wazua Fri, Apr 3, 2026

5 Pages123>»
Deacons HY 2011 results
#1 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 9:28:21 AM

In business, the adage I'd testify to is 'good news travels fast, and bad news slithers'

So on page 5 of Business Daily, Deacons Half Year 2011 results, much earlier than their last results...
Showing 38% growth in turnover, leading to a 51% growth in profit before tax (73% after tax) backed largely by the new store revenue (4 new ones).

So only thing to look up to is another 4 planned new stores by end of 2011.

Sad to see EPS decline from 1.51 to 1.45 due to the increase in new ordinary shares. This share would be pummelled if it was introduced to the market Now.

Apple Bees
#2 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 12:32:18 PM

thanks for the analysis. hope they can get listed as per plans (in 2012)
the deal
#3 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 1:06:59 PM

Analysis of those Deacons numbers coming here http://contrarianinvestingkenya.info
Apple Bees
#4 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 2:31:50 PM

thanks @the deal
the deal
#5 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 3:19:25 PM

Apple Bees wrote:
thanks @the deal

You are welcome, i'm looking at their numbers now...but if you are a shareholder please tell them to be disclosing more info i.e cash flow statement sawasmile
the deal
#6 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 4:26:56 PM

Revenues for the 1H 2011 were up 38%, despite the surge in revenues operating margins were stagnant at 4.3% which is quiet low compared to Mr Price South Africa whose operating Margins come in around 12%, management says business was slow in the 1H of 2011 due to the seasonality nature of the business and they expect sales to pick up in the 2H due to factors such as festive season shopping

Read more here http://www.contrarianinv...ansion-our-analysis.html
Apple Bees
#7 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 4:44:05 PM

the deal wrote:
Apple Bees wrote:
thanks @the deal

You are welcome, i'm looking at their numbers now...but if you are a shareholder please tell them to be disclosing more info i.e cash flow statement sawasmile

sawa. I am a shareholder. This will be passed on at the appropriate time
#8 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 5:59:27 PM

Mzee @deal how were you able to calculate operating margin from the results as provided? Could you be referring to net profit margin?

I also didn't pick where management said 'business was slow in 1H' as you claim. Are we reading the same commentary?

Otherwise the sales per square foot shows good insight on your part. Ditto the comparison to Mr Price SA; which seems like a much better run business.

Note though Mr Price SA is one brand, but Deacons makes most from Woolworths/Truworths closely followed by Mr Price and then includes a litter of other brands e.g. Adiddas, Identity, Life Fitness

http://deacons.co.ke/site/images/interimaccounts.pdf
the deal
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 6:25:42 PM

muganda wrote:
Mzee @deal how were you able to calculate operating margin from the results as provided? Could you be referring to net profit margin?

I also didn't pick where management said 'business was slow in 1H' as you claim. Are we reading the same commentary?

Otherwise the sales per square foot shows good insight on your part. Ditto the comparison to Mr Price SA; which seems like a much better run business.

Note though Mr Price SA is one brand, but Deacons makes most from Woolworths/Truworths closely followed by Mr Price and then includes a litter of other brands e.g. Adiddas, Identity, Life Fitness

http://deacons.co.ke/site/images/interimaccounts.pdf

operating margin/net profit margins are all the same...Deacons should disclose more info on their operations..i would have given you more insights...i was keen on their cash flow statement sadly it was nowhere to be seen...inventories compared to revenues sheds more light I.e margins could be low cos deacons is forced to clear stock at giveaway prices indicating issues with the pricing...margins could be low due to high fixed costs I.e rent...loans...do you want me to go on.......
#10 Posted : Tuesday, August 02, 2011 7:03:10 PM

Operating Margins is NOT the same as Net Profit Margins. Since you are a 'young' analyst, I shall not blast you but refer you to a few Finance Textbooks.

2 firms with the same sales, margins, etc but different Capital Structures will have different NPM even if the OM is the same.
5 Pages123>»