wazua Tue, Dec 3, 2024

Rene mezza quits...is the end near for airtel?
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 8:42:03 AM

After months of denial rene mezza has joined the success wagon of vodacom tz,another senior manager resigned last month,50 employees shown the door,BIG NO to the planned 3g rollout this sept with nobody talking about it...when did the rain start and is the end near?kenya is not india.what works in india can fail to work here.
ali
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 8:54:27 AM

We just wait and see
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 8:58:47 AM

and he goes there in the same capacity....
Jamani
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 9:26:12 AM

mlennyma wrote:
After months of denial rene mezza has joined the success wagon of vodacom tz,another senior manager resigned last month,50 employees shown the door,BIG NO to the planned 3g rollout this sept with nobody talking about it...when did the rain start and is the end near?kenya is not india.what works in india can fail to work here.

They have to change tact, it costs money to roll-out sites and its not cheap even if the sites are from china....you buy cheap upgrading and integration becomes an issue and you pay double to upgrade/integrate.. cheap is expensive.. you try lowering your prices competition does the same and eats properly into you because of the numbers(subs).
To grow their business and stop the firings they are accustomed to... they should look at being cost effective rather than cheap. 3g they will achieve, though they have teething technical issues with some sites and BSCs leading to the delays to launch.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 10:19:28 AM

Thanks to him (and Barti) today I make calls without bothering whether am calling safcom or landline.

Kaykay
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 11:06:31 AM

I dont think when the CEO leaves a firm it spells the end of it. Michael Joseph went but Safaricom is still there.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 11:11:52 AM

@kaykay, spot on.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 12:15:26 PM

I think It will be a mistake to underestimate Airtel after Rene mezas exit (Mind you I am a safaricom die hard)

IF I was the owner of Bharti I would have done the same thing(let meza Go) for one, his marketing strategy was below par actually I thought he was using airtels money to promote a rivals brand..using green color in his adverts to mock safaricom subscribers hurt Airtel more than it built it.

Looking at the current airtel adverts you can notice a big change in strategy...FT reported sometime back that the son of Bhartis chairman(his immediate heir) resides and works in Nairobi and am sure he had something to do with the change over.

If I was safaricom I would be very wary of the current changeover.

Jamani
#9 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 1:34:47 PM

selah wrote:
I think It will be a mistake to underestimate Airtel after Rene mezas exit (Mind you I am a safaricom die hard)

IF I was the owner of Bharti I would have done the same thing(let meza Go) for one, his marketing strategy was below par actually I thought he was using airtels money to promote a rivals brand..using green color in his adverts to mock safaricom subscribers hurt Airtel more than it built it.

Looking at the current airtel adverts you can notice a big change in strategy...FT reported sometime back that the son of Bhartis chairman(his immediate heir) resides and works in Nairobi and am sure he had something to do with the change over.

If I was safaricom I would be very wary of the current changeover.

I agree with most of your suggestions however some key points are not correct, you should know how Bharti works from inside then blame Meza on the colours, the young man had no free hand and these were the strategies from India based on their model of fighting competition... Just ask J. Barorot what happened?
Jamani
#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 1:43:30 PM

Kaykay wrote:
I dont think when the CEO leaves a firm it spells the end of it. Michael Joseph went but Safaricom is still there.

It does not spell doom but it sends a clear message depending on the departure circumstances.
he is leaving going where? joining the board of the same company as advisor and supporting the new CEO or joining the other half of the competition to support competition at arms length?
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 2:14:55 PM

3G is all we want from them. Yet they keep sending us useless texts of ' you have qualified to win..... please sens SMS... each SMS@25/=" every time you call.

Kwani Airtell has also acquired a gambling licence? wapi CCK?
#12 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 2:38:01 PM

This is what I think happened...after bharti acquired zain they most probably asked the existing CEOs of what they needed to break the deadlock or to spur growth.

Now Rene meza had everything figured out,reduce the calling rates and then lobby for the MNP (A very simple strategy in my view)...His bosses gave him free reign to implement the strategy while at the same time watching him closely to see if his strategy would work.

Several quarters down the line the strategy was a cropper...so meza did the most honorable thing apply for a Job with the competition..which obviously are edgy having seen how bharti business model has survived for months with 'unsustainable'low rates....just like Bororot the competion was dieing to recruit him just to get the inside scoop of Bharti....

IMO I think we have seen nothing yet from Airtel....watch this site.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 9:49:56 PM

airtel is cleaning up the management and replacing with expats from india.
Jamani
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 06, 2011 10:17:47 PM

selah wrote:
This is what I think happened...after bharti acquired zain they most probably asked the existing CEOs of what they needed to break the deadlock or to spur growth.

Now Rene meza had everything figured out,reduce the calling rates and then lobby for the MNP (A very simple strategy in my view)...His bosses gave him free reign to implement the strategy while at the same time watching him closely to see if his strategy would work.

Several quarters down the line the strategy was a cropper...so meza did the most honorable thing apply for a Job with the competition..which obviously are edgy having seen how bharti business model has survived for months with 'unsustainable'low rates....just like Bororot the competion was dieing to recruit him just to get the inside scoop of Bharti....

IMO I think we have seen nothing yet from Airtel....watch this site.

You wont see anything much my dear even 3g is stuck up there and it aint coming anytime soon to reduce prices.... and when it comes it wont be in very many sites..... sites near you might not have it.....

#15 Posted : Wednesday, September 07, 2011 1:42:40 PM

This is where they should start...

Kenyans are becoming very aware of themselves...
They should hire Kenyans (good genuine ones) do Kenyan adverts.. BE KENYAN....

I know Indians are flocking into the country just like the west and the Chinese but i think its prudent they realise we also have our pride and cutting our niche.. hii attitude ya 'lets show them how its done" will undo them...
They should talk to the South Africans and Nigerians..