Copa America: Messi is failing again
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 9:03:33 AM

To be considered a really great footballer you have to nearly single handedly lead your national team to continental or world cup glory. Messi is once again failing in this edition of Copa America with 2 draws in as many games. Will he ever lead Argentina to continental or world cup glory? The countdown continues.

http://www.supersport.co...ina_booed_off_after_draw
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 9:12:35 AM

I said it before and I am saying it again, I wanna see this boy succeeding without the likes of Xavi, Iniesta around him, the way Maradona and Pele during their time, then I will shut up and applaud as the best I ever watched!!!!
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 9:28:22 AM

Not forgetting our own generation's Zidane. He did it in 1998 and nearly did it again in 2006 before the ill advised headbutt on Matterazi.
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 11:13:42 AM

Maradona and Pele were both surronded by fantastic players in their respective national teams, same thing can be said about Zidane in France and Real Madrid. I can't blame Messi for not performing well while featuring for Argentina, he's the only creative they have at the moment.... Maradona only scored 34 goals in 91 appearances for Argentina yet he's considered one of the greatest footballers, Messi has scored 17 form 58 appearances....i believe there's more to come from him at only 24 yrs Old. His performances for the national team have not been convincing but then again neither has Ronaldo's for Portugal and Rooney for England.
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 12:04:14 PM

Maradona and Pele were both surronded by fantastic players in their respective national teams, same thing can be said about Zidane in France and Real Madrid. I can't blame Messi for not performing well while featuring for Argentina, he's the only creative they have at the moment.... Maradona only scored 34 goals in 91 appearances for Argentina yet he's considered one of the greatest footballers, Messi has scored 17 form 58 appearances....i believe there's more to come from him at only 24 yrs Old. His performances for the national team have not been convincing but then again neither has Ronaldo's for Portugal and Rooney for England.

But look what Maradona did with his club as opposed to the national team.
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 12:10:20 PM

Elder wrote:

But look what Maradona did with his club as opposed to the national team.

How crucial were 34 goals Maradon scored for Argentina, don't try to compare Maradona's service to Argentina with Messi, at least not yet, maybe he will do some wonders in the days to come.....and did you just say that Messi is the only creative player in Argentina currently....my goodness!!!!
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 1:08:24 PM

@ McReggae.....Di Maria, Sergio Aguero,Mascherano, Milito, Tevez, Higuain, Gago & Cambiasso who amongst these players can claim to be anywhere near Messi or even give him the kind of support he gets at Barca. Come to think of it most of them are either strikers or defensive midfielders. Di Maria hajui kitu kama crossing the ball, when he gets it he goes straight for the goal.
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 1:27:55 PM

@ McReggae.....Di Maria, Sergio Aguero,Mascherano, Milito, Tevez, Higuain, Gago & Cambiasso who amongst these players can claim to be anywhere near Messi or even give him the kind of support he gets at Barca. Come to think of it most of them are either strikers or defensive midfielders. Di Maria hajui kitu kama crossing the ball, when he gets it he goes straight for the goal.

.......nobody said they are equal to Messi but the fact remains they are very good players!!!!
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 4:28:28 PM

Hope @taz watched the game, messi was nowhere he couldnt control a single pass, couldnt either pass the ball, he was all crab, if i were the coach i would have substituted him since he was a liability against an effective colombia side. I just thot to myself that maybe he just landed in an airport just before the game. He cannot be a leader in that argentinian side. It just reminded me of real players who could change games for the better, Zidane, Thiery, Bergkamp, ronaldo(Retired), Ronalddinho(against england) and the list is endless. This boy is just hyped up coz the refs protects him in spain and europe, any tackle on him is a card but in copa america nothing like that is happening. He has to prove himself if they go to the next level
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 4:51:17 PM

aiiii @ freiks, ati Messi is hyped up and protected by refs in Spain...this is the same guy who makes a point of tearing English opposition SINGE-HANDEDLY whenever he gets a chance and i must say i've never seen or heard anyone suggest that he goes down too easily, infact in most cases he stays up even when tackled. Playing for Argentina might not be working for him but at the moment he's the best player in the World without a doubt. I always wonder why people always blame him when Argentina fail to perform. Some players like Miroslav Klose and Ronaldo (retired) used to play well when featuring for their National team lakini kwa club ni ABK.

#11 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 5:05:32 PM

@TAZ Ronaldo Luís Nazário de Lima(retired) was ABK when playing for his clubs? The one and only phenomenon? Or is this another Ronaldo?
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 5:18:19 PM

@Bkismat....i know they guy played at Inter, Barca, Milan and Real scored goals but for me i preferred his performances while playing for Brazil. Actually its the World cup which made him a major target for top teams.
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 6:12:31 PM

@Taz, Ronaldo was a phenomenon for both clubs and country. Atleast you've acknowledged he was ABK based on your PREFERENCE for his performance nationally. But he became known as El Phenomena... mainly because of his club performances.

For Messi, his quest to be the greatest is getting messed up. Like Pele said, he needs to show his domestic performance on a national scale. It's an excuse to say Argentina doesnt have good players. And he was told he needs to score 1238 goals to equal the legendary Brazilian. All the best Messi.
Kenyan Kop
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 7:14:15 PM

Messi will come good. Its just a matter of time.
#15 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 9:52:03 PM

Kenyan Kop wrote:
Messi will come good. Its just a matter of time.

I hope he does that, but just remember among all top stars its only messi who up to now has not been affected by a serious injury, i wonder if by bad luck he gets one how he will respond knowing that most guys reaaly dip after the injuries.....look at cesc last season
#16 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2011 8:33:11 AM

@ Jus Blazin, i don't think its fair to compare Messi to Pele because in most cases the Argentine plays as an attacking midfielder and not a striker....we somehow believe that he has to score to be considered a great player. If you expect him to score as many goals as Pele definitely that will never happen. Messi is the best player of our generation, he has a combination of several skills which no other footballer posseses at the moment and he has achieved so much with Barca. I still expect him to be either the winner or runners-up in this year's player of the year. At 24 he can only get better.
#17 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2011 9:43:48 AM

@ Jus Blazin, i don't think its fair to compare Messi to Pele because in most cases the Argentine plays as an attacking midfielder and not a striker....we somehow believe that he has to score to be considered a great player. If you expect him to score as many goals as Pele definitely that will never happen. Messi is the best player of our generation, he has a combination of several skills which no other footballer posseses at the moment and he has achieved so much with Barca. I still expect him to be either the winner or runners-up in this year's player of the year. At 24 he can only get better.

For me the best player of "our generation" so far remains MARADONA. However, the phrase "our generation" is relative. Maradona was one player who would literally carry an entire team on his shoulders.

Other than his supernormal performances for the national team, his performances for a nondescript club like Napoli speaks volumes about his prowess. I wonder how a player like Messi would have performed while playing for a club like Napoli. Judging from his performances for his national team, how Messi would fare while playing for a mediocre club is a no-brainer.
#18 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2011 10:46:23 AM

Our generation is different definitely, but in mine the best remains Zidane followed closely by Ronaldo the phenomenon!!!!
#19 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2011 11:38:22 AM

Wapi watu wa "messi generation"?
#20 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2011 11:42:39 AM

@ Mwenza....Wacha mambo ya what you used to hear, Maradona might have been a good player but unfortunately i can't lie to you that i used to watch him play in the 80's, hizo siku TV ilikuwa shida kupata...labda recorded clips. The 90's (especially at Napoli) was all about his stories with cocaine and other bad news. Messi has been at Barca since he was 16, i don't think i need to remind anyone of his achievements there...we can't possibly tell how he'll perform in another club because at the moment its very difficult to put a price tag on him.

The guy has only featured in 2 World Cups; in 2006 alikuwa bench but when brought in he scored a goal and also became the youngest Argentine player to ever represent the country in a WC. Actually if you look at his stats for the National team he's been mostly used as a sub. In 2007 Copa America he scored in almost all matches and helped Argentina reach the final...2008 he literally won the Olympics for them. In last year's WC he was Argentina's playmaker and was almost at the centre of all their goals. At the moment he's almost at Par with great Maradona but he still has so many years ahead of him.

@ Mc Reggae....Zidane is also up there with the greats.