wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

French-Irish match debate
#1 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2009 5:04:00 PM

...it is clear as day and night that Henry handled the ball before he passed it on to Gallas who scored. Henry has admitted he di that. Who is to blame? Should the match be replayed?

...This match should be replayed. How does the team feel going to South Africa knowing that they cheated in a crucial match? What about the credibility of Thiery Henry?
#2 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2009 5:11:00 PM

...since Fifa set a precedent in 2005 when it ordered a replay between Bahrain and Kazkastan,it is only fair that the same is applied to this match...
Jaina
#3 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2009 5:14:00 PM

Thats the exact reason i hate this game. There is one man called the referee,if he didnt see it,it didnt happen.
eduu
#4 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2009 5:17:00 PM

Under FIFA statutes the French have done nothing wrong. The final decision of a game rests with the match referee. A player will commit a foul but until the ref blows u continue with play. Cheza na ref. Wait til Wayne Rooney dives in the world cup,tuone kama wata reply
flywhisk
#5 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2009 5:26:00 PM

For fairness' sake,I think Fifa should replay the game,even if it means at the same stadium ( Stade de France). The Football Association of Ireland have already submitted an appeal to FIFA demanding for the same.
Still,I think that the broader message to the footballing authorities could not be clearer; it is time to adopt technology for use in the game. By this I mean things such as video replays for selected incidents in the penalty area and goal line technology. It's such a shame that football remains stuck in a bygone era when sports such as rugby,athletics and tennis have moved on.
Incidentally,the popularity of these three sports is increasing worldwide,putting paid to FIFA's argument that use of such technology would result in a much less appealing game.
And let people stop blaming Thierry Henry for what he did....the stakes for that game were so high that anyone of us would have done the same thing
Jaina
#6 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2009 5:52:00 PM

Waswahili hawakusema Maji yakimwagika,mkunywaji awekewe ingine!. Hapana!.

Let the irish know that it just was not meant to be their day. Mpaka sasa they are questioning why they were not seeded,......whatever seeding means!
Kulchaz
#7 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2009 6:18:00 PM

Henry was quite out of place by celebrating that goal the way he did while knowing quite well what he did!
Kulchaz
#8 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2009 6:23:00 PM

Henry was quite out of place by celebrating that goal the way he did!
Carexport
#9 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2009 6:54:00 PM

..we all know that TH is an honest player in all his career but last night wasthe total opposite.I agree with that there should be a replay...c'mon for the sake of Fairplay

Maandazi
Marty
#10 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2009 5:36:00 AM

We have witnessed so many cases of unfair play with some of them deciding the winners of matches. I remember Kanu scoring a goal against Leicester in the FA cup semis after his team was given the ball after their player's injury. In such a case,it was expected of him to return the ball to the opposing team coz a Leicester player had the ball when the Arsenal player was injured.....Arsenal requested for a replay and the same was granted......... For the France Ireland case,it is easier if France request for a replay and not the other war round.......coz the error was one of ommission by the Ref. but trust France not to. Time for video ref.

..one is only poor if they choose to be
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
#11 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2009 6:29:00 AM

...for the sake of their name,the French should request for a replay!!! Otherwise from now henceforth their players will have it very rough and in the world cup they will not be that welcome...
#12 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2009 7:03:00 AM

Platini the cheat will never allow a replay for his French losers!

Djinn
#13 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2009 7:11:00 AM

why did the offside by Nigeria (against Kenya),not elicit this much furore? Shouldn't that match be replayed as well?

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
flywhisk
#14 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2009 7:25:00 AM

@ Djinn,I missed that offside since there was a power outage where I was wathcing from. Did it result in a Nigeria goal?All I can say is that offsides are a something of ' lesser evil' as compared to blatant cheating such as handballs and diving. They say in cases of contentious offside decisions,the benefit of doubt should go to the attacking player. At least most people are happy with that provision..
Lakini two deliberate handballs! Anyone would be hard pressed to defend that
#15 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2009 7:37:00 AM

Marty...the replayed match was between Arsenal and Shefield United...bt i have to agree with Djinn on this one,Nigeria scored two offside goals against Kenya shouldn't that match be replayed as well? Remember Maradona's 'hand of God' the match was never replayed...
Football is football there will always be controversy,but if we replayed every game that had a questionable decision in it would ruin football and most leagues would take about more than one year to be completed due to games being replayed over and over. Deal with it. That game had a referee...
life is too short to blend in
#16 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2009 7:40:00 AM

@Djinn:

...where I come from those cows just about to die as a result lack of grass are refered to as isoma. Now,you do not give so much attention to masoma. You tend to concentrate more on cows that are likely to survive... Kenya was already dead...who cares..
adept
#17 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2009 7:40:00 AM

As usual and once again,we blindly fall into partisan emotion fanned by Reuters,CNN and other Anglo-American stooge channels. Think through this logically and ask yourself the following questions:

1. Is qualification to the World Cup determined by one match? Each team in Europe for example must have played at least 10 matches in total. It is the sum total of the matches that determines qualification. These matches got France and Ireland to this last match.

2. So related to question 1 is: How many of the 10 matches that each team played had a handball that the ref did not see,a genuine penalty that was not awarded,a free kick outside the box not awarded,a potentially dangerous corner that was not awarded etc etc? Technically,any such match had an impact on who played in the playoff.

Heck,maybe even Ireland would not even be the team playing France if the ref caught everything that happened in their matches. Will they appeal for the sake of the teams that did not make it?

3. Extrapolate this rationale now beyond Europe to the rest of the world and even Kenya might have a case as someone here has mentioned. Maybe we need to watch the footage of the Mozambique-Tunisia match in detail to see whether Mozambique deserved to win,then we appeal one or two decisions in our own match,combine the two and we might actually qualify for the World Cup!

The ref didn't see it. Too bad. Those are the rules today. This unholy Amero-Anglo-Irish alliance wailing all over the place should cut the crap and shelf the hypocrisy.

In fact,I am willing to bet that at least one of the goals scored by England and/or Ireland through the campaign was offside. And I am sure they requested for a replay in keeping with their 'honorable' tradition right?

A replay will set a bad precedent and if applied fairly and retroactively lead to a bottomless pit of replays. Else,if only applied to this one match,a replay would be unfair in the grand scheme of things. And FIFA knows it though they seem to be bowing to media pressure.

What Henry did was wrong but what I see is a lot of hypocrisy.
flywhisk
#18 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2009 7:47:00 AM

@ Magigi,ati Kenya is masoma...lol! poor Harambee stars,everyone seems to have given up on them. We should just accept that Kenya is just no good at football,we have already excelled in 7s rugby,ladies voleyball and athletics.
@ adept,look at the bigger picture. How many contentious decisions do you hear about in rugby,athletics or tennis? Our point is simply this,to minimise such errors in the future,let FIFA adopt video technolgy and the playing field will be level for everyone
Djinn
#19 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2009 7:52:00 AM

@flywhisk - I also was in an area with a blackout and listened on radio - it DID result in a goal which,IMHO was the game changer....we had those guys sweating - actually I think by the second half they were shitting bricks!

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#20 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2009 8:09:00 AM

'Football isn't tennis. Technology works in that sport because play has already stopped when players use the high-tech Hawkeye system to challenge linesmen's calls.
But in football,play often continues after shirt-pulling,dives,handballs and other fouls that could,in theory,be spotted on video when missed by referees. That actions flow one after another,end to end,is part of football's magic.

Stop-start,stop-start shouts from referees of 'Hang on a second,let's pause and take a few seconds to look at that on television' would be a disaster. Might as well toss in commercial breaks while we're at it,too.'

life is too short to blend in