wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

Amazing Nairobi Transport
mich
#1 Posted : Saturday, August 22, 2009 12:59:00 PM

Its amazing how the city Engineers propose to manage transport in Nairobi. Magari za Thika road zote to drop passengers at Kariokor. It seems that the Engineers have not learnt any lessons from Muthurwa expirience.

I might be wrong but am tempted to believe something is very wrong. look at this Scenario. A bus from Kayole with 50 plus pessenger is stopped at Muthurwa such that 50 plus people will have to find other means to CBD while a lone driver in a salon car is allowed to the CBD. to me this does not add up and its what the City engineer is planning to replicate for Thika Road.

Hosea 4:6
My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge.
murenj
#2 Posted : Saturday, August 22, 2009 1:57:00 PM

RAILWAYS is already full as it is. I foresee a jammed round about near bomb blast as ma3's jostle to enter the terminus.

Muthonwa a Agikuyu
#3 Posted : Sunday, August 23, 2009 10:17:00 AM

I wish the government could construct a railway linking CBD-Westlands-Runda-Githurai-Ruiru-Juja-Thika......thika road would be left almost empty...

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
Kamaa
#4 Posted : Sunday, August 23, 2009 2:47:00 PM

@ mich the planners of this city surely misses the point... i wish they allowed psvs into cbd & personals into muthurwa,westlands & kariokor... atleast they can board psvs to tao...

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
mtaalam
#5 Posted : Sunday, August 23, 2009 4:33:00 PM

Ati planning? Madness!

ili iwe funzo...
Kamaa
#6 Posted : Sunday, August 23, 2009 6:02:00 PM

@ mtaalam and who's mad?

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Kamaa
#7 Posted : Sunday, August 23, 2009 6:06:00 PM

@ mtaalam and who's mad?

you've heard me..
#8 Posted : Sunday, August 23, 2009 7:10:00 PM

I still dont understand the whole concept. A terminus like Railways is already a mess,what will it become when the crazy Ngong Road matatus are added to the madness?

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
Kamaa
#9 Posted : Sunday, August 23, 2009 8:00:00 PM

It's a total lapse of governance... looks like it will always be a walking nation for an ordinary Kenyan..

you've heard me..
#10 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 4:34:00 AM

The arguments made by gvt just dont wash.if pple r forcd 2 pay more in fare or walk a big chunk of middl class guys wil just buy mo cars n thus double the problem the gvt was trying to alleviate!

Trust God and follow his commands for this is the whole duty of man- eccl 1213
murenj
#11 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 4:50:00 AM

I am glad that the public is now seeing through the body guard of lies meant to protect the interests of a few rich men,....fleet owners and personal vehicle owners.

Muthonwa a Agikuyu
jerry
#12 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 4:58:00 AM

Which is more reasonable: a private car in CBD or a PSV in CBD? I think the latter makes more sense.

Hotels will always serve the fruits/vegs of the season. In stocks,ur duty as a trader is to identify the HOTshare of the season.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
dsktop
#13 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 5:47:00 AM

Unfortunately we are going to see more chaos on our roads since the boda bodaz will swiftly fill the void and create kampala style madness or even worse lagos confusion.
I'm certain someone is expecting a ship load of motorbikes akeen to the safety belts that were received promptly after michuki rules were announced

its never good till its gone!!!!
mtaalam
#14 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 5:51:00 AM

Imagine all the PSVs coming through Waiyaki Way terminating at that small Westlands stop!
How is that not madness? That small area has very little room for expansion (the front of former pavement restaurant). Going through Westlands roundabout will simply be madness.

ili iwe funzo...
Djinn
#15 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 6:17:00 AM

I agree - they have things the wrong way around - it is mass tranport that should be allowed into the CBD - people can leave their personal cars even 5km outside the CBD. And they should include bicycling as part of the plan - perhaps get employers to encourage their staff to ride to work. I used to cycle and I know that a commute from several areas is actually about 5 to 10 times faster by bike and in some cases does not cause much sweat (Kileleshwa,Westlands,Parklands,Ngara,Nairobi West,South B,etc). In some cases it may require more effort and perhaps save you serious $$$ in fuel and gym fees. I recall cycling from past Kasarani to Ngong Road - a total of 18km daily for about 6 months. Commuting by mat would take abt 1.5 hours - by bike for that distance took 35-40 minutes. For areas like Westlands,Kileleshwa,etc - it should not really take more than 10 minutes. I think the Metro Ministry (and indeed the energy ministry and of course the health ministry) should have cycling as part of the GRAND plan for Nairobi - save fuel,cut back on laziness,become healthy,clean the air,etc,etc.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Djinn
#16 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 6:22:00 AM

to clarify my post below below - it was 18km daily - ONE way and 36km both ways....incidentally,it is MUCH safer to cycle on a road/highway that is clogged with traffic as the chances of getting fatally knocked by SPEEDING vehicles are much lower. It more risky cycling down 1km of fast moving traffic on Valley Road than 5km of Thika road after Utalii - just some pabulum for those that shudder at the thought of cycling in Nairobi.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Sasha
#17 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 6:36:00 AM

