Passenger lands plane in Fla. after pilot dies
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 10:05:00 AM

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/passenger_lands_plane

TAMPA,Fla. – Doug White and his family had just enjoyed a smooth takeoff and were ascending through the clouds when the pilot guiding their twin-engine plane tilted his head back and made a guttural sound.

A few years back while working in South Sudan,we used to go by small planes with only one pilot. For a harrowing flight of not less than 3 hours I used to think of nothing but death while up there. I always used to imagine,suppose this pilot dies,suppose he falls unconscious... I have never been so scared in my life!!!. Anyway,for 2 years that did not happen. But hey,before the flight,I used to wake up early in the morning and pray hard. After that I would take several tots of whisky... and that worked perfectly well!!!

Isn't this taken into consideration in air safety rules and regulations?
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 10:32:00 AM

Anyone who knows the rules in regard to flying as a solo pilot with passangers?? I think many companies want to cut down on costs hence no co-pilot,esp in kenya. @ magigi,those single engined ones r usually the safest going by their low landing speeds. U should be very worried if anything goes wrong in an airliner...death becomes the majority 'shareholder'

Truest proverb: Mwenda pole hajikwai
Goals
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 1:59:00 PM

must have been adrenaline at work,some of us would be too scared !!!!!!!!

Ever imagined if the safety demos would apply in case of need,at times i close my eyes and sing this song almost thro out the trip. :'Ee bwana ibariki safari yetu!'
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 2:09:00 PM

@Simo: ...low landing speeds!!! Sasa hii itanisaidia namna gani na Pilot amekata kamba? A plane is not a matatu ati dere ameshikwa na polisi akawaacha mnazubaa. The guy seated next to the driver will hop on to the driver's seat na akifika stage yake ataachie mwingine aisukume mbele. Even if you get into the plane's cockpit what can you do...?
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2009 2:26:00 PM

@magigi,those computer games can come in handy... U can acquire some basic flying skills coz most r very realistic. This may boost ua confidence somewhat as u may understand the actions to take n maybe land in some bush by initiating a controlled discent. Try it.

Truest proverb: Mwenda pole hajikwai