I just inherited...
Cde Monomotapa
#21 Posted : Friday, July 29, 2011 5:35:33 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Wachana na huyo 'church leader'

anika66
#22 Posted : Friday, July 29, 2011 5:52:53 PM

I agree with those who have adviced our lucky inheritor to first obtain documentations to ensure that the land is officially in thier names. If he has no lawyer he can visit the offices of Public Trustee in Sheria House 6th floor for advice.
Keeping it all in the family
accelriskconsult
#23 Posted : Friday, July 29, 2011 6:00:25 PM

xtina wrote:
Good news!
As in for me, smile God is surely with me, he has blessed my beyond my wildest expectations

My dad bequeathed his land to us kids, and I never expected to be a land owner at such as short time so I’m more than thoroughly confused, I don’t know what to do with it…….Below are my very many questions, just answer them:

I have been saving to buy a piece of land, but since I have inherited some what should I do with those savings? Should I continue saving and get another piece of land near Nairobi? Or should I direct those savings to other stocks?

Should I sell part of the land and use that money to buy stocks? I don’t want it to be idle so that conmen start selling it. What about that directive that says government should tax idle land, does it have a minimum and maximum acreage? Plus if I should sell, which area should I sell? The one with the farming potential or the one near town? Which will bring in more gains?

Should I hold onto the land as it is, or develop it? One parcel has huge farming potential and one is near a town centre, I feel counties will bring good tidings there. Will banks be willing to help me develop it considering I don’t other capital? I don’t really have anything else other than the land

What about relatives who want to start businesses on it? Should I let them? Plus a church leader who has asked if I could donate part of it to a church? What should I do? I do not mind donating to the church, God has blessed me, but how much should I give? Should I involve lawyers?

I am sooooo excited and scared,smile I just don’t know what to do, or how to get started. This was completely unexpected. If you were in my shoes, what would you do??? smile smile

Xtina

Xtina, get the title deed in your name first, finish your MSc. (lol yes I know that you are a student) then decide what to do with the land. Personally I would not dispose off land inherited from my relatives but I would use it to generate income.
With your MSc and your land, you will be in a good position to make money.
Kaka M
#24 Posted : Friday, July 29, 2011 6:34:05 PM

Like many pple have said get the land registered in your name and since you have already been saving, once you have settled down and done some soul searching as to what you want, do some math as to whether the cash u have can develop the land like if the land is suitable for rental houses, how much they will cost to develop and if you have that kind of money.If you have then go ahead and develop. If not keep on saving till it's enough to develop hata kama ni one floor assuming you choose to go that way.

I suggest you don't sell even a centimetre of the land unless you really have to.(eg sell an acre in shags n buy and develop in a prime area.)But be careful with this also.
Relatives are good but I suggest you don't involve them in this.
Don't even allow them to be farming on it since its just idle it'll just bring conflicts.
(Infact it's only a matter of time before you get pple claiming that in your tradition girls don't inherit and they will mostly be relatives.)
Do not use the land as collateral for your spouses/boyfies loan no matter how you love them. They will refuse to pay and it will be auctioned.
About donating to the church, I would consider the following:
Did I use to go to the same church with my dad? If yes, why didn't he donate some to them?
How would my dad take it if he learns what I have done?
Has the church actually been in need of land? What steps were they taking towards addressing that?
If they had not been taking any action to acquire land then they are just creating needs that don't exist.
If on the other hand they required land, and have been acting on it they should still continue.
Lastly if you for whatever reason(I doubt if there is any) have to donate to the church it shall not be more than 10 percent of the total land.
Wish you all the best and please for the sake of your dad, he denied himself so many things so he can give this land to you. Don't let him down.
mnandii
#25 Posted : Saturday, July 30, 2011 2:51:03 PM

Kaka M wrote:

If they had not been taking any action to acquire land then they are just creating needs that don't exist.

Think
Like.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
#26 Posted : Saturday, July 30, 2011 4:28:57 PM

Thats one lucky girl! Continue with your earlier project, depending on inheritance has left many people stagnant. DO NOT give that land or a section of it to any church unless it is out of freewill. God loves a cheerful giver! Christians do tithe but we do not tithe from inheritance but from the increase(read revenue) from our toil.
Pablo
#27 Posted : Sunday, July 31, 2011 11:41:08 AM

Hi Xtina. Nice to see you back. Weve also missed u at the mbuzi's weve had recently.

Anyway at worst just plant trees around it.
#28 Posted : Sunday, July 31, 2011 1:40:42 PM

Kaka M wrote:

About donating to the church, I would consider the following:
Did I use to go to the same church with my dad? If yes, why didn't he donate some to them?

Be careful with these church leaders.
young
#29 Posted : Sunday, July 31, 2011 3:42:32 PM

For any asset you inherit think of what to do to pass it on to the next generation.
In essence do not break the chain, think.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Ms Mkenya
#30 Posted : Sunday, July 31, 2011 8:40:32 PM

young wrote:
For any asset you inherit think of what to do to pass it on to the next generation.
In essence do not break the chain, think.

