wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

House Construction on Clay Soils: Pillars Vs Raft
Injere
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 8:14:16 AM

I am having a tussle with my engineer on whether to use the raft or pillars to elect the foundation for a single storied house.

Any one who has done a raft out there and with helpful ideas? Any one who has any comparisons in terms ot costs? Is either technology technically superior?
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 10:10:10 AM

If your engineer is truely an engineer, do not ignore or engage in tussles with him/her at all. Being an engineer is not only paper work alone, its experience.

Clay soils occur due to poorly drained areas, this means a hard formation might not be too far from the ground. In this light, do not compromise on the safety of your structure.

Use of raft foundation is very expensive for a 1 storeyed building, unless you intend to use the building as a parking for many vehicle or warehouse for heavy equipments and goods.

I would recommend use of pillars with pad footings and ground beams i.e. beams connecting the columns/pillars on the ground that can assist in ensuring that incase there is any settlement of the foundation material, the settlement is uniform.

Another way is to entirely remove the black cotton soil and borrowing red coffee soil or murram and compacting it well, then ensuring that the plot is well drained such that stagnation of water does not occur hence 'rotting' the soil. This is by far cheaper that rafting!

Injere
#3 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 12:07:42 PM

@dunkang- thanks. I take your point. The rockbed in my case is about 22ft away and if i plan to use say 17 pillars, does that tip the scales towards the raft?
#4 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 12:31:48 PM

What? 22ft. Kwani its where? 22ft is 6.7 meters, i.e. 2No. floors!

Injere
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 1:18:05 PM

That's true dunkang, 22ft it is my guy!I have done two test pits already.....does raft begin to look interesting in view of these facts?
luttz
#6 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 1:42:52 PM

@ Injere
Karibu Jirani. Did my pillars/columns at 14ft, the numbers changed drastically and had to source for alternative funds to complete the structure. No regrets tho. Either way; dont give up, your dream home is only a few miles a way. There is a neighbour who only used pillars/columns but no Y8,10 & 12 on the foundation, only BRC. He is now roofing. Wonder for how long the house will stand if its true.
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
majimaji
#7 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 1:56:04 PM

@ Injere, listen to the engineer. Reason is he will be able to give the most economical design in whatever case.

Let me guess: is your site somewhere on kangundo road? I've seen guys building in a flood plain at Njiru area.
sysdevPM
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 2:09:01 PM

at 2700 floor - roof , 6700 is slightly more than 2 floors even with addition of slab depth. Could injere explain what kind a building he seeks to put up ?
#9 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 2:24:30 PM

sysdevPM wrote:
at 2700 floor - roof , 6700 is slightly more than 2 floors even with addition of slab depth. Could injere explain what kind a building he seeks to put up ?

or even whether he bought or was given the land for free!

Burning Spear
#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 3:06:36 PM

majimaji wrote:

@ Injere, listen to the engineer. Reason is he will be able to give the most economical design in whatever case.

Let me guess: is your site somewhere on kangundo road? I've seen guys building in a flood plain at Njiru area.

I was also shocked to see so many structures coming up next to mhindi slaughterhouse.Those plots,were they sold by Njiru Housing Company which an office on site.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
majimaji
#11 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 3:25:55 PM

@ Burning, that's the place

If you build there, use a raft foundation so that your house just floats away when it rains:)
Ama the hse better have an anchor like on a ship.
Injere
#12 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 3:31:24 PM

Probably i have misled you guys - it's actually black cotton soil plot and not clay soil..... and VERY far away from Njiru!!It's off Thika Rd actually.

Let's keep to the topic though: Those who have done the workings or have some experience with this- which is the cheaper alternative given this kind of bed rock depth and is any of the two technically superior?
luttz
#13 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 3:42:27 PM

@ Dunkang

The land that you are wondering if itis free is actually going for more than 10M per half acre. I know guys who have set up excellent homes after going through what Injere is concerned about.
@Injere, dont give up. Your dream home is close by
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
majimaji
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 3:58:46 PM

Refer to post no 7.

The engineer may do a design for both and cost them accordingly in line with the loading of the structure. Only then can which is better(economical) be determined. No quick answer to your query in my view.
Injere
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 4:07:11 PM

@majimaji. I take your point. Thanks.
holycow
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 5:59:32 PM

I hope by pillars you mean piles, the kind being done by Chinese to support the overpasses on Thika road. Piling is expensive and the few contractors available charge highly. Your Engineer will make a decision based on the soil bearing capacity . I don't have much data but it seems you'll go the raft way.
Injere
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 6:42:02 PM

Holycow- by pillars I mean columns not piles Mheshimiwa. I would guess piles are only appilcable to clay soils where you are starting with nothing but clay on your foundation. Thanks for this ....
GGK
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 19, 2011 7:10:41 PM

The panacea to your issue is to follow your engineer's advice. Looks you'll have to invest heavily on your black cotton plot. If it were possible it would be better if there was a floor down there... whats the point of excavating and then filling it up. But then you'll have to contend with flooding.

For me I would go the pillar way with suspended structure,,,.. but don't give up
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,