Market
Review
Best car on fuel consumption
Rank: Member Joined: 9/7/2007 Posts: 168 Location: Nairobi
@ Njung'e
...they do,only that they are half,they fika somewhere like the driver's seat.
the voice of reason
Rank: Member Joined: 11/20/2006 Posts: 75 Location: Nairobi, Kenya
@ reddevil, I do about 10km a day,along mbagathi to community and use one full tank a month (weekdays only). considering there is no shags or city centre running and the car got new suspension when it landed from japan in jan last year,this cost 80k approximately then. Right now its in dire straits and went for diagnosis and the quote my hubby was given was for 80k plus other minor service things. so in my opinion the fuel consumption is ok but the front suspension... I can do everything through Christ who strengthens me: Phil 4: 13
@Mkristo, I know of a dude who has a 405......If he got to give you a lift,he stops to open the door for you....hiyo ni stress tupu....anyway..! 2Tusker8, I said it.....peppy says so too.Bimmers......front suspension ni bure kabisa...!!. Guka wa bijuti... Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
@ njung'e
... you've won,but at least you've known me and that i have one whose doors are all operational and am stress free
the voice of reason
@mkrist, easy man.....it's just that am skeptical but if it works for you,fine......be blessed. Guka wa bijuti... Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
by the way Njung'e I've just noticed your end note reads that are a Peugeot Grandpa,ama that's not what it means? then you must be knowing these cars well and am sure you agree with the points I earlier raised. Of course,that is if you have an encounter with these MOTs
the voice of reason
apologies for hijacking this discussion but today when having lunch i saw a news article on the new cheapest car in the world. it will be made by Tata of India. has 4 doors,an engine.....its important info.......total cost of the contraption....2000 UK thats roughly about 240k KSHS. the best bit is that the makers claim it will be so economical to run that all one will need to do is ...slow down as you drive by a petrol station,open the bonnet and the fumes from the petrol station will be sufficient to keep you going for 2 whole days....lakini usizime engine!
@pondi that Tata Nano has been in the works for sometime and it wont be cheap at all when it comes to kenya when u consider the taxes. A Lifan 520,the Chinese saloon sold by Alfa Motors costs ksh200k in china.
@njung'e,mkristo..the 405 discussion reminds me of a car auction i attended last week. A 405 (KAG) was sold for 45K. ....
@doh..the most economic car currently is a Seat (I'm forgetting the model). Does about 26kms to the litre!!
@Mkristo, Nooo...!!....hehe...!...Mlefu gave me that name....bure kabisa.....Have had a brush with a couple models but not a Peugeot.Not that i drive the oldest cars but i do have a 260z datsun fairlady from early 70s.....very lovely thing..........6 cylinder road animal that eats tarmac ........Not fuel friendly at all but i do take it out once in a very while.......It's nicknamed 'chuma ya Ureno'.....Never seen such a hardy car... Guka wa bijuti... Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
i do about 10-13 km /l depending on the service state of the car. A toyota 110 Nice The shifts of Fortune test the reliability of friends
@peppy/@reddevil Hi Guys. I couldn't resist the urge to throw in a spanner or two in to the works. Bimmer's and with specific reference to model E46 are squatting on aluminum cross arm suspensions. Our roads put a heavy toll on them. The good news is you can replace the bushes only at Ksh. 9,000.00 and squeeze out 40 - 50 klicks from them. Consumption wise they are up there with the legendary Toyota's but have no equal in sheer driving pleasure. They handle like they were made for angels and respond like a dream. Lastly,a used import from Japan is fairly priced for what you get. I recommend them. As a man thinketh so is he As A Man Thinketh So is He
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
2k worth of fuel from CBD to Nyeri and back on a RAv4(2000) model.. you guys are misleading..i read this post and decided to do the math..so i took that trip..damn..ok how to compute?
2rd. how to stop this skidding thing..at 60 I cant control on a corner..it makes that sound which sends others off the road to their safety..am thinking its something to do with weight..natafuta chuma mzito..or theres another way out.?
muthomi mugi aiikagia maitho kabere...
Rank: Member Joined: 11/20/2006 Posts: 75 Location: Nairobi, Kenya
@ Poggie, which garage would you recommend for the 9k parts? I can do everything through Christ who strengthens me: Phil 4: 13
@Peppy, Thanks that quite some insight,but am thinking 80K,for suspensions,mmmh...this means if i take 2 road trips to western Kenya and back,that is the damage to my pocket i should be prepared to foot..... Am impressed by your reviews on the BMW's consumption,the suspension...makes me swallow hard. @poggie, Is yours a workable solution? atleast you concur with peppy on the fuel, Anyway's I am yet to make a decision,but i was also considering VW Golf,but my mechanic told me NO NO.... Calamities are of two kinds: misfortunes to ourselves,and good fortune to others
Poggie, You cleared the air man.I always thot it was the wishbones.........Is it possible to get a non-aluminium interchangeable suspension from a European model car instead of hassles of replacing parts every now and then....?? Guka wa bijuti... Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
@reddevil,most mechanics specialise in toyota,so they will say NO! NO! to anything that isn't toyota - to preserve their business. Golf ni gari poa sana.
In the final analysis,we need to realise that an 1800cc efi with variable valve timing is the same - very close in fuel consumption no matter who made it. The technology is the same anyway,the only thing that makes a toyo consume slightly less than the german counterparts is the weight of the cars. Golf is far heavier than a Carina same capacity,so may be a .25 or 0.4 km less per litre,but is a far better car.
Make your decision indepently,then only rule it out if all reviews regarding ur choice point negative. It's a decision that sets u back a huge amount,so make it count,buy something that will put a smile on ur face every time u drive...
Bidii yangu
@peppy call Timothy Atinya based at Wilson opp. Rezourus (spelling) on 0722301362,0733952772. He is ex-Mashariki and knows his stuff. He drives a well maintained BMW. @njunge. I meant to say Control Arm Bushes. BMW in their wisdom felt they had to shed off weight up in the front so they went aluminum. The same with Mercs now,suspension and even engine blocks are aluminum in a quest for fuel efficiency. @reddevil. Between a VW Golf,Merc and BMW I would select the Bimmer any time. Aluminium is not as brittle as we are made to believe. They have their usefulness. As a man thinketh so is he As A Man Thinketh So is He
@poggie, I hear you,out of intuition,when my subaru engine died when some car wash guy...watered the engine... This my friend caused me grief,when was told bla subaru engine are made of aluminium blah this blah that...i had to buy a new engine....since that time no engine wash anymore and so did my fear of the name aluminium develop.... rationally i believe in the BMW.... lets observe the credit crunch before we release funds for any capex..... Calamities are of two kinds: misfortunes to ourselves,and good fortune to others
All along i've not heard anyone comment on the ideal mileage for diesel engines, preferably greater than 3,000 Cc. Anyone ? Seek ye first the finacial kingdom,and all else shall be added unto you. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
@Ngarana, I doubt there is any one of us who drives a tractor or a lorry to work......heheh...!! Guka wa bijuti... Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Market
Review
Best car on fuel consumption