wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

ELMA - This could be Safaricom's new big threat!!!
earthvoice
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 3:59:22 PM

As far as mobile money technology goes, Elma stands on the threshold of a revolution that began with the launch of Safaricom’s M-Pesa four years ago.

A Kenyan technology firm has built a new e-commerce platform that is promising to change the way consumers will bank, buy goods and settle bills using their mobile phones.

Known as Elma, the mobile phone application is the creation of Craft Silicon, a firm that has built a fortune building software for various clients across the globe. As far as mobile money technology goes, Elma stands on the threshold of a revolution that began with the launch of Safaricom’s M-Pesa four years ago.

The application, which runs on 3G enabled mobile telephone handsets, allows users to do business with any service provider who has installed the platform without giving the operators undue control over its functioning – making it the most promising solution to concentration of mobile money business in the hands of telecommunication companies.

With Elma, consumers can transfer money, pay bills, buy airtime, buy stocks and check commodity prices from the comfort of their seats at a monthly average cost of Sh80.

This means that unlike M-Pesa, Zap, Iko-pesa, or yuCash that are specific to the telecoms operators, Elma can be used on any of the mobile telecoms platforms to connect consumers to their accounts in any bank.

Craft Silicon says Elma is poised to challenge the dominance of mobile operator-linked money transfer platforms with the offer of a more competitively-priced service and a wider range of possible transactions than anything in the market today. To demonstrate his point, Mr Budhabhatti gives the example of transaction costs for the current mobile money transfer services now standing at an average of Sh30 to send the minimum amount and Sh25 to withdraw. For users sending money they have drawn from an ATM they incur an additional Sh25, raising the total cost of transaction to Sh80 – the same amount that consumers are charged for using Elma every month.

Think Think Think Think

http://www.businessdaily...6/-/naop77z/-/index.html
"All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
Kaykay
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 4:09:20 PM

@Earthvoice, where will be the delivery or distribution points because as compared to the mobile telephone companies they have their outlets which enables one to load and receive the money? M-Pesa has done well because of its many outlets compared to the rest.
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 4:11:49 PM

ELMA's problem is the banks on the platform. All mid tier banks (Victoria, Oriental, Equatorial etc) when I last checked. They should get the heavy weights (SCB, KCB, DTB, NIC,Ekuete) on board and then they will be truly there.
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 4:13:34 PM

The application, which runs on 3G enabled mobile telephone handsets, allows users to do business with any service provider who has installed the platform without giving the operators undue control over its functioning – making it the most promising solution to concentration of mobile money business in the hands of telecommunication companies.

This is where this application will have a hard sell to majority of Kenyans who dont even know what 3g stands for.
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 4:14:04 PM

Long way to GO!!!
earthvoice
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 4:16:07 PM

Kaykay wrote:
@Earthvoice, where will be the delivery or distribution points because as compared to the mobile telephone companies they have their outlets which enables one to load and receive the money? M-Pesa has done well because of its many outlets compared to the rest.

@Kaykay: apparently there will be no need to 'load' money on your phone, coz it seems the Elma account is connected to one's bank account... sounds like it will be enabling people operate their bank accounts from their phones.

Read quote below:

" “The banking solution we are offering gives lenders the best chance to take back into their system part of the money that their clients are keeping in phones in the form of mobile money float,” said Mr Budhabhatti.

What makes Elma tick is the fact that it gives the banks an effective tool to prevent customers from withdrawing money from their accounts for keeping in mobile money accounts."
"All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
earthvoice
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 4:18:52 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
ELMA's problem is the banks on the platform. All mid tier banks (Victoria, Oriental, Equatorial etc) when I last checked. They should get the heavy weights (SCB, KCB, DTB, NIC,Ekuete) on board and then they will be truly there.

True dat, but check this out...

"Mr Budhabhatti says Elma is in the last phase of piloting in smaller financial institutions such as Paramount Bank, Oriental Commercial Bank, Guardian and Chase banks and is now ready to go into the larger banks."
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 4:20:26 PM

earthvoice wrote:
Kaykay wrote:

@Kaykay: apparently there will be no need to 'load' money on your phone, coz it seems the Elma account is connected to one's bank account... sounds like it will be enabling people operate their bank accounts from their phones.

Read quote below:

" “The banking solution we are offering gives lenders the best chance to take back into their system part of the money that their clients are keeping in phones in the form of mobile money float,” said Mr Budhabhatti.

What makes Elma tick is the fact that it gives the banks an effective tool to prevent customers from withdrawing money from their accounts for keeping in mobile money accounts."

TARGET MARKET: The banked....will threaten MPesa in a very limited way!!!!
#9 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2011 7:21:10 PM

Two limitations; 3G and banks. Mpesa still the one to beat.
#10 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 8:47:03 AM

of the 20m or so mobile phone subscribers in Kenya, how many have 3-G enabled phones?

BTW; mine is not internet enable and it has two lines, so we are talking about the remaining 19,999,998....

BTW2; 15m are on M-Pesa!
QD
#11 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 1:41:29 PM

Much sense would have been if the current mobile money transfer vendors could heighten the competition leading to lowering of the cost to transfer money.
Till then M-Pesa still has a market to rule and even expand if Safaricom network could reach all the corners of this country.
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
Barrywhite
#12 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 1:51:33 PM

Elma failed the day they designed their solution to ride on 3G phones. Why cant they make their system USSD based or sms based? Even if all 3G phone owner hooked on, they wont break even for a long time at 80/- per month!
The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
KamalBudhabhatti
#13 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 3:20:50 PM

Hey. some comments on Elma
1) Elma can run on USSD, so non GPRS phones can use this.

2) We are not here to compete with any other mobile providers money solutions. On roads there are Mercedeses and Prados, and customers decide what they use based on what they like. Same.

3) We are in the process of talking to larger banks. The pilot is generally good to go with smaller banks.

some more questions, you may please email me at kamal@craftsilicon.com

Interested people can also come for a presentations.
m4k3nd3
#14 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 3:35:27 PM

Peeps..ELMA is the ish man!! I'm using it, bought Airtime, did some transfers, its like another M-PESA but with colors and a much better User Interface.

Safcom is going down I feel, especially with the Mobile Shopping coming in that gonna be timam infact sambamba infact hakuna tafash hapo
#15 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 3:42:39 PM

Ok lets say Iam on ELMA and I want to transfer funds to My mum in Isiolo How will I do that?

Ps. she has that alcatel that every one seems to own.
#16 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 4:00:18 PM

Knowing our greedy banks, they will not waste their time on something that promises them pences. Running a bank is expensive.
Barrywhite
#17 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 5:02:22 PM

Then Elma is good to go! 20m potential susbs, the ground is open for competition.
The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
#18 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 11:03:02 AM

m4k3nd3 wrote:
Peeps..ELMA is the ish man!! I'm using it, bought Airtime, did some transfers, its like another M-PESA but with colors and a much better User Interface.

Safcom is going down I feel, especially with the Mobile Shopping coming in that gonna be timam infact sambamba infact hakuna tafash hapo

I can ELMA is really trying, even getting peeps to register on wazua just to praise it!!!!!
#19 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 11:56:38 AM

m4k3nd3 wrote:

You either work for Craft Silicon or is one of their fanboys. I have read you somewhere else licking their bllas.
#20 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2011 12:06:00 PM

selah wrote:
Ok lets say Iam on ELMA and I want to transfer funds to My mum in Isiolo How will I do that?

Ps. she has that alcatel that every one seems to own.

@ Kamal.. Good to see you here. Please answer the above question from @ Selah. That way , we will know whether we need to come for a presentation.