I second enigma on this! Someone just goes to bed,dreams up something with the semblance of a plan,and they want it implemented tomorrow! Absolute nonsense! When we call them city planners, we are surely taking the mickey!

Why cant these idiots dream of a bus park a la Dar es Salaam. Imagine having a huge bus park with routes throughout the city. This bus park should be complete with restaurants, shops etc! And it should not be in town! The buses should be timed e.g. at 7, 7.30, 8, 8.30 etc. And they should pay a levy to be allowed entry into the park! Just imagine how much money whoever will be managing the bus park would make in one day!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
extrablessed
#18 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 7:29:00 AM

Its total madness,I agree. My 2cents brains tell me that the best options would be as follows:

1. All building in Nairobi should have a requirement to provide parking for their staff and visitors. For those without parking space in-house should purchase parking slots from those with excess slots to meet this requirement. The number of parking spaces should be equivalent to floor space occupied by their buildings. This should free up the public parking spaces sorrounding those buildings.

2. Increase the parking fees for public parking spaces within the CBD to Ksh350 morning session and Ksh 350 afternoon session. This will discourage the full day timers and free up parking for on-off users. 700 x 25 = Ksh17,500 parking fees + Ksh10,000 fuel cost = Ksh 27,500/month. This is a tidy sum for most drivers and they would be better off using a cab or public transport.

3. Public transport vehicles below 50 sitter will not be allowed in CBD. Such vehicles dropping and picking passegers will not be allowed to stop in any bus-stop for more than 2-minutes. Thats enough time to drop and pick up passegers.

4. Open up low cost (ksh100max) high security high volume parking yards at strategic locations around the city:

Jogoo Road: Around Kaloleni/ city stadium
Thika Road: Around Pangani/ Ngara
From Westlands: University of Nairobi grounds (new source of income of UON)
Ngong Road: Railways and Uhuru park grounds
Mombasa Road: Nyayo stadium and sorrounding grounds currently being used by 2nd hand car dealers.

5. Build a metropoli railway that connects all this grounds to the CBD.

6. Accelerate construction of by-passes to free up Uhuru highway,Outering Road and Thika Road.

7. Implement the One-way streets methodology proposed by Minister Githae buy enforce use of traffic lights. Impose punitive fines for offenders.

YOUR THOUGHTS???

Life is worth living cos God planned it to be so.
Sasha
#19 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 7:54:00 AM

Good points extrablessed:

1. This is what used to be the norm in the 70's. Today buildings like Coop Hse, Annivesary Towers, Lonrho House and even Nyayo house have no parking slots at all! Unfortunately, unless these buildings can be demolished, this is not workable.

2. Money will not discourage parking. Nairobians have lots of money and whatever the cost, they will continue driving to town. Increasing cost, although may have a limited effect, is not the ultimate solution.

3. Agreed. And these PSV's should be monitored through out and driven professionally (he he). 2 minutes is on the lower side. This can be very well complemented by well manned bus stations e.g. Nyayo stadium for Msa Road users, Kariokor for Jogoo Road Users, Museum Hill for Waiyaki & Limuru Road users and Utalii/Pangani for Thika Road Users.

4. Low cost & high security? hmmm ....

5. he he

6. Agreed

7. Considering how Kenyans drive and are averse to following rules, this will just pile up the traffic even more!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
Blackberry
#20 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 8:29:00 AM

Kenya bus should come back. (but must take people across CBD I mean if Im comming from dandora to go to Kebera, it made sense to take a #32 ama kama going to embakasi /JKIA from Laini saba/southlands I panda a 34 or 33

this story of having pple ferried to sijui muthurua mwisho.. just makes matters worse as how do they cross to say westlands ama comunity?

The City planners should explore the Railway to link the Thika rd,westlands. and why cant the roads board or is it the ministry outlaw this matruck wrecking our road??? kwani railway ni ya kazi gani?

Opinion is free,truth is sacred.

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.