'. Very interesting.
Jesus said: 'he that believes in me,though he dies,yet shall he live.'
@Hezz
which is a good service station? i wonder if the reputation of the station makes a differnce. i understand most of the adulteration happens in transit and not at the station. the truck driver will not give a damn if the delivery is to a reputable or a not-so-reputable station!
is my thinking right?
@kanda: I fuel at Shell as a matter of principle! If I can't find Shell, I avoid Oilibya and NOCK! Ofcourse those mushrooming stations are out of the question!
Growing older is mandatory. Growing up is optional.
Hi,
I also always try to fuel at a Shell.
I keep records,and have noticed that a good number of fuel stations might have a 'different' calibration of litre. So sometimes my mileage appears to be less even when I drive more or less the same kind of traffic,and type of driving. Has anyone noticed this ...
+++
Interesting discussion this though.... I've always wanted to discuss (objectively) cars and their performance,parts etc,so as to be able to make informed decisions mpaka I have a work in progress on that - more details when it is ready.
@justrant - what is the octane rating of Kenya's unleaded premium and what is it for the UK? It's not enough to say it is of 'poor quality' @Sigiriri - if you truly want to properly maintain your car,never,ever blow compressed air on the paper cartridge air-cleaner. That actually ruins it. Compressed air widens the microscopic pores on the paper thus allowing fine dust to enter the engine. The proper way to clean it is to tap it lightly on a flat surface taking care not to damage the sealing rim. You will see a lot of dust/dirt falling off. Then hold the cartridge against a light bulb,if you can't see the bulb,throw away the cartridge and buy a new one. I learnt that in secondary school several decades ago!!! I don't think the technology of manufacturing the cartridges has changed...only new shapes have been made...those days they were all circular...now I see many squares & rectangles... Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Come to think of it. My mechanic had actually poked holes in the air filter as he tried convincin me how it would go for sometime b4 changin it. Thank God i torokad him id be molestin my kababy!abt blowin compressed air ive been doin that whenever i get kababy cleaned,hiyo nimewacha kabisa,kubafu mimi!
hey
Mukiha & Sigiriri It is OK to blow compressed air through the filter, caution is to blow it against the direction of airflow. In fact periodically blowing the air filter element is recommended practice to avoid particles forcing their way through the filter and creating a path. Blowing in the opposite directions controls this. Ninajua Yote! A New Kenya
Good people... I have searched for an answer to this question with no response.... There is a button in automatic cars,atleast Subaru impreza and Mazda... when pressed I see a hold light that comes on...what is the purpose of this HOLD button? what benefit pros and cons does it serve. Anyone who knows? Calamities are of two kinds: misfortunes to ourselves,and good fortune to others
The hold helps you remain in one gear without changing if you maintain the same speed. This is especially important if you are going a steep hill or a rough patch of road and you do not want the auto gearbox to change gears upshift/downshift. However to protect the transmission when you race the engine - finya kijiko mpaka mwisho,the transmission is automatically shifted even with hold being on.
I hope this gives you an idea of how important this is!
'The same sun that melts the wax,hardens the clay' - Niger
@the hawk... Thank you for opening my eyes... for a long time i never tampered with this button... But now...this is clear.. Calamities are of two kinds: misfortunes to ourselves,and good fortune to others
I think toyota NZE is pretty good in consumption too
There was the shell fuel challenge over the weekend. The winner was the one who used least fuel to Naivasha and Back. So the winner used 3.32 litres from Nairobi to Naivasha and back a distance of about 180Kilometres.
Is that even possible?
Market
Review
Best car on fuel consumption