wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

MERCEDES BENZ with old registration plates
murenj
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 10:21:17 AM

there is this new trend catching on. The number or mercedes benz vehicles bearing old registration numbers is on the rise. The owners are usually middle class. Am I missing something? What is a foot?
Barrywhite
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 11:27:58 AM

Peer pressure may be? The urge and nurge to belong. to be seen to be making it?
The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
accelriskconsult
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 11:44:33 AM

murenj wrote:
there is this new trend catching on. The number or mercedes benz vehicles bearing old registration numbers is on the rise. The owners are usually middle class. Am I missing something? What is a foot?

After talking to a few owners of the Benz (1.8 & 2 litre), I have established that the claim that they are expensive cars to maintain is unfounded.

These cars are serviced after 20k or so kilometres and are rarely involved in accidents as matatus avoid them (safer and less trips to panel beaters). The 1.8 l category is economical in terms of fuel consumption. I see no reason that a middle income earner who wants to own one should not.
milken
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 12:16:22 PM

accelriskconsult wrote:

After talking to a few owners of the Benz (1.8 & 2 litre), I have established that the claim that they are expensive cars to maintain is unfounded.

These cars are serviced after 20k or so kilometres and are rarely involved in accidents as matatus avoid them (safer and less trips to panel beaters). The 1.8 l category is economical in terms of fuel consumption. I see no reason that a middle income earner who wants to own one should not.

I saw a similar claim by the guy comparing VW with a Toyota and I beg to differ.

Servicing will include change of oil, filters, air cleaner and spark plugs.
Which oil (currently available in Kenyan market) can do 20K KMs?
Considering the dust conditions in Kenya, can an air cleaner rated 15K Kms in Europe yield the same mileage locally?
Itari muting'oe ihuragwo ngi ni Ngai
accelriskconsult
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 12:36:50 PM

milken wrote:
accelriskconsult wrote:

I saw a similar claim by the guy comparing VW with a Toyota and I beg to differ.

Considering the dust conditions in Kenya, can an air cleaner rated 15K Kms in Europe yield the same mileage locally?

Milken what is the cost of an air cleaner? The only real cost there is the cost of spark plugs and good ones are doing 20 -25k km.

FYI I have talked to 2 people who each own and drive a forester (ya kwenda ushago) and a 1.8 l Benz (for teh jammed roads of Nairobi) and they assure me that the Benz is much cheaper to maintain. I have also talked to someone who owned a legacy but upgraded to the E240 and he says that the difference in fuel consumption is just slightly higher but other costs are not that much. How much does a pair of springs cost the owner of an NZE? Those myths about the cost of lights etc. 6 months ago I lease a Carina and a day later the side mirror+its hub got stolen. I went to Toyota Kenya and was shocked to learn that a genuine replacement would cost me 36k (just one side mirror+hub). Such parts get stolen every other day. The points that are making are simple;

1. Fuel wise, these cars consume the same as any other 1.8l or 2.0 l car (For these categories the cost of fuel is an issue to the owners)
2. Your ancillary parts will not get stolen every now and then so you wont have to replace them
3. The mtaa matatu driver will try as much as possible not to dent your car even when you are on the wrong hence you dont spent a lot of money repairing dents or hiring other cars to replace yours when its in the garage
4. Such cars are not popular with thiefs
5. Except the air and oil filter, you can comfortably drive your car for 20k km before worrying about major service
6. How many times will the police stop a speeding Benz vis a vis a Subaru/Toyota?

One of the paradoxes of life is that the have nots pay more for anything than the haves and it is the same with these cars.

Milken; I have done my research, please do the same and then we can compare notes

I rest my case and please note that I am not talking about the fuel guzzlers in the 3.0 l category
Insurgent
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 12:43:25 PM

murenj wrote:
An 89% of those doing so are from one tribe. Your guess is as good as mine, maasai.

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

#7 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 12:32:46 AM

murenj wrote:

the 123..124 200's 280's 300 and also SEL's series is gaining popularity because you can easily remove the old guzzler engine for a more efficient D4D TOYOTA diesel or the QD nissan engine plus their manual gearboxes respectively.a friend has a 124 E 300 with a toyota hilux engine and gearbox.add 18" rims Drool Drool Drool Drool
eddyz
#8 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 11:18:05 AM

@accelriskconsult

as milken asked,i would also like to know which oil will need to replaced after 20,000 Kms especially after taking into account our local conditions.
#9 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 2:21:51 PM

accelriskconsult wrote:
milken wrote:
accelriskconsult wrote:

Milken what is the cost of an air cleaner? The only real cost there is the cost of spark plugs and good ones are doing 20 -25k km.

FYI I have talked to 2 people who each own and drive a forester (ya kwenda ushago) and a 1.8 l Benz (for teh jammed roads of Nairobi) and they assure me that the Benz is much cheaper to maintain. I have also talked to someone who owned a legacy but upgraded to the E240 and he says that the difference in fuel consumption is just slightly higher but other costs are not that much. How much does a pair of springs cost the owner of an NZE? Those myths about the cost of lights etc. 6 months ago I lease a Carina and a day later the side mirror+its hub got stolen. I went to Toyota Kenya and was shocked to learn that a genuine replacement would cost me 36k (just one side mirror+hub). Such parts get stolen every other day. The points that are making are simple;

1. Fuel wise, these cars consume the same as any other 1.8l or 2.0 l car (For these categories the cost of fuel is an issue to the owners)
2. Your ancillary parts will not get stolen every now and then so you wont have to replace them
3. The mtaa matatu driver will try as much as possible not to dent your car even when you are on the wrong hence you dont spent a lot of money repairing dents or hiring other cars to replace yours when its in the garage
4. Such cars are not popular with thiefs
5. Except the air and oil filter, you can comfortably drive your car for 20k km before worrying about major service
6. How many times will the police stop a speeding Benz vis a vis a Subaru/Toyota?

