wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

Okiya Okoiti Omtata
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 9:38:17 AM

Mr Okiya Okoiti Omtata told principal magistrate Grace Macharia “not to be used like a condom” to provoke them by sitting to hear a case against a group of activists

Jeez, is this guy for real???

http://www.nation.co.ke/...8/-/pxx44wz/-/index.html
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 9:46:10 AM

[quote=McReggae]Mr Okiya Okoiti Omtata told principal magistrate Grace Macharia “not to be used like a condom” to provoke them by sitting to hear a case against a group of activists

Jeez, is this guy for real???

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/pxx44wz/-/index.html[/quote]

To win a nobel prize for peace you got to pass through and say what he is saying.

#3 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 10:47:31 AM

Too bad majority of us don't have that activism in us...that's the only way most things can change in Kenya and most African countries.
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 10:50:25 AM

http://www.ntv.co.ke/New...2/-/10150ui/-/index.html
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 11:13:36 AM

Too bad majority of us don't have that activism in us...that's the only way most things can change in Kenya and most African countries.

most of the activists i have seen are building up a base for future campaign for certain seats.
bird_man
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 11:17:36 AM

I love this guy.

The problem in Kenya is the middle class and the snobbish behavior they have.They think activism is only for Kibera people & other "idle" people.

I just wish I was like him when it comes to activism.Mtu amekula 4B!!(you can spend 132K/day for the next 85yrs)....and we just watch and update dislikes on Twirrer and Facebook!ABK sisi!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
milken
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 11:21:35 AM

If I was the magistrate, I would have sentenced him to two weeks for contempt. The courts are halls of justice not streets
Itari muting'oe ihuragwo ngi ni Ngai
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 11:27:45 AM

Siasa tupu! Nothing to do with reform. There is nothing new under the sun. I bet not many here knew Orengo, Kiraitu, RAO in their heyday. What this guy is doing is child's play..... and the environment ( Kibz) cannot be compared to M01
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 11:31:38 AM

Unfortunately I think this is the way this guy makes a living. Causing havoc over everything to a point where no one takes him seriously. Question is who's paying him? There was a time when people protested for a cause eg Rev. Njoya, Orengo, Mwite and the likes. Omutata, I don't get. I wish he was protesting over extrajudicial killings and I'd understand but today Unga tomorrow Ongeri before Unga is resolved, the next day Kibaki....

By the way I love the chain thing, that's classic. In my area a chain is called Omutata.

bird_man
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 11:49:08 AM

Unfortunately I think this is the way this guy makes a living. Causing havoc over everything to a point where no one takes him seriously. Question is who's paying him? There was a time when people protested for a cause eg Rev. Njoya, Orengo, Mwite and the likes. Omutata, I don't get. I wish he was protesting over extrajudicial killings and I'd understand but today Unga tomorrow Ongeri before Unga is resolved, the next day Kibaki....

By the way I love the chain thing, that's classic. In my area a chain is called Omutata.

@2012...protesting over the impunity of some minister loosing 4B of public funds & the president/PM doing nothing about it isn't a worthy cause?The 4B is in peoples pockets....and you can spend 132K/day for approx. 85yrs if it was in your pocket.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Insurgent
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 11:52:50 AM

Go man, show them who is you are tough.

Lakini Ukiingizwa ndani, you are in trouble unless you have others to follow up your case while you are in Industrial Area Block E.

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

#12 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 12:49:55 PM

milken wrote:
If I was the magistrate, I would have sentenced him to two weeks for contempt. The courts are halls of justice not streets

Omtata aka chain went overboard, he should at least respect the courts if nothing else - otherwise how do we resolve our conflicts if not through the very courts?
XSK
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 1:42:44 PM

milken wrote:

me too! Too much activism is not useful. They made their point in the street, the court should not be an extension of the street.

I honestly find the guy more of an irritant than someone to be taken seriously. This incident just confirms that once again.
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 2:19:17 PM

If omtata wants to demonstrate in the courts then I say he should, this does not stop the magistrate from taking the right cause of action.

Infact i was not taking their demos seriously until after they pulled that stunt in the courts, should be a real test of how far our judiciary has come with the new constitution, in terms of why they were arrested etc.
#15 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 2:45:47 PM

Deliberate contempt of court=impunity. Activists just piss me off for their bias n irrational behaviour, that NEVER incorporates the interests of all, or at least a majority. Just wondering how magistrates will react if Mutunga allows jungle antics in the courts, against well known traditions of maximum respect in the house of the Law. IMHO, this must not be tolerated. Lawlessness must not be allowed in a court of law.
#16 Posted : Thursday, July 21, 2011 2:49:44 PM

XSK wrote:

I honestly find the guy more of an irritant than someone to be taken seriously. This incident just confirms that once again.

You took the word right out of my mouth (or fingers). I think this guy is just another attention seeker. You just need to look at some of the issues he's been vocal on....always makes sure there's a camera around to capture proceedings. How i wish i was the magistrate...
#17 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 3:23:42 PM

Hed has been released on bail and has headed back to camp in front of Jogoo house!!!
marex
#18 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 3:31:49 PM

yeye ni matata tu! kama watu wa matatu
The way I am
kangi
#19 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2011 4:21:30 PM

XSK wrote:

You took the word right out of my mouth (or fingers). I think this guy is just another attention seeker. You just need to look at some of the issues he's been vocal on....always makes sure there's a camera around to capture proceedings. How i wish i was the magistrate...

True guys.....very true.
........and he always has a pattern of guys he is demonstrating against. With hindsight check on the fellows he is always after....from one side of the divide.I would be interested to see how he would dare Aggrey (look at how he whipped PLO into silence)Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

At least he knows who to dareApplause Applause Applause Applause Applause
Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
sanity
#20 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2011 12:25:51 PM

Though his protests are for a worthy cause,the way he does it puts him at the same level with those he is protesting againist.the magistrate should give hime the maximum sentence for contempt.hiyo ni madharau kwa court and to the lady magistrate.
Hope is not a strategy