ARSENAL VS UDINESE -TUESDAY
#21 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2011 12:49:53 PM

@ Mwenza.....Udinese last match was in May 2011, hawa tutatoa uchungu nao!

Aguero ni mambo mbaya, if Tevez stays then Man City will be the team to beat this season.

......Was tempted not to watch this game but now I will have to.
#22 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2011 12:54:14 PM

@Marex,Shut up before Aguero hears you....Man,didn't Mancini buy top class.If you watched City last evening,then you know that mboy is going to hang keepers.He is simply mesmerising.

I watched that game and I must agree wtih you that in Aquero, mancini got real talent!!!!!
#23 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2011 1:02:54 PM

Gosh....Had forgotten Vampire is in this team.....and i read somewhere that besides Nasri,Mancini wants Celtic's winger Paddy McCourt (Derry Pele)....that would make a terrifying trio.
#24 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2011 1:21:16 PM

I hope we loose this game and not qualify for the champions league,it might make AW n the board spend some huge chunk of money in buying quality.The more we progress AW will come up with some lame excuses which we are tired of hearing.We need trophies n less excuses
Burning Spear
#25 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2011 2:05:54 PM

dossy7 wrote:
I hope we loose this game and not qualify for the champions league,it might make AW n the board spend some huge chunk of money in buying quality.The more we progress AW will come up with some lame excuses which we are tired of hearing.We need trophies n less excuses

A loss is not the best but the Arsenal board must do something.To me,I believe that Wenger has no problem in spending but the Board has.

From the below copy and paste article,am now believing the Board is the monkey.

By Wayne Veysey | Chief correspondent

Arsene Wenger reveals to close friends that he is preparing for his final season as Arsenal manager
The Gunners boss has privately conceded that his reign at the Emirates is coming to an end, with newly rich Paris Saint-Germain keeping a close eye on his situation

The Frenchman has three years remaining on the new contract that he signed last summer but has privately conceded that his tenure at the club is coming to an end.

The longest-serving manager in Arsenal’s history has already begun considering other options in football because he fears his powerbase will eventually be diminished by new owner Stan Kroenke and has been shocked by the growing criticism he has received from supporters over the last 12 months.

Goal.com understands that Wenger met a Manchester City delegation led by chief executive Garry Cook and football administrator Brian Marwood at a hotel in Kensington, west London, in May although there is no confirmation that the Frenchman either sought to or was asked to replace Roberto Mancini at Etihad Stadium.

Nevertheless, the Arsenal manager held informal talks with the new owners of Qatari-owned Paris Saint-Germain this summer to discuss the prospect of him taking over as manager at the French club.

PSG - who have spent heavily on new players, including £37 million on Javier Pastore, over the last two months - targeted Wenger as their No.1 choice to use the club’s financial muscle to restore their place at the summit of French football and establish them among the Champions League elite. The club has not won Ligue 1 since 1994.

Wenger, who owns an apartment close to PSG’s Parc des Princes stadium, rejected the opportunity although he admitted in an interview with a Strasbourg TV station in June that he has long-standing friendships with senior officials at the club. It is believed that the Arsenal manager has had a loose arrangement for many years to advise PSG on transfers and recruitment strategy.

One source said that Wenger has established a “great relationship” with the French club’s Qatari investors, who could make another move for him if PSG underachieve this season under new sporting director Leonardo and manager Antoine Kombouare.

His relationship with Arsenal supporters has become increasingly tense over the last year, particularly after the club extended their trophy drought to six years following a disastrous finish to last season.

Wenger promised that he would be “very active” in the transfer market in the summer as he pledged to rebuild a team that has faded badly in recent campaigns and, while he has spent relatively large sums on two attacking midfielders, Gervinho and Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, with the new Premier League season about to kick off, he has yet to address the club’s chronic defensive frailties.

The Frenchman still retains the full support of the Arsenal board and there is believed to be little appetite for change at the top of a club whose ambition has generally been restricted to securing a Champions League place, something Wenger will do for the 14th consecutive season if his team beat Udinese in a qualifier later this month.

However, Wenger knows that the criticism from the stands will reach unprecedented levels if Arsenal begin what is a tricky start to the season in sluggish fashion, particularly if it follows the anticipated sales of Cesc Fabregas and Samir Nasri to Barcelona and Manchester City.

Those close to the Frenchman say he increasingly feels it is time for a new challenge, a situation exacerbated by the growing uncertainty caused by Kroenke’s takeover and Alisher Usmanov’s increased shareholding.

He is proud of his record of honouring his contracts throughout his coaching career and has consistently stated he will do the same at Arsenal. The cost of paying off the Frenchman’s £6million-a-year contract, which is supplemented by a £1m bonus for winning the Champions League, would mean that only a cataclysmic start to the season would lead to him being removed from his post before Christmas.

Wenger, who is 62 in October, has no medium-term plans for either retirement or a less hands-on role ‘upstairs’. He wants to continue in management and the prospect of overseeing an ambitious project in club football is one that appeals to him.

Wenger’s agent Leon Angel refused to comment on his client’s situation.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#26 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2011 11:52:50 PM

A very slim 1:0 win for the Gunners.
#27 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 7:38:50 AM

jguru wrote:
A very slim 1:0 win for the Gunners.

