wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

Middle-class
Jamani
#41 Posted : Monday, August 22, 2011 5:25:09 PM

Sober wrote:
African coloner. Do you mean a person with a 100k budget to spend on rent or total income.

Thats a sober question
jasonhill
#42 Posted : Monday, August 22, 2011 10:16:42 PM

african coloner wrote:
where do people who earns 100k a month lives?

Not Karen or Runda that's for sure. Unless you are talking 100k Euros. Not Upper Hill unless you have a roommate or spouse making the same 100k Ksh as you. But you could swing Buru Buru, South C, or South B for that kind of coin... or commute to Ongata Rongai.

If I were making that kind of money, I'd go for Buru Buru. Easy close shopping, it's close to the city, there are a ton of high-tech matatus with WiFi, power ports, heated and cooled massaging seats, and on-board manicures smile , the phase 4 ladies are beautiful, and the Buru Buru sheng/slang will make you cool and trendy when you speak it anywhere in the world that Kenyans reside.

A T-Shirt that says "I'm from Phase Four" will get you into any Kenyan bash in Atlanta, Boston, London, Columbus, Kansas City, or Dallas- that's a $10 to $20 savings every time you wear it under a sport coat or blazer.

Best,

Hill
KenyanLyrics
#43 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 8:09:22 AM

I've seen people living in Kile and Upper Hill on salaries of just slightly above 100k per month.
Findel
#44 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 9:52:23 AM

KenyanLyrics wrote:
I've seen people living in Kile and Upper Hill on salaries of just slightly above 100k per month.

Not possible. 100K translates to about 70k after tax and this is the rent for a 2 brm apartment in these areas. Kwani they do not have other financial needs other than rentEh?
Don’t cry over spilled milk…it could have been beer!
Barrywhite
#45 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 10:39:09 AM

You can live in Runda or Karen on 100k (Kes not euros) salo if really all you want is to live there. But then it has to be in the SQ, becuase the going rate of SQs in these areas is 20 to 30k per month!
The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
eco
#46 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 10:50:36 AM

KenyanLyrics wrote:

Then, what and how do they save? It is foolish to live beyond your means, even if it for free!

Jamani
#47 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 11:27:00 AM

eco wrote:
KenyanLyrics wrote:

Then, what and how do they save? It is foolish to live beyond your means, even if it for free!

Well these could be the some of the guys that PLO is looking for
Paul_Gitari_Karingithi
#48 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 12:55:56 PM

i feel that being middle class in kenya determined by your lifestyle more that income or where you live. Thats why you find a 45 year old guy with his own company and property all around nai with a 3 car garage living in Buru and a 25 year old earning 30k and living in a 20k sq in kile. the social economic classification of A, B, C1, C2 D & E is flawed as it focuses on income, residential area and only takes into account the bread winners income and not household income.

A better way would be the Living Standard Measure, LSM as we call it that divides the Kenyan population in 17 LSM with 1 being the poorest & LSM 17 being the richest. Middle class from an LSM perspective starts from LSM 7 to around LSM 13 being based on the standard of living.
Toxicity
#49 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 1:08:35 PM

I think it is how u spend ur income.....the middle class buy liabilities thinking they are buying investments.......
update president set president = speaker where president is null
#50 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 1:25:44 PM

Paul_Gitari_Karingithi wrote:
i feel that being middle class in kenya determined by your lifestyle more that income or where you live. Thats why you find a 45 year old guy with his own company and property all around nai with a 3 car garage living in Buru and a 25 year old earning 30k and living in a 20k sq in kile. the social economic classification of A, B, C1, C2 D & E is flawed as it focuses on income, residential area and only takes into account the bread winners income and not household income.

A better way would be the Living Standard Measure, LSM as we call it that divides the Kenyan population in 17 LSM with 1 being the poorest & LSM 17 being the richest. Middle class from an LSM perspective starts from LSM 7 to around LSM 13 being based on the standard of living.

Please elaborate more on the LSM bundles e.g LSM 1 is this lifestyle, LSM 2 is that life style etc.
african coloner
#51 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 1:36:21 PM

KenyanLyrics wrote:

i am heading to narok to be a gold digger, where else can you earn more than 100k a month?
#52 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 2:03:22 PM

I know of a wazuan who drives an NZE and lives in Highrise/or somewhere in West and makes so much noise that "we the middle class will bla bla bla..."
Ha ha ha haaaa...

RedStar
#53 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 2:41:46 PM

Laughing out loudly trule @ impunity?? Laughing out loudly
'Hope' is not a strategy. Take Action!
#54 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 2:46:39 PM

You want to know who is a member of the middle class? Are you a member of wazua... look at yourself,you are middle class!
Jamani
#55 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 2:53:36 PM

You want to know who is a member of the middle class? Are you a member of wazua... look at yourself,you are middle class!

By just being a member of wazua? class is raised or lowered?
jaykay
#56 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 10:44:33 PM

Why this obsession with class? A subconcious hangover from the british?
KenyanLyrics
#57 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 11:25:31 PM

eco wrote:
KenyanLyrics wrote:

That's the thing, just because you see people living large doesn't mean they are making sound financial decisions. There was someone who posted right here on Wazua some time back how they were scouting for a house that would see them spend around 50% income on rent.
TPK
#58 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2011 8:08:58 AM

jaykay wrote:
Why this obsession with class? A subconcious hangover from the british?

Middle class in Kenya = “struggling to keep heads above water” class d'oh!
As long as you're going to be thinking anyway, think big
bird_man
#59 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2011 8:45:40 AM

Does it really matter what "class" one belongs to?
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Jamani
#60 Posted : Wednesday, August 24, 2011 9:03:50 AM

bird_man wrote:
Does it really matter what "class" one belongs to?

unfortunately it does