This captures what i'd say. I'm a mother and whatever i do, i'd like to leave something for my children-as their mum. My dad gave us land too. I've never sold it and i feel nice about that. Sometime my children will enjoy their grandfather's land too-and on and on. Also on the church, i'd not be quick to donate land but weigh and know if i'd really want to do that. I also wonder why your dad never donated. If he's alive, discuss it with him. If not, ask God for wisdom. He freely gives to those who ask Him. That's a promise in the bible.
....above all, to stand.
young
#31 Posted : Sunday, July 31, 2011 8:56:17 PM

Please do not transfer your inheritance or any portion of it to church.

Give to God from your increase if you farm or build on that land , give a portion of the proceeds from your farm or the rent to church to enable them purchase their land.

Support the church as much as you can financially to purchase their land but separate their need from your inheritance.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
xtina
#32 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 1:45:28 PM

I already have the title deeds; no way would I be in here asking for advice without papers. It's not a lot, less than 40 acres

@radio, it was a land dispute between my dad and his brothers for kitu 16 years but wakachoka na divided it up among themselves three years ago. My dad is fatigued and having health issues so he divided it among us and everyone was give their shares, complete with deeds….

@bartum, plan za kuoa zimetupwa mbali for now smile

@ lovely2010, slykat, eco, ceinz, solo, sky5, you are right; I have calmed down, I realized i need time to sort things out, thaks smile

@ms mkenya, thanks smile

@Kenyanlyrics, I will not waste this chance. Infacts I think that's why I panicked

@Muchknow, congrats, so you know how I feel. Leasing is looking like a very good option right now Applause

@Ndaragwa and barrywhite, you have no idea. My whole life has been turned upside down, or rather, upside up smile . But I feel experts may con me because of my age, so I will do a lot of research on my own first before I seek their advice.

@Mukiha, pure coincidence. It is very nice to hear from you. At one point SK/Wazua was too boring for me but now it seems I have no choice but to come back…smile

@mkonomtupu, I will not waste mine, I have faith in myself. I fear real estate and all that mjengo stuff but maybe when I’m older I’ll have the courage

@Young and @Laughing out loudly, thank yousmile . That makes much sense; I would rather give my proceedings than actual land.

@Pablo, nice to see you too. I had a very bad experience with a wazua man so I avoid wazua meetings since I don’t know whether he attends or not and I might run into him. I hope you, Kingfisher and Djinn are well. BTW, great thread especially on building homes Applause Applause , I’m taking notes….

@YCSUN, bkismat, KakaM, u have raised valid
points, church leaders can be quite fishy. I asked her to explain why and she mentioned that I give 10% as in like tithe. Anyway, I said no and she is not too pleased right now. My dad did not donate to the land because she was not willing to put it under the name of the church, butin her hubby's name

I will finish my MSc first then sit down and figure out what to do. My tentative plans are: Eco lodges as one parcel is near a ranch in laikipia. I am passionate about farming so I might go that route. Probably lease the rest

Thank you all and God bless smile

#33 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 2:36:40 PM

Welcome back xtina. I think you have been given all the advice you needed.
#34 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 3:32:14 PM

Let me give you what might be the best advice you'll look back at and regret if you don't heed; Don't let the relatives in. The best way of keeping them out is doing something with the farm yourself. Plant napier grass and be selling to a dairy farmers around who are not related to you. A relative squatter is the hardest to kick out and if you succeed the family whisper will never stop especially from those relas who do zero for you and will never help your life....

Get the documents and continue planting napier even for 10 years until you figure out what you want to do with your land. Don't be in any hurry.

As for the cash you have, clear all your debts first (if any) and invest the rest in bonds.

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#35 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 3:48:51 PM

Lovely pieces of advice to our dear lady.
I personally would not advise selling what one has freely received!
@SufficientlyP
Rollins
#36 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 4:15:22 PM

@Christina,

Lucky You! If there is any more land please holla!

On a more serious note, go to doldol, buy herds of sheep-they are costing as low as 300 bob! then have someone heard them for kindu 6 months( It's called fattening). You can later sell at 3000 bob each. wachana na stocks
Even a BrOKeN clock is right twice a day
eco
#37 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 5:56:20 PM

Rollins wrote:
@Christina,

Lucky You! If there is any more land please holla!

On a more serious note, go to doldol, buy herds of sheep-they are costing as low as 300 bob! then have someone heard them for kindu 6 months( It's called fattening). You can later sell at 3000 bob each. wachana na stocks

Good idea for land in Laikipia. You can fatten at most 5 steers on the 40 acres land as well. Buy thin steers @5-7,000 and sell @15,000 after 3-5 months. For such you need to a fence around your land, and a 2 - room mabati structure (for the herder, a store) and a VIP.
half_empty
#38 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 6:26:09 PM

10% donation could work in your favor especially in a remote area where a church starts a school, clinic, etc
GITHUKUSM
#39 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 8:22:00 PM

Fattening with what?I thought there is drought in Laikipia.Give more sound advice.
mnandii
#40 Posted : Thursday, August 04, 2011 8:08:35 PM

Urban land owners be warned: City Hall and the taxman will come calling

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../1/-/bvht1n/-/index.html
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.