A win nonetheless Applause
#28 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 7:49:08 AM

@ BS....Gervinho will feature in tonight's match but i wish we had RvP in that line up as well. Like i said earlier Udinese haven't signed anyone after losing three of their best players last season....My prediction 4-1 to Arsenal.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly \

I only have one question @Taz...were you serious when making that prediction or you were pulling our legs? Coz that was one hell of a pull.

If you had asked me before the game I'd have predicted 2-1 to the gunners - I was sure Udinese would get an away goal and they would have if it wasn't for the hugely impressive Woscie on goal...that without a doubt will be your key player for the year, especially if he's afforded the back cover he deserves. Him and Aaron ramsey were rated highest in perfomance by goal.com with Chamakh declared flop of the match.

http://www.goal.com/en-g...-udinese/player-ratings

The slim lead gives you an edge going to Udinese and if Woscie retains his form then you guys might just squeeze through, especially if you score the all important away goal. However, I expect Di Natale to score this time.

As @dotty puts it rightly, you'd rather not qualify for the board to see the importance of spending for the club...but hio ni yenu. Sisi tunangoja Sneijder who has agreed to take a pay cut. Fingers crossed

#29 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 8:09:48 AM

a slim win is dangerous to the home side.
#30 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 8:29:24 AM

@ Smano....Despite our poor performance we had several chances to get the 4-1 scoreline as i had predicted. I still don't believe Udinese are a threat...kama hawakufunga jana they won't do it in the second leg, we are always vulnerable at home. I don't agree with those saying they'd rather we get knocked out, i don't see why any potential top signing would be interested in a club which is not in the CL (ask Liverpool). However, i'm praying Pray for a lose against Liverpool this weekend, it might do the trick especially since it will be a home match. Thank God Djourou got injured, surely Wenger has to bring in a defender. Chamakh and Rosicky should feature only in the Carling cup.

Anyway 1-0 isn't so bad especially since we'll have RvP available for the second leg. We will be under no pressure to win the match, we can even afford to lose and still qualify all thanks to Wojciech Szczesny...now thats a world class keeper.

I hate to burst your bubble but i don't see how Sneijder would take a pay cut of 60,000 pounds (plus taxes) just to move to Man Utd. Inter are under no pressure to sell him and the player is also not so determined to leave.....I think he might end up at Man City with Tevez moving the other way.
#31 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 9:10:31 AM

@ Smano....Goal.com is just full of Arsenal haters, this is more objective

http://www.espnstar.com/...-Udinese-Player-Ratings/
#32 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 1:27:18 PM

@Taz,
It's by God's grace that the result remains what it is.udinese hit the woodwork twice and Sczerny made to out of the world fine saves....Djorou is out and so is Gibbs....Defence kaput.

!Smano,
Sneider aint coming to Old Trafford.
http://www.telegraph.co....ent-Massimo-Moratti.html
#33 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 2:41:47 PM

@ Guka....Sasa mtu kama Chamakh, what was he doing on the pitch, did he even have an attempt on goal? For once in a very long time i wished we had Bendtner instead.

I honestly thought Di Natalie's free kick was going in. It appears we've finally got a keeper we can rely on, if only Wenger can complement this by signing Gary Cahill.
#34 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 5:53:57 PM

Thanks for the link @Taz, at least both observers agreed on one thing...Chamakh sucked.

I hope that even if Sneijder doesn't come to Man Utd that at least we get a creative playmaker in the next 2 weeks or the January signing...Fergie has been insistent that there's no player in the amrket who fits the bill that is available. Shinji Kagawa of Borussia Dortmund has always been a behind the scenes target (he's a complete midfielder if you watch Bundesliga)and has himself expressed desire to play for Man Utd one day but all we can do is wait...EPL tuko sawa but Cleverly, Anderson and soon-to-be-fit Fletcher (hopefully) hawatoshi mboga CL
#35 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 2:15:36 PM

The Fabregas tale

6years at Arsenal = 0 trophies.

10 minutes at Barcelona = 1 trophy!!!!!
#36 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 2:33:45 PM

The Fabregas tale

6years at Arsenal = 0 trophies.

10 minutes at Barcelona = 1 trophy!!!!!

6years=6x365x24x60 = 3,153,600 minutes

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

You mean he achieved in 10 mins what he failed to achieve in 3,153,600 mins elsewhere? This is truly what success is made of!!
#37 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 2:41:20 PM

I hate to burst your bubble but i don't see how Sneijder would take a pay cut of 60,000 pounds (plus taxes) just to move to Man Utd. Inter are under no pressure to sell him and the player is also not so determined to leave.....I think he might end up at Man City with Tevez moving the other way.

Kweli some people will never believe the obvious.
#38 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 2:58:12 PM

@ Mwenza.....and what is the obvious?
#39 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 3:25:35 PM

@ Mwenza.....and what is the obvious?

1. That even if sneijder is paid 190K by Man U this is effectively taking a huge pay cut due to the tax regime in England

2.That its a cinch the player is desperate to join Man U

3.That Inter will soon offload him to Man U

4. Last but not least sneijder will be a Man U player before end of August

5. Habari ndio hiyo.

6. Lets compare notes on 1st september.
#40 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 3:50:34 PM

@ Mwenza....I know nothing is certain until the transfer window closes but what we are all sure of is this

http://www.skysports.com...8,11095_7107145,00.html

So where did you get details of the 190K.....from the same people who told us he was expected to complete his move a month ago? According to Inter's President, they have never discussed Sneijder's exit with Man Utd.