wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Rene Meza resigns as MD Airtel
#1 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 12:04:45 PM

Rene Meza has quit as MD - Airtel Kenya and moves to Tanzania's Vodacom in the same capacity
innairobi
#2 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 12:13:27 PM

Seems if you cannot beat them with lower prices...JOIN THEM!
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#3 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 12:26:04 PM

Mr. Shivan Bhargava is the new CEO at Airtel Kenya
Bettertry
#4 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 12:32:15 PM

NIKUHAMA... Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
wanyuru
#5 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 12:40:56 PM

...this after they closed the service centres outside nairobi and fired some 50 poor Kenyans....expect a name change soon. Got to be Arabic this time round
#6 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 12:48:56 PM

This is bad news, if something bad is happening to airtel, Safaricon will sc/*w us left right and centre.
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#7 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 12:56:28 PM

.....anothern delay in the 3G launch????
anasazi
#8 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 1:01:29 PM

Kencell/ Zain/ Airtel, what shall we do with you? Why are you not making money?
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#9 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 1:11:59 PM

"I would like to announce to the organization that Rene Meza has informed us of his decision to leave Airtel after serving the organization for the last 3 years. Rene has decided to move on and pursue his career interests outside Airtel."
#10 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 1:30:13 PM

Has crossed the border to join Vodacom TZ in the same capacity.He is replaced by Shivan Bhargava (???)
Jamani
#11 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 1:33:08 PM

anasazi wrote:
Kencell/ Zain/ Airtel, what shall we do with you? Why are you not making money?

Because they have thrown business ethics out of the window, and started being philanthropic.. they have concentrated their efforts in crying to one Mr Njo...sorry CCK,
#12 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 1:39:10 PM

wanyuru wrote:
...this after they closed the service centres outside nairobi and fired some 50 poor Kenyans....expect a name change soon. Got to be Arabic this time round

Hardly,the South Africans (MTN) have been dying to enter the Kenyan Market. I cant wait to have them in Kenya, then they can have their butt kicked by Safaricom
Jamani
#13 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 1:43:10 PM

Mr. Shivan Bhargava is the new CEO at Airtel Kenya

welcome Sirji Shivan Bhargava,
Burning Spear
#14 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 1:44:14 PM

this was expected
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Jamani
#15 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 1:45:53 PM

Robinhood wrote:
wanyuru wrote:

Hardly,the South Africans (MTN) have been dying to enter the Kenyan Market. I cant wait to have them in Kenya, then they can have their butt kicked by Safaricom

Not anytime soon.... they are careful what they buy...debe hapana
#16 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 1:47:17 PM

Aaah the cock has come home to roost. To what extent can we credit the current predicament Airtel Kenya is in for the man's 3 year stint?

- Now this CEO contracts are normally 3 years renewable. Could he be leaving for another reason?

- He was well reputed in growing Tigo's market share to over 20% in Tanzania as CEO, but he goes back to Tanzania as Managing Director Vodacom, perhaps reporting to CEO.

- And since he left, Vodacom has vanquished former leader Airtel in the same Tanzania market. Vodacom is the current leader with 43% market share, Zain second with 28%, and Tigo at 21%.

So maybe the problem is with the thunderous manner of the triumphant elephant. Business is war, and the soldier has chosen MPesa over Airtel money.

#17 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 1:47:24 PM

The surprise is not that he has resigned, but why it took so long for airtel to let him go.

Philosophically, airtel is the consummate minute factory, Meza was a complete misfit in that dispensation. Who remembers when we used to complain (true or illusion) that zain was the most expensive mobile provider? How can the guy who captained this ship change spots overnight and adopt airtel ways?
Jamani
#18 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 1:47:41 PM

Burning Spear wrote:
this was expected

Even for Sirji Shivan Bhargava it is expected
#19 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 1:48:38 PM

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...s&t=14749#post213629
#20 Posted : Monday, September 05, 2011 1:56:08 PM

Has crossed the border to join Vodacom TZ in the same capacity.He is replaced by Shivan Bhargava (???)

leaving a house that is on fire? i would like to tell this Shivan Bhar-whatever that Airtell should stop inundating my phone with endless messages of promotions '''''very irritating...