wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

SELLING PLOT - CON ARTISTS
mjuaji wa stocks
#1 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 4:57:51 PM

Hi guys!

One of my friends who had put up his plot for sale received this call;

My name is x and i have seen your plot for sale.

Is it yours? Reply - yes.

Now; am a recruit at kenya army lanet barracks nakuru and an athlete.

I have a sponsor in UK who wants to buy me a car but i need a plot instead and have requested them to buy me a plot instead of a car .... so that when i get money, i built my own home.

I want to transact this business today and so i request your bank account number so that i can tell them to wire the cash.

I have told them that i will send your number so that they can contact you.

Afew minutes a call comes in.

He was in a meeting and requested to be called later.

Never called back.

He had given his e- mail address and they wrote an e-mail requesting the same.

Is this true ama this guys are conmen??

Any one else experienced this?

What are the risks of giving out your account details to strangers?

God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

QW25071985
#2 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 5:39:50 PM

I would promptly give them my a/c details they wire me the funds and i turn the tables on them and disappear. Lol.

But definately that was an atempted con job .
Mainat
#3 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 6:19:58 PM

Be careful, once you give account details, your acc will be cleaner than your sunday school teacher
Sehemu ndio nyumba
mjuaji wa stocks
#4 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 7:18:47 PM

Mainat wrote:
Be careful, once you give account details, your acc will be cleaner than your sunday school teacher

how do they do this????
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

kflarge
#5 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 8:24:19 PM

Do u ever receive junk mails from guyz from west africa countries telling u about wiring funds to ur account? Try that sir n ur done.Experience is the best teacher.
mwekez@ji
#6 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 11:33:01 PM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
Mainat wrote:

how do they do this????

Giving your account details cannot enable them to withdraw money from your account. The account details that you should give to enable them deposit the money is your account name, account number, bank name, branch and the banks swift code.

However, you should never give your credit or debit card details to anybody because these can be used to conduct online transactions therefore draining your account.
montanna
#7 Posted : Saturday, June 25, 2011 12:25:17 PM

am property manager and someone called me from Dubai requesting to buy a house on sale at Umoja,we discussed and cause he was away such that we couldn't do the direct transactions i send him all my details including bank accnt,i was surprise to get a call from the bank that there is some transferring my money to another account they knw wanted my approval that am aware of that transaction.BE CAREFUL WHEN SUCH DETAILS.
Business is a game played for its fantastic stake and you are in competition with experts, if you want to win, you have to be a master of it.

:-LMD
Entrepreneur's Daily Dose
QW25071985
#8 Posted : Saturday, June 25, 2011 1:32:24 PM

montanna wrote:
am property manager and someone called me from Dubai requesting to buy a house on sale at Umoja,we discussed and cause he was away such that we couldn't do the direct transactions i send him all my details including bank accnt,i was surprise to get a call from the bank that there is some transferring my money to another account they knw wanted my approval that am aware of that transaction.BE CAREFUL WHEN SUCH DETAILS.

i dnt buy your story Sir.So if giving your account name, account number, bank name, branch and the banks swift code is what is needed to make international transfers then we shld be having very many people frauded !!!!!!!!!!!!
JkMwatha
#9 Posted : Saturday, June 25, 2011 3:27:44 PM

There are no guarantees that it is safe to give out your account no.
read this
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/7174760.stm

In other cases.. eg in Europe, it usually 'identity theft' ... google that to find out more.

But the 'fishy' part of your story is this person requiring account details before he/she has verified the plot is genuine, has seen it, has done a search, etc... Doesn't sound realistic.

All the same I know there have been many a conman with those "Armed Forces personnel" stories.

Inuendo
#10 Posted : Saturday, June 25, 2011 4:16:02 PM

@ mjuaji wa stocks,

I got the same call last year when selling a business i had. In my case just like you have pointed out the guy said he is an athlete with a sponsor in the UK and that he had always wanted to invest in the biz i had. He actually told me his brother who is in nairobi would come to view the biz shortly and after which the would ask the sponsor to call me directly from the UK to get my details. Also the "athlete" had said that he had told the sponsor that the biz was worth 300k and since i was selling my biz at 150k we would share the profit.

Now since there was nothing to loose at this point i agreed and said we would get to that when we finally transacted. After 3 or so hours i receive a call from the so called sponsor...Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly i couldn't contain myself i just burst out laughing hard!

1. The phone number appearing on my cell was a TZ number
2. He talked like he had closed his nose and thus breathing with his mouth to enhance his "British accent"

I was at that time in no mood for jokers but this one cracked me up to the core!!

The end game was this, he "the athlete" wanted me to pay him his cut from the deal before the transfer from the UK sponsor cleared so that he could sort out some urgent issues he had. Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

This is just one among the many cons that you will come across.

Note that i had advertised my biz on the papers that's how they got my number and started the con.
Common sense is the most evenly distributed quantity in the world. Everyone thinks he has enough.
Inuendo
#11 Posted : Saturday, June 25, 2011 4:39:41 PM

Another one with similar lines goes like this,

A friend of mind was doing catering for weddings and social functions so he used to give out his business cards indiscriminately.

So one time he got this call from a guy who tells him they have previously met at a social function and had a deal for him. The guy says he knows of a mzungu friend of his who plans on getting married this coming weekend but didn't have caterers for the job and so he thought this could be a good deal for my pal. He says the only thing he wants is a commission (10%
)for getting him the "client". My pal says no problem and they meet in tao, though he doesn't seem to remember the guy but biz ni biz. they agree to go to the mzungu guy with the wedding hapo steers ya jevanjee.

When they hook up, true there's a mzungu there waiting and he explains to my pal that he is getting hitched this coming weekend and that he badly needs the services of a caterer and since he doesn't have the time to sample other caterers he goes for my guy PAP! They do all the calculations and the cost (inclusive of the cut for the broker dude) is like 3ook. So the commsion for the broker is 30k. The mzungu says that they meet in the afte when he will have gone to the bank and get my pal a deposit of 150k.

Sasa hapa ndio maneno inakuwa elephant!

After they leave steers, the broker dude now tells my pal that he will not be available in the afte due to previous commitments.He tells my pal they go to the bank and he gives him his cut and that he will call him later in the day they celebrate. Na since the dude even has a vehicle hapo inje he looks "trustworthy"

Luckily my pal didnt have 30k on him so after much haggling the dude was even willing to take 5k and the rest later. My Pal now realised something was amiss. So he told him to wait he goes to the bank around the corner. My pal runs and runs and never looks back. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly We drunk two crates that night me and my pal kwasababu hio pesa tayari ilikuwa ishaenda!!!
Common sense is the most evenly distributed quantity in the world. Everyone thinks he has enough.
githundi
#12 Posted : Saturday, June 25, 2011 6:11:36 PM

QW25071985 wrote:
montanna wrote:

i dnt buy your story Sir.So if giving your account name, account number, bank name, branch and the banks swift code is what is needed to make international transfers then we shld be having very many people frauded !!!!!!!!!!!!

There is something called impersonation brother! And some fraudsters are very good at it.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
Chaka
#13 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 1:08:47 PM

Mainat wrote:

There are many instances where account numbers are unwillingly given out for e.g when filling income tax returns,filling IPO application forms,paying utility bills by cash transfer,forgetting transaction slips at the ATM
or even discarding the slips as they are...Can someone be defrauded through this route?
anasazi
#14 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 1:49:47 PM

Very informative. After reading that BBC article, I will be keeping my current account fairly clean. And keeping the details away from people!
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#15 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 2:03:36 PM

githundi wrote:
QW25071985 wrote:
montanna wrote:

There is something called impersonation brother! And some fraudsters are very good at it.

I don't buy that story either! Think about it; we are always issuing cheques and they have all our banking details and a specimen signature to boot! It would be very easy for a con-artist to have the cheque photocopied by some clerk at KPLC or the water co. etc. and use those details to clean you up.

I would very much want to know how a con can withdraw funds from my account without my signature.
#16 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 2:18:24 PM

JkMwatha wrote:
There are no guarantees that it is safe to give out your account no.
read this
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/7174760.stm

In other cases.. eg in Europe, it usually 'identity theft' ... google that to find out more.

But the 'fishy' part of your story is this person requiring account details before he/she has verified the plot is genuine, has seen it, has done a search, etc... Doesn't sound realistic.

All the same I know there have been many a conman with those "Armed Forces personnel" stories.

I suspect that the direct debit was done by an insider but the bank refused to release the details to avoid a PR backlash. Otherwise, that bank is not worth it's name...but we are talking about Barclays, aren't we?

Anyway: What do you do when you find an unauthorised withdrawal from your account? You contact the bank and ask them to prove that you signed it off. If they can't prove that, then they give you back the money + interest. It's that simple, isn't it?

Yes it is; I once got a 90k refund from SCBK for unauthorised use of my debit card. For that reason, I have no fear.

Many of these fellows who entice you with million dollar winnings and dormant accounts pull you on a long string and finally ask you to send a small amount (usually a few hundred dollars - which is peanuts compared to the expected windfall) to some numbered account. When you do that, they disappear into thin air....

Just like the stories being told here.