wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

KFC Madharau!!!!!!!!
sihingwa
#21 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 10:35:42 AM

Mtu Biz wrote:

The shocker for me was seeing how grown men bought into the hype...

Whatever happened to African Men?!?! Sad

Was also wondering what's up with full grown men (not teenagers) being sucked into the hype...maybe it is just the KFC name and also for those who have heard the stories from 'majuu'(but have never been there!)
#22 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 10:38:11 AM

Mtu Biz wrote:

The shocker for me was seeing how grown men bought into the hype...

Whatever happened to African Men?!?! Sad

i agree, a grown up african man should not queue for chips and broiler chicken - much healthier to eat half a loaf of brown bread and milk.
#23 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 10:48:23 AM

dossy7 wrote:
I hear that a bowl of chicken wings n some few fries were going for 2500kshs. Mbuzi mzima hawa watu wa kentucky warudi kwao

Rem Nandos?

These guys will be dead and closed before Christmas, let inflation keep raging at 15%+ and watch!
#24 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 10:50:12 AM

mnandii wrote:
Hii Kenya Farmers Council iko bande gani ya Nairobi?

KFC=Kentucky Fried Chicken. d'oh!

Shame on you Shame on you its Kenyans Fattening Center!
#25 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 10:56:46 AM

dossy7 wrote:
I hear that a bowl of chicken wings n some few fries were going for 2500kshs. Mbuzi mzima hawa watu wa kentucky warudi kwao

we have no pride in ourselves. That's why we'd rather buy expensively from the American brand and ignore our own.
Olu
#26 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 11:04:22 AM

subzero wrote:
i feel insulted by this guy about his remarks about kenyan potato and the fact that we are struggling to get the right " speck of potato to grow a consistent chip"

When CocaCola was forced to use real passion fruit in their juices, they went to the farmer and gave them the seed and they now buy the passion fruit from them.

I think this approach at least make them more in touch with kenyan rather than madharau of importing.... in any case, kwani what special potato can egypt produce that we can't!!?

yet they get water from us..Lake Victoria..the irony hurts
#27 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 11:09:29 AM

I try as much as possible to eat in restaurants that cook road runner chickens. Wachana na the broilers.They have no taste.
#28 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 11:28:29 AM

This is a corporation with no social aspect in it... they just want to come, mint money and head their way... otherwise, why didn't they say they will engage the wakulima here to improve on their produce so that they can make a difference in the community where they are doing business? Irresponsible Corporation is all i can say! Unfortunately, they know us too well.... they can come around, do whatever they want without any conditions or expected responsibility from either the government or the wanjikus...
#29 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 12:04:04 PM

mnandii wrote:
Hii Kenya Farmers Council iko bande gani ya Nairobi?

KFC=Kentucky Fried Chicken. d'oh!

No No NO. Wacha lies.
KFC = Kuguru Food Complex.
#30 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 12:14:29 PM

Saw hundreds of stupid Kenyans lining up to eat overpriced fried kuku just coz its packaged in a red box with a white Southern American gentleman on it who prob fought to keep the slave trade alive.

IRONY!!!!!!!!!!!

I don't know about the "stupid Kenyans" part, I bet there are also some "stupid Kenyan farmers" supplying KFC and some "stupid Kenyans" employed by KFC. Its a free market economy.

As for the slave trade bit, i think its time to let go, that was another era/(error)
#31 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 12:21:35 PM

This is a corporation with no social aspect in it... they just want to come, mint money and head their way... otherwise, why didn't they say they will engage the wakulima here to improve on their produce so that they can make a difference in the community where they are doing business? Irresponsible Corporation is all i can say! Unfortunately, they know us too well.... they can come around, do whatever they want without any conditions or expected responsibility from either the government or the wanjikus...

@ Wendz, I think the person in town is just a Kaburu businessman branching outhere (same as the Coke bottling plants), I don't think the company itself (KFC) has come in yet.

I will certainly stick to my kuku kienyeji and mbuzi, but have no problems with others who want to experience KFC.

N.B. For those who have not tried their chicken, trust me the marinating is fantastic (atleast the one's I ate huko majuu). Don't sit back and start defending your tuff, there is a reason they are all over the world.
#32 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 12:32:02 PM

I see lots of business opportunities here. But they are for the brave.
nifunze
#33 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 12:36:52 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Saw hundreds of stupid Kenyans lining up to eat overpriced fried kuku just coz its packaged in a red box with a white Southern American gentleman on it who prob fought to keep the slave trade alive.

IRONY!!!!!!!!!!!

I don't know about the "stupid Kenyans" part, I bet there are also some "stupid Kenyan farmers" supplying KFC and some "stupid Kenyans" employed by KFC. Its a free market economy.

As for the slave trade bit, i think its time to let go, that was another era/(error)

I concur, It's a free market. If pips want to spend 2500k for kuku na fries they are free to do so without being labelled "Stupid"....its in this same forum we spend 5k to 8k buying foreign perfumes. Double standards? or just #peculiarkenyans? Truth be told I rather by a 5k cologne than down KFC for 2500k!
For Sport
#34 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 1:01:02 PM

nifunze wrote:

I concur, It's a free market. If pips want to spend 2500k for kuku na fries they are free to do so without being labelled "Stupid"....its in this same forum we spend 5k to 8k buying foreign perfumes. Double standards? or just #peculiarkenyans? Truth be told I rather by a 5k cologne than down KFC for 2500k!

I'm curious, which are the local ones?
#35 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 1:18:13 PM

Kogello Fried Chicken
Apple Bees
#36 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 2:57:12 PM

KFC normally partner with PEPSI. I hope this is the case in Kenya. McDonald's partner with Coke. Those who visited, any news? And is PEPSI officially back?
#37 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 3:48:06 PM

They knew hot to create a hype and capitalize on it. They also seem to know their market well. I'm sure they still have clips of the famous 'Kutazama bla bla bra... nikutazama chapaa'. I can't pity anyone who falls for the true lie.

And i din't know i have been feeding on in-bred viazi all this long..
#38 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 4:08:21 PM

IRONY!!!!!!!!!!!

dont worry friend....kenyans are just like those white scavenger birds...today they crowd a place and the following day they are not there...all gone!!!..peculiar kenyan habit/behaviour...
pn
#39 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2011 1:39:48 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
I see lots of business opportunities here. But they are for the brave.

That's exactly how i see it too and i feel that it is time that serious entrepreneurs angle themselves for such and many other opportunities that will be coming up as more and more investors get interested in our market, because opportunity favors the prepared.
Jitahidi
#40 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2011 1:53:59 PM

Apple Bees wrote:
KFC normally partner with PEPSI. I hope this is the case in Kenya. McDonald's partner with Coke. Those who visited, any news? And is PEPSI officially back?

KFC (Yum! brands)is owned by Pepsi Corps but they decided to run it as a separate company. Thats the KFC's connection with Pepsi.