wazua Tue, Dec 3, 2024

5 Pages123>»
Uganda Shilling - Death Wish
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 2:07:16 PM

Bure Kabisa!

I regret putting one red cent into Uganda when I did!

Th UGX has dropped from 1,600 to US$ to 2,800 today.

The crappiest piece of crap I have ever invested in [except Olympia]

Since 1 Jan 2011 the piece of crap has dropped from 2,275 to 2,800 [in 2 weeks from 2,400 to 2,800] and that is against a weakening US$. Against the AUS$ or Gold it gets even worse.

Of course, museveni has $750mn to buy fighter jets.

I am locked in but I wish I had exited when museveni rigged himself in.

Anybody else in deep shit like me?
[I could have bought more KK or US$ or Gold or just left the cash under my mattress & been up huge!]
SAC Cohen
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 2:21:28 PM

3000 on the cards BTW.
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 2:27:21 PM

SAC Cohen wrote:
3000 on the cards BTW.

Pity, coz I am going to write off a huge sum! I would go in at 3,000 but I am outta $$$ & like KK instead.
FUNKY
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 2:33:31 PM

http://www.businessdaily.../-/38quxhz/-/index.html

Something like this will only save the Ugandan shilling from further depreciating. Lets see how this move by IMF will hepl the Kenyan shilling.
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 3:00:31 PM

I think the best thing for you now is to hold, instead of loosing ur money, till the oil dollars start streaming in then you make ur kill.

I think apart from speculative attacks on the shilling The exploration and drilling companies are eating all the dollars in that country due to high salaries paid to the expatriates.

sample this.

Sunday Vision has learnt that 20 senior employees in Tullow Oil Uganda are paid in hard (foreign) currencies wired directly to their respective bank accounts.

Five managers — Andrew Oliver, Andy Demetriou, Henry De Jager, Hermanus Steyn and Mark Morley — are paid in dollars collectively close to $1,107,587 a year.

Christian Arndt, Cyril Guerin, Heiko Fuchs and Phillipe Bouzet earn their salaries in euros estimated at 409,000 Euros per annum.

The remaining 11 managers are paid in pound sterling and their total annual salaries are about £999,067. This list includes Glover, Mekie, Edward Flett, Feroze Shahid, James McGilvray, Kenneth Berry, Kevin Wilson, Kim Breakwell, Hughes, Roger Charles and Sajjad Gill.

I know that is small change but in a country that small I think the dollar is in high demand when you factor in other overheads that these companies pay in hard currencies given that most equipments have to be imported.

Tullow will commence a trial production next month Lets hope this will help the shilling.
kizee1
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 3:09:24 PM

SAC Cohen wrote:
3000 on the cards BTW.

MKENYA HUYU!
Cde Monomotapa
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 4:57:05 PM

BoU should come to CBK for further studies on how not to attempt stem speculators using forex reserves. smile Laughing out loudly
FUNKY
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 5:11:30 PM

This can't be a co incidence the the KES,Ugandan Shilling and Tanzanian Shilling have all weakened against the dollar. There must something that is leading to the weakening of our currency when other worldwide currencies are strengthening against the $$$
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 5:13:13 PM

Somebody help me. What is Ug's biggest/largets legal tender i.e. As Kenya is to 1000/=, Zimbabwe is to Z$10,000,000, uganda is to ------?

young
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 5:15:37 PM

50,000 UGX
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Cde Monomotapa
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 5:19:07 PM

Somebody help me. What is Ug's biggest/largets legal tender i.e. As Kenya is to 1000/=, Zimbabwe is to Z$10,000,000, uganda is to ------?

FYI:Zim abandoned the Zim Dollar in '09. The economy now runs on the USD and other majors. The ZSE is now the only African bourse listed in USD.
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 5:21:07 PM

50,000 shillings is the largest Ugandan currency note.
mzee mzima1
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 5:55:24 PM

where can i change dollars to uganda sh whats the best rate i can get
Cde Monomotapa
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 6:23:51 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

FYI:Zim abandoned the Zim Dollar in '09. The economy now runs on the USD and other majors. The ZSE is now the only African bourse listed in USD.

...and thus Zim's latest inflation for May is @ 2.7% but u'll never hear that side of the story. nkt! media.
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 6:29:19 PM

jguru wrote:

50,000 shillings is the largest Ugandan currency note.
Value dropping like a rock thrown from a cliff!

As someone said this piece of crap currency is heading to 3,000 vs US$

museveni is another mugabe & it is showing in the currency...
Cde Monomotapa
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 8:22:57 PM

Cde. R.G Mugabe. True revolutionary, Pan-african & may he be life President of Zimbabwe.
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 8:33:08 PM

FUNKY wrote:
This can't be a co incidence the the KES,Ugandan Shilling and Tanzanian Shilling have all weakened against the dollar. There must something that is leading to the weakening of our currency when other worldwide currencies are strengthening against the $$$

i have a strong feeling that it is the kenyaa shilling weakening against the USD and since the regional currencies are pegged to that they follow suit.

my two cents.
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 11:27:51 PM

Sober wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

i have a strong feeling that it is the kenyaa shilling weakening against the USD and since the regional currencies are pegged to that they follow suit.
my two cents.
This turd stinks worse than the KES. And it will not flush away. It floats to remind me of the stupid decision I made going into a country where the head pig's heroes are gaddafi & mugabe!
Cde Monomotapa
#19 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 3:16:17 AM

Historically, the Botswana Pula (BwP) experienced similar weakness during the exploration stages of its diamond resource. The reversal to strength of the currency after diamond sales commenced made smart fellows richer. Hence, same story, different cast. UG is no exception. It is more of a patience than a money game perse ~ Respect the game & the game will respect you.
Cde Monomotapa
#20 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 3:21:33 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Cde. R.G Mugabe. True revolutionary, Pan-african & may he be life President of Zimbabwe.

The machinations of the West on this country created a GREAT oppurtunity to accumilate distressed yet quality long-term assets. The race is not for the swift...