wazua Sat, Dec 6, 2025

Of Mpesa and 5 sausages
Ric dees
#1 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 1:03:00 PM

Today has been quite a day i must say..i have been on holiday for the last couple of weeks and must say i have been having a blast until today..first in the morning i got an mpesa alert and 6.27 am saying i have received xxxxx amount. I was baffled wondering who could this be.the name dint ring a bell and i have never used an mpesa account to send or receive...being the model citizen i am i drove to town (F*** Nightmare) looked for parking..and went to a safaricom outlet ..joined the long queue for all but 25 min. Reached the customer service desk..explained my situation they retrieved the number and upon calling the person..oh my word..the lady had an ATT,insults galore..really could not understand..we were both stunned..then the lady told me i have done my part,if the owner is interested she will call customer service and it can be reversed(not sure if my input is required here).was told to give her till end of day..Now it's a tidy sum and it's 1hr to close of business..am struggling with my morals here...though i did what was required of me ..please advice..

Now in the afternoon went to Athi river,kitengela looking for plots and to see some i had seen..now the heat in this country is on another level,dust(bila words),went round round,was hungry,thirsty,untill i bumped into a former campus mate in one of the shops where i had stopped for a refreshment,she told me she lives in the hood and she recently gave birth and if i can see her toi,was elated as i juad i'll get food,why lie i was starving..Now being the gentlman i am i opted for an snack and since there was a pal of hers in the house,she told the mboch to cook 5 sausages 3 for me and 1 each for her and her pal.As i sipped the juice the sausages came and dug in,i ate mine slowly until i saw her pal take her second helping which was supposed to be mine..got confused wondering if i heard right..so i chilled and when my pal came from the kitchen she seems am not very hungry and ate the last one...can you believe that shit..dint believe my luck..i was salivating hungry,hot..excused myself and drove off..

In a nutshell that was my day today,,shocking but interesting as well ..have a good friday...would not mind meeting any stockskenya guys..we can do something can buy the first 2.cheers.

Success is not measured by what you accomplish,but by the opposition you have encountered and the courage with which you have maintained the struggle against the overwhelming odds'

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#2 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 1:13:00 PM

The title of your thread... Got me intrigued... You must be a writer

#3 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 1:13:00 PM

The title of your thread... Got me intrigued... You must be a writer

Ric dees
#4 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 1:32:00 PM

@Shak

Am no writer far from it, just sharing what i thought was an intriguing day...

Success is not measured by what you accomplish,but by the opposition you have encountered and the courage with which you have maintained the struggle against the overwhelming odds'

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
brav
#5 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 1:37:00 PM

hahahahaha Ric dees sijui i sympathise for you,or laugh with/at you. but you really made my evening after a day spent crunching at codes and more codes .... yeah and sneeks of stockskenya.

Usichoke kutafuta salary
adept
#6 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 1:47:00 PM

Bwana @Ric dees - You have been one lost SKenyan.

Moral of the story:

1. Never ever attempt to return cash you have received via MPESA from an unknown person. Enjoy it to the max and assume nothing ever happened.

2. Whenever you are served with more than 1 sausage,eat the entire set at one go. That way,you avoid tempting any other person on the same table from 'volunteering'.
#7 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 2:25:00 PM

@Ric dees

hahahahahahahahahaha! I swear my ribs are hurting!! i have laughed so hard my colleague want to see what i am reading!!! That was so funny! especially the sausage part! Oh,my! cant stop laughing!

But i tend to disagree with @Adept. There is a pal of mine who sent 10k to the wrong number and she was sending the money to her mom to pay for hospital deposit. Luckily,the person on the other end was a very kind old man and he returned the whole amount. My friend sent him 2k as gratitude the next month!

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
#8 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 2:45:00 PM

@ ric dees,

on mpesa i would have whacked you with a nyahunyo for not taking the money and calling later...

on sausages,it i LMAO...but don't you know the first rule of the boys...if you are given ugali with sukumawiki and nyama,eat nyama first..the rest you can take as long as you want after all the most delicious part is already gone...this extends to the adults...

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
Mr.Tea
#9 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 3:00:00 PM

@Ric Dees,
What a day that was....But I must say your skillful story-telling capabilities is like a cool breath of fresh air. As for the cash,obey your conscience man.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
#10 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2009 4:11:00 PM

@rd,do I give u my mobile no? Im ready to share the guilt! Mwezi iko kona mbaya I say....

Can silence be misquoted?
akowally
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2009 7:53:00 AM

... I saw this post and bookmarked it for later reading and it hasn't disappointed. One of the funniest,I think I should be bookmarking interesting posts for the down days. Anyway,it was good of you to try contact the owner of the cash,that is always the best thing to do. On the sausages,enyewe like most men are telling you,up the tempo ... ha ha ha

If you want anything to work,work it
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#12 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2009 9:02:00 AM

I must admit that this is a good read.... hehehehehe.. should be recommended to @mtalaam.... might help reduce his anger today... kinda...

@Ric dees

what happened to the money? did the owners decide to contact you again?

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

CLK
#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2009 1:05:00 PM

Now i know why my 2yr-old daughter bites all her 3 sausages,marking her territory!!

@RicDees,maybe u shud emulate her,she bites each and then never finishes them.

As for M-Pesa,its good you did your part,atleast kuna wakenya(assuming u are one) wazuri

The real measure of your wealth is how much you'd be worth if you lost all your money. ~Author Unknown
brav
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 29, 2009 1:49:00 PM

Hmmm oh yeah that unwritten rule of eating nyama first then the rest later,in high school meat never used to get to the table,'ukiwekewa eat hau hau otherwise hutamek'. heheh nice read BTW hoping you @ricdees be at the hutch on 3rd october hehehe

Usichoke kutafuta salary
akowally
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 12:40:00 PM

I had to dig this up to have some good laughs on a boring afternoon

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
Peppy
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 12:47:00 PM

@ Akowalli,

Nothing beats Okonkwo and the Nokla.....I still burst out like a muguruki (mad one).
I can do everything through Christ who strengthens me: Phil 4: 13
akowally
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 12:48:00 PM

........truly a classic... sets me laughing every time

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.