#1 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 4:43:07 PM

That is Samuel Eto'os purported new weekly wages in Kshs according to today's CBK mean exchange rates at some tongue twisting Russian Club.It makes him the world's highest paid athlete.

http://www.mirrorfootbal...layer-article783604.html
#2 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 4:55:08 PM

bkismat wrote:
That is Samuel Eto'os purported new weekly wages in Kshs according to today's CBK mean exchange rates at some tongue twisting Russian Club.It makes him the world's highest paid athlete.http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Inter-Milan-Samuel-Eto-o-set-300-000-per-week-move-Anzhi-Makhachkala-making-him-worlds-best-paid-player-article783604.html

Highest paid soccer player, not athelete!!!!

This guy just continues to earn more and more, kama pesa iko, chukua: I am happy for him!!!!
#3 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 6:19:39 PM

@McReggae,from that link,its the greatest athlete and not greatest soccer player.Understand this is salary and not gross income which might come from royalties,adverts,sponsorships etc;let Eto'o be the highest paid athlete in peace!
Amen.

#4 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 11:18:03 AM

@Imounity
For athletes like F1 drivers, golfers et al you can never divorce the royalties/sponsorships/endorsements

Check out what Kobe Bryant earns:
His icome 2010-2011 was USD 53M and salary alone at USD 24.8M way above what E'too will get in a year!!!
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 11:44:15 AM

@Imounity
For athletes like F1 drivers, golfers et al you can never divorce the royalties/sponsorships/endorsements

His icome 2010-2011 was USD 53M and salary alone at USD 24.8M way above what E'too will get in a year!!!

...Etoo is moving to a very obscure club….for money…Who will ever notice him once he goes to Russia? These players should realize that money is not all. Isnt what he is earning in his current club enough? Robinho refused to be sold to a club in Turkey…Don’t know how much they offered because he knows he has to remain relevant. How will he live in Russia…The club may be offering him so much…but what about the lifestyle…There may not be so many places where he can spent this loot. If you ask me, him and his agent have lost it. Once he moves to Russia, that will be the end of him. That is my take!
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 12:24:39 PM

@Imounity

...Etoo is moving to a very obscure club….for money…Who will ever notice him once he goes to Russia? These players should realize that money is not all. Isnt what he is earning in his current club enough? Robinho refused to be sold to a club in Turkey…Don’t know how much they offered because he knows he has to remain relevant. How will he live in Russia…The club may be offering him so much…but what about the lifestyle…There may not be so many places where he can spent this loot. If you ask me, him and his agent have lost it. Once he moves to Russia, that will be the end of him. That is my take!

Eto'o has won everyithin to be won in world football(CL, La Liga Scudetto,Supercups,Pichichi,European Golden boots,scored in 2 different champions league finals,Olympic gold medal, Africans Nations cup). In fact the only thing missing is the world cup. There is nothing left for him to prove to anybody. Let him get the loot.
grolut
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 12:28:43 PM

I remember watching a documentary on football in Russia and hearing a 14 year old say "We don't mind foreigners playing on our teams so long as they aren't n**gers." Hopefully he is a minority otherwise Eto'o is in for some serious name calling.
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 12:33:03 PM

grolut wrote:
I remember watching a documentary on football in Russia and hearing a 14 year old say "We don't mind foreigners playing on our teams so long as they aren't n**gers." Hopefully he is a minority otherwise Eto'o is in for some serious name calling.

How many times was he called the same in Spain? Sometimes bananas were thrown at him. It is something he black players get used to when they go to Europe.
#9 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 12:41:51 PM

bkismat wrote:

Eto'o has won everyithin to be won in world football(CL, La Liga Scudetto,Supercups,Pichichi,European Golden boots,scored in 2 different champions league finals,Olympic gold medal, Africans Nations cup). In fact the only thing missing is the world cup. There is nothing left for him to prove to anybody. Let him get the loot.

With age catching up and having accomplished alot, he might just be thinking of retirement... and what better way than consolidate your earnings and make the maximum out of your career.

What the use of being recognized as an MD when you are taking the clerk's salary on the average labour market? Kazi bure! but anyway, depends on individual's actualization requirements.....
#10 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 12:43:13 PM

Talent pays, I wonder what we do everyday being employed?
Can we all identify our inherent talents!

wanyuru
#11 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 2:03:19 PM

grolut wrote:

pay me 45 mio a week and call me all the names in the world! Heck,you can even call me niclasclause!! whatever! Dude is 30+, two years down the line he'll be playing less and munching them dollars!
#12 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 2:11:27 PM

Talent pays, I wonder what we do everyday being employed?
Can we all identify our inherent talents!

wewe ni mzee. try with your kids.
#13 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 2:28:37 PM

grolut wrote:

...The first time he went to play in Europe, his team mates could not share anything with him...Alikuwa ametegewa vitu zake... Afadhali nikufe maskini and I preserve utu wangu!!!
wasee
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 2:31:22 PM

wanyuru wrote:
grolut wrote:

pay me 45 mio a week and call me all the names in the world! Heck,you can even call me niclasclause!! whatever! Dude is 30+, two years down the line he'll be playing less and munching them dollars!

kangi
#15 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 4:44:51 PM

grolut wrote:

...The first time he went to play in Europe, his team mates could not share anything with him...Alikuwa ametegewa vitu zake... Afadhali nikufe maskini and I preserve utu wangu!!!

@Magigi U serious?Esp when ur comin from a humble background as Eto'o who didnt even know his dad. But all the same, he went thro some madha.... in the end, who's laughing all the way to the bank now?Utu wake sasa unatambuliwa.
Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
amga
#16 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2011 5:01:06 AM

some people have to use the rough roads in life just to clear the stones from our path in the future. this is well exemplified in all of life, some people had monkey calls be4 uefa and fifa took notice eh
#17 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2011 10:58:37 AM

It could be a Russian project to get their people get used to Blacks before 2018. Remember racism claims almost scuttled their bid.
#18 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2011 12:13:56 PM

wasee wrote:
wanyuru wrote:
grolut wrote:

For Sport
#19 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 9:59:02 AM

"And of course, there's nothing sinful about making sacrifices for money. Eto'o doesn't owe his fans any explanations.

But he surely owed us more of his brilliance, which will now be dimmed."

Eto'o has sold out his greatness