One of the paradoxes of life is that the have nots pay more for anything than the haves and it is the same with these cars.

Milken; I have done my research, please do the same and then we can compare notes

I rest my case and please note that I am not talking about the fuel guzzlers in the 3.0 l category

So very True

I did some research before getting a car and my conclusion was that Toyotas are acutally overhyped...
REASONS: they use less fuel and spare parts are in plenty

however 1. Those toyotas imported are never ment for the Kenyan roads or conditions.. proof is comparing a Toyota Kenya gari and an import..a KAJ to a KBJ
2. Those 'available' spare parts are actually 'what goes around comes around' stolen property.. i hear the 'Wish' side mirrors are now a hot favourite.
3. due to belief in cheap spare parts, this cars are manhandled to say the least.. if a Mitsubishi and a Toyota same year and mileage were paraded.. the difference is eons due to use and misuse.. but the Toyota would still fetch good resale value..doooh!!!
The same belief on spare parts and fuel consumption often see the owners frequenting garages to repair this or that.. kidogo kidogo hujaza kibaba.. haba na haba.. the costs are almost close to maintaining a German Car..

Lets not talk of the security threat!!! Toyotas are in demand due to this perplexing paradigm
milken
#10 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 2:41:54 PM

accelriskconsult wrote:

My post was not on whether Toyota is cheaper than a Benz. What I want to do is to dispel the myth that you can a service after 20K Kms.
Itari muting'oe ihuragwo ngi ni Ngai
murenj
#11 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 3:26:38 PM

mmmmm! Now, what do you recomend? An opel or something?
tuvok
#12 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 3:33:35 PM

Toyota parts - if you purchases genuine parts, they are not too cheap. (depends on the car as well) But most guys like them coz there are cheap (read stolen, imitation) parts available. The guys who stick to originals will not need to replace them much. Lakini uchumi...

I have a friend who says that Toyota's are a rich mans car. He has one of those 124 Mercedes Benz.
#13 Posted : Monday, July 04, 2011 12:36:07 PM

@Murenj, There are very few things more lovabe than a well kept car on the roads. It stands out from the crowd. I bet that is why you noticed them. I prefer driving a six figure registration well kept car as compared to a KBP Toyota/Nissan.. especially if it is one of those cars you admired when young e.g Land Rover Series i,ii,iii. 109, LR RR Classic, Merc 123,124,SEL Stretch, Alfa Romeo, etc These cars have Character!!!
#14 Posted : Monday, July 04, 2011 12:46:05 PM

Form (KBP ---Z) is temporary,class (KDR 0--) is permanent.
GGK
#15 Posted : Monday, July 04, 2011 12:54:03 PM

This thread exposes our africanism. Maintenance is not a word you'll find in many African languages (if any). The japs are well aware of this and that's why they keep pushing cheap things to us while we spend billions in repairs (or is it maintenance).

Having said this......I'll stick to Probox for a while.
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2011 1:21:24 PM

GGK wrote:
This thread exposes our africanism. Maintenance is not a word you'll find in many African languages (if any). The japs are well aware of this and that's why they keep pushing cheap things to us while we spend billions in repairs (or is it maintenance).

Having said this......I'll stick to Probox for a while.

Which probox?
The white 4-wheel automobile or the the brown bottle?
smile smile

Kirika
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 06, 2011 12:11:50 PM

Take a look at JM Baraza's column nowadays, most of the complaints are from Toyota and Mitsubishi owners or generally Jap vehicles.

Again like i always say, the Japanese sell vehicles, Germans sell technology.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, July 06, 2011 1:07:30 PM

I learnt of a few marketing concepts and its fascinating how countries do their business

Production concept-firm focuses more on mass production (Chinese)
Product concept- firm concerned more about quality and compared to quantity above (German)
Selling concept- firms dont just believe guys will buy, it has to smack right in their face, pushed down their throat, then they will buy (Americans)
Marketing concept- looking at competitors and market, then decide what to do.. (Japanese)
#19 Posted : Friday, March 16, 2012 2:00:50 AM

milken wrote:
accelriskconsult wrote:

My post was not on whether Toyota is cheaper than a Benz. What I want to do is to dispel the myth that you can a service after 20K Kms.

service your car every 20k-kms @ your own peril. A Mercedes Benz owner should comfortably be able to service a car every 5k-kms. That car will run well and live long. After all, how much will the oil, and pollen filter cost?

seppuku
#20 Posted : Sunday, March 18, 2012 7:24:23 PM

Isn't there nobody on this forum who can speak thus: "Here's the thing guys. My Benz does blah! blah! blah!" It seems to me people will keep casting doubt on all those I-know-a-friend types of stories. We need to hear the truth from the horse's mouth.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.