wazua Sat, Dec 6, 2025

Beautiful kenya
#1 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 8:51:00 AM

Kit Mikayi (stones of the first wife)......share the other beautiful scenes please..Kenyan only!!

See it here..
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Kit-Mikayi.JPG

@sk admin....why am i not able to paste anything..??? And where are those ground breaking changes you promised??? I still cant write njung'e correctly..!!!
#2 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 10:18:00 AM

Nothing beats the scene at Thika road in an accident 2day morning involving an EABL truck....wenyeji walivamia keroro mbaya mbovu....only in Kenya....Discover the magic of Africa!

Can silence be misquoted?
young
#3 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 11:49:00 AM

I concur

AFRICAN INVESTOR
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 7:55:00 AM

The Iten - Kabarnet road....

When driving on this road,if you see another car,you cannot tell whether it is ahead or behind you or whether it is moving in the same direction or in the opposite direction as you....

You don't believe me? Go there and see for yourself!!

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 8:02:00 AM

@kingfisher; here you are.....

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 8:21:00 AM

@mukiha

hahahahaahahahahaha! you made my morning..... what do you mean you cant tell if its coming your way or moving away? kwani what happens to the bonnet or the rear of the other car? ama how is the road?

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 8:40:00 AM

@Wendz;

You have to go there to believe it!

The road winds...and....winds...and....winds...and....winds...and....
#8 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 8:41:00 AM

@mukiha....thanks for the copy / paste......@sk......still want to know what magic I need to do in order to be able to paste a picture here.

@mukiha again........weka picha ya hiyo ingine hapa pia I see if I cannot differentiate a boot from a bonnet as @Wendz put it..!!...

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 9:01:00 AM

@king.... ama someone good with the area to paste the google map link of that road.

Kioko_Nesa
#10 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 9:03:00 AM

What is happening with this thread,it does not show on my computer!

Kioko
Djinn
#11 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 9:09:00 AM

@mukiha - do you mean the section,from Eldoret,as you leave the town towards Nairobi,then you take a left at Petro...the one that runs through Eldama Ravine,,,over Kerio Valley etc etc all the way past Kabarak University into Nakuru town? I recall that is one of the most magnificent and scenic roads to travel (but the road went to the dogs I hear - was last on that in 2005-2006).

Another scenic route,if you are going to Kisumu....somewhere after Kericho,AFTER the turn that leads away from the road to Gusii land....and now on the main road to Kisumu,is a township called Kapsoit where you take a left and go towards Sondu...it adds abt 12 km to the trip but VERY much worth it. It emerges abt 10-15km before Kisumu,I mean 'Kisoom Citi' - tho!

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#12 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 9:24:00 AM

@Djinn; That's quite scenic road,the Eldama Ravine to Eldoret,but it's not the one I' talking about.

Starting from Nakuru,drive Northwards on the Kabarak road all the way to Marigat [about 110km away...you will cross the Equator 3 times!!! first Sout-North,then North-South and finally South-North again] Pass the Marigat turn-off and head towards the Lake Baringo entry. Take the next LEFT turn towards Kabarnet.

Climb the hills and stop here-and-there to view L. Baringo from above...a very refreshing view. keep driving past Sacho until you reach Kabarnet town at the top of the hills.

Stop there and take a breather...you will need it!!!!!!

Now begin the descent into the Kerio Valley....and watch out because you can easily get out of breath in shock and awe.....

This road goes all the to Iten town and the onwards to Eldoret.

BUT; if you really want to get the BEST view,you have to start your site-seeing from the Iten side....the escarpment is much more pronounced....

From Eldoret take the Iten road which is right inside town....

Djinn
#13 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 9:50:00 AM

@Mukiha - I've checked it out on google maps - I have a road trip due and do not mind adding a few hundred km to it. This route - B4 then C51 and C53 then rejoin A104 in Eldoret might be abt 25-30% longer compared to the A104 direct to Eldoret.

@Kingfisher - my phone screen broke but I got your message - but we will catch that summit very very soon smile

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#14 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 10:56:00 AM

@djinn.........wilkomen....Summit all the tyme.....I hear now there is a 'Guiness Summit'

@mukiha.......like @djinn said,I too have a trip to make soon....thank you

@wendz.......I am sure I will need some good company...how about teaming up..!!

Lakini @mukiha next tyme beba kamera......hat simu hiko nayo..

If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 11:35:00 AM

@kingfisher

will only need to carry my old time richot and we are good to go....... (I dont remember you earning any summits from me ........ so seems i will show up with my hands in the pocket)

Djinn
#16 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 11:49:00 AM

I'm surprised @Leona has not clicked this post...wapi yeye?

#17 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 11:52:00 AM

That iten-kabarnet-marigat-naks route! Woi! Thats the longest,hottest,hilliest route btn naks n eldi. Magnificently breathtaking through the heartland of the larger Baringo and the famous kerio valley. U will oftenly find tons of maize drying on the hot winding empty road. Na wale wanasema eldama ravine,naona nyinyi bado jua kenya...

Can silence be misquoted?
#18 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 12:33:00 PM

@Simonkabz;

I agree; that is not the route to take when you are traveling from Eldoret to Nakuru. The road itself is the destination!!!!! You go there to see the country.

BTW,Leave Eld early so that you can get time to stop over at L. Baringo [see the hippos and crocks] and L.Bogoria see the hot water geysers...then spend the night at Nakuru....

Seq Lu
#19 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 12:47:00 PM

Magical kenya ... io ya keroro jo!! lol

If a man hasn't discovered anything he can die for,then he is not worth living!
They keep moving the cheese

stolen from opensuse forums :)
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 2:39:00 PM

@Dinn & Kingfisher;

To get the best view,make sure you drive to Eld on the main road [A109],then start from there to Iten,and down the valley.

At Iten,watch out because you can easily miss the sharp corner that leads to the valley....and you will find your car rolling down 500m to the bottom of the escarpment!!!