wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

108 Pages«<34567>»
EPL 2011-2012
#81 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 11:09:13 AM

That's good to hear @Taz (that no arsenal would console themselves as such)...I agree that they've lost Sanchez, Zapata and Gokhan but Di Natale was pivotal to their success, much like Modric to Spurs reaching CL qualification the season before last. If the tie is not wrapped up at Emirates (as you assert) there'll be frayed nerves at the return.

However, Gervinho is in top form and has hit the ground running, such players can make a difference.

Here's what the pundits think...

http://www.goal.com/en-g...g-winners-losers-of-the
#82 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 11:10:15 AM

I'm still surprised most of you think L'fools will light up this season yet their performance in the pre-season matches has been so discouraging for their fans. I know they've made a habit of thrashing Man Utd once in a while but inconsistency always catches up with them.

‘Don’t get carried away, Liverpool are in no position to win the league, nowhere near.

‘Kenny Dalglish is the right man for the job. They’ve spent big money and bought good players — Luis Suarez is strong, Charlie Adam is a good player, but that was at Blackpool, and it’s a big challenge for him.

‘I gave Jordan Henderson his debut at Sunderland and he’s a really good player. But to improve your team and to win the Premiership are two different things.” ROY KEANE

#83 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 11:14:06 AM

kingfisher wrote:
@nostoping....

wapi bet yawa???

5000Kshs?

@Nostoppingthis: Arsenal
@Kingfisher: Chelsea

DEAL?
#84 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 11:33:54 AM

@ Smano...The defending Champion in most football competitions is always the favourite to retain it when it comes to betting (especially in UK). I just love the way the so called "experts" have written off Arsenal's chances this season...we'll compare notes in May 2012. I also strongly believe, Arsenal will sell both Nasri and Cesc.
#85 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 12:11:21 PM

@Taz, Arsenal writes its own chances off every season. The collapse doesnt come from the media but within. Unless something changes, the status quo remains.
#86 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 12:16:27 PM

I'm not saying Liverpool will win the EPL, all am saying is that they might make the all important top 4 finish which is actually their target for the season...Arsenal are only being written off coz of their defensive frailties...if Arsenal buy two defenders get depth in defense (due to the injury prone seasons) then I'll put them as title contenders since they have Woscie, Wilshere and new wingers that can cuase problems for any defense. If they can overcome the mental barrier, we have a challenge at hand, if not, then mambo ni yale yale. They also need a talisman, a guy that can rally the troops a la` Terry/Rooney/Vidic/Gerrard/Tevez
#87 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 12:43:53 PM

@ Jus Blazin....

if we play badly and win then we're lucky but if any other team does it (chelsea, man u, liverpool) then that's grit and determination.

if we play well and don't win then "it's no good playing well and not winning" but if it's any other team (chelsea, man u, liverpool) then they're just unlucky.

if we play badly and don't win then we are rubbish but if it's any other team (chelsea, man u, liverpool) then they just had bad luck but deserved to win.

if we score a late winner its considered to be luck "they struggled to get the winner" but if any other team does it (chelsea, man u, liverpool) ooh sijui thats what champions are made of or they praise their "winning mentality"

They've attacked our defense as being bad but if you look at last season's statistics Koscielny & Co (without Vermaelen) only conceeded 6 goals more than Vidic & Co....come to think of it it was 4th best in the league. Its for that reason @ Smano, i say we only need one defender with physical presence to take care of the set pieces. They always have something negative to say but statistics show otherwise. If David De Gea was an Arsenal Keeper he would be facing all sorts of criticism for his performance against Man City.

So many of our top players have left the club and we've also had so many bad games/seasons but still our worst performance has been 4th place. How much have our "rivals" spent in transfers and what have they achieved?
#88 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 12:50:14 PM

TAZ:
The statistics show that you have gone a whopping 6 years without a plate leave alone a cup!!!!
#89 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 1:00:01 PM

@ McReggae....True but whats the obssession with Arsenal's trophy drought! When's the last time L'pool & Spurs won a trophy....better yet Man City have only won the FA Cup (2011) in 30 yrs. Chelsea have 4 EPL titles compared to Arsenal's 13.
#90 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 3:18:36 PM

#91 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 3:20:21 PM

kingfisher wrote:
@nostoping....

wapi bet yawa???

5000Kshs?

DEAL?

DEAL. whose the custodian?
Toxicity
#92 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 3:39:55 PM

Cesc on the verge of signing for barcelona....Why has wenger waited untill the eve of the new season to start selling players!!
It is very frustrating to be an arsenal fan now! i dont blame Cesc , i will not blame Nasri either! They say a mad man is one who does the same thing over and over! Arsene if you Wazuan hope u read this!
been patient for the last 6 seasons with the excuse of changing stadiums but now u have the cash why doesnt arsenal want to invest in players!!! this season i dont even see a top four finish!!!!
is Stan a soccer fan or just a business man?
update president set president = speaker where president is null
#93 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 4:13:38 PM

FINALLY, Barcelona are set to announce Fabregas signing in the next few hours....all the best to El Capitan its been real, wish him all the best. Next on the chop board Samir Nasri....25m pounds is good money for him. I believe Wenger should sell anyone who is not settled, Shakhtar's Jadson to replace Cesc and HOPEFULLY Mata/willan to replace Nasri. In defense we seem to be in advanced talks to sign Birmgham Scott Dann who just the kind of player we need at the back...though i wouldn't mind if we signed Cahill too.

On tomorrow's match..RVP, Theo, TV5 & Gibbs are all fit to play. The midfield will hold for now with Gervinho, Ramsey and Song.
#94 Posted : Friday, August 12, 2011 4:37:52 PM

kingfisher wrote:
@nostoping....

wapi bet yawa???

5000Kshs?

DEAL?

Custodian akishika pesa saa hii, he'll disappear...lakini it's a deal, tukikaribia end of league, pesa tutapatia custodian (to be decided, na sio McDoba)
#95 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2011 1:44:03 PM

QPR will top the table today but will be at the bottom at the end of the season.
#96 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2011 7:05:27 PM

Sober wrote:
QPR will top the table today but will be at the bottom at the end of the season.

QPR are BOTTOM of the table on day 1 after losing 4:0 to Bolton.
#97 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2011 7:15:15 PM

@jguru. Did i say top? Oh sorry coz they are at the bottom. I am not seeing then leave that spot.
#98 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2011 9:32:39 PM

Arsenal earns their first 'tactical' draw of the season.

To follow shortly - "Although we drew..." by @TAZ Mutua.
#99 Posted : Saturday, August 13, 2011 9:55:55 PM

"... I am very happy with our performance, especially Gervinho who was shown a red card. We were missing key players like Nasri and Fabregas, when they come back we'll be stronger..." TAZ Mutua
#100 Posted : Sunday, August 14, 2011 9:36:24 AM

"... I am very happy with our performance, especially Gervinho who was shown a red card. We were missing key players like Nasri and Fabregas, when they come back we'll be stronger..." TAZ Mutua

"............Further to what the above two Man U stalwarts have pointed out, aseno have now decided to start the league on a low like Man U have always done so that we can finish strongly and win it........" by TAZ